We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the lake thanks to Tony and Craig!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fourwinds Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Fourwinds Resort And Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holiday Rate
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time at the lake thanks to Tony and Craig!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had trouble with my boat today. I was putting my boat in the lake and encountered some issues. I purchased a battery, but when I got to the lake, the boat refused to start. Tony came right over and fixed the issue on the spot. We were able to enjoy the rest of the day on the water.

The service staff always greets you with a smile and makes you feel like family!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    57
    18
    12
    13
See reviews for
111
86
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Service Center for the marina. Tony Smith was very helpful today, I went in to discuss the pump that pumps my gray water out, it always gets clogged and smells and has to be cleaned out. Was tired of having too clean it out all the time. Tony suggested a simple fix of pouring a small amount of bleach down the sink and I will no longer have the problem! Thanks again Tony for the idea!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow. This renovation is amazing... The pool, the lake. I felt like I was out of the country!! Highly recommend this to anyone thinking of planning a get-a-way! Loved the amenities at the hotel and the rooms were very nice. The service was great and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Fourwinds over many years, but have not been back since the renovation. I was overwhelmed with the room, and what they have done with the whole resort. My two grandkids loved the indoor/outdoor pool. I really liked the way the pool was decorated and set up.

We were treated well by all the staff and particularly Joy from accounting who checked us in as the rest of the staff was quite busy at the time. She made sure that all was in order, and made us feel she was happy we were there! She took a few moments to let us know of all the amenities, and services available at the resort.

We ate 3 meals at the Windjammer, and all meals were prepared well. They brought out crayons and coloring books for the grandkids. This was really appreciated.

We are already talking about planning our next visit to the Fourwinds.

Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort. There has been so many improvements and more to come.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. It was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there last year and I am so glad to have spent the weekend there. I went with my parents and one other friend and it was a blast. The boat rentals were great, fast, and easy and we were out on the lake in no time. The pool was great and the deck area around it looked like it was just remodeled. We had a lake view and it was so pretty during the day. If I was back in the bloomington area, I would stay in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Lake View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just spent the weekend here and overall had a very good time, but there were some serious housekeeping issues. Our room was clean and beautifully renovated, but people were having to wait until after 7pm (check in time is 4pm) to get into their rooms because housekeeping was not done cleaning. It seemed once they cleaned, the room was very clean but it brings to question, if they don't have time to clean the rooms, how can they have time to clean the common areas? Our second day there, we didn't get clean towels until well after 5pm (we left a note saying not to clean our room, just leave fresh towels) and then we were shorted some so we had to go to the front desk, which originally we were told we would have to wait awhile, but luckily they found us some. I don't know where the manager/ owner was but it seemed like this place was ran by teenagers. After Saturday night, the public bathroom areas were disgusting. This should probably be one of the first places housekeeping checks Sunday mornings. Other than the fact that they need to hire more housekeepers, the pool is nice and warm and the restaurant was pretty good. Being near the marina is a plus too. In actuality, you spend more time outside the hotel room than inside, so housekeeping isn't a huge deal (unless you are trying to check in and it's after 4pm) but it is a concern. We are considering staying over Labor Day weekend and bringing some other people with us. I hope that if we do, they will have hired more housekeepers by then.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We do appreciate the kind words relating to everything but our housekeeping staff. I must apologize and report that we had serious housekeeping problems over the time you stayed. Part of our renovation included all new state of the art washers and dryers. This caused an issue with the staff training and we just had a lot of problems as a result of this. The General Manager was in the laundry trying to remedy the problems as well. The good news is this new equipment is the latest and greatest for getting all our bedding and linens really sanitary and clean.
We are very pleased you want to return and we do give you our promise that housekeeping will be in good order by your next stay.
Safe travels for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family wanted to go on a lake side vacation so we chose the Fourwinds because it came highly recommended. The lake was gorgeous and the tennis courts were top notch. My husband especially enjoyed catching fish. We went to the windjammer and the food was good. The service was a little slow but they were very busy. Overall it was an excellent family vacation and we will be back.

Room Tip: Lake side room with balcony is more $ but is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort.

We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.

Safe travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fourwinds Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Address: 9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#6 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Resort and Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Within a short drive to the Bloomington, business district and Indiana University, the Fourwinds Resort & Marina is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Resort and Marina will be your favorite "Destination Location". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Fairfax State Recreation Area, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, and much more await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fourwinds Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourwinds Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.