We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and view of Lake Monroe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fourwinds Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Fourwinds Resort And Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Staycation
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and view of Lake Monroe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went there on a Groupon offer and found a very nice hotel in the process. They have been and still are undergoing a huge renovation, but the completed areas are very nice. We enjoyed a drink, an appetizer and the view in the restaurant/bar. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
The only difficulty we had with Fourwinds was finding it. But once we were there it was worth the hunt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and positive feedback on the resort. We will try and earn your business each and every time you visit. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    64
    19
    13
    15
See reviews for
121
100
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved almost everything about the resort; the rooms were very well appointed and the view overlooking the lake was gorgeous. Wish the weather would have cooperated the weekend we were there so we could've enjoyed the outdoors. We were rather disappointed in the breakfast buffet for $9.95 per person. However, it was what we have grown to expect as part of the cost of most reasonably priced hotel chains. Nothing special for the cost. One other suggestion - watch what you put in the room refrigerator! It freezes everything! We had a coke explode in the middle of the night which about scared us to death! We mentioned it when we checked out and were a bit disappointed in the response from the front desk.....not even a "Thank you, we will check into that" or " sorry." All in all though, we would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We thank you very much for your review and positive feedback. It is reviews like yours that help us tremendously with any problems we have. Our breakfast and its location are new to the resort. We will look at ways to improve the value to our guests. The refrigerator setting in your room has been turned down and has alerted us to check all the refrigerators because they are all new and could be set wrong. Our apologies for the oversight, your review has saved someone else from an exploding can of pop.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A companion and I spent two nights at the Fourwinds right at the end of our visit to the USA.

The rate offered was very appealing as was the location (peaceful and quiet) after a fairly hectic road trip.

I agree with earlier correspondents that the ambience of the lake view rooms is excellent, especially at sunrise and sunset.

The bed was comfortable but the bedding appeared tired and was ill fitting. We felt that the bed had been made in a very slap dash manner for our second night.

The decor of the establishment seems very dated. Dark wood and colours; something right out of the 1970s. Parts looked like they needed a good paint; e..g. a seat near one of the entrances.

And, the early morning sunlight showed up the dust on much of the furniture in the lobby. I was tempted to write my name in the dust on a table in the lobby but thought that would be tacky!

The staff were helpful but not effusive. I asked if it would be possible to check my flight time but was told there was no computer available for guests and staff were not allowed to use the internet.

I was able to find the information on my SmartPhone that connected to the good quality wifi in the hotel.

It was an extremely quiet period when I stayed with what appeared to be few guests.

The rate was good and the stay was enjoyable but prospective guests should be prepared for very dark 1970s style decor and a rather tired look in the public areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. Our customers feed back is one of the most important ways to improve. Thank you for appreciating our location on the water. The views are spectacular. I am sorry you don't care for the dark woods. I must admit I am the one responsible for the choices made but they are all new, everything was stripped and redone.
During your stay our second restaurant was finishing up renovation and causing much dust, but this will end in two weeks. I really am sorry we couldn't keep the lobby completely clean from the construction dust. I will instruct our house keeping to keep a better eye on the dust. The rooms and bedding are all brand new also, I will be sure to get housekeeping to do a better job making up the beds.

All in all you enjoyed your stay and I can promise that should you return to our part of the world the items you mentioned that needed attention will be addressed. Except for the dark woods....sorry about that. Safe travels and we hope to see you again.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just spent an enjoyable short stay at Fourwinds Resort and Marina. Since my husband is partially disabled, and needs to use a walker to get around, we chose the handicapped, two room, king bed, lake view, deluxe suite so that he would have room to get around. It was a beautiful suite, with a large balcony with two tables and four chairs on it, that overlooked the lake and marina. I made sure to arise early in the morning to see the sunrise over the lake. Everything at Fourwinds exceeded our expectations, and a wonderful job was recently done in remodeling the resort. The decor is beautiful through out the resort, and our suite was well laid out. The only thing I found missing was a luggage rack to place our suitcase on. The bed & pillows gave us a great nights sleep, the couch and chairs were comfortable to sit on, and while we didn't need the full size kitchen appliances, they would we be great for a long term stay. The folks at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They couldn't have been nicer to us. We would certainly recommend Fourwinds to others.
Note* We've since received an email appologizing for the oversite of a luggage rack & told one will be put in every suite.

Room Tip: We would suggest a balcony room that over looks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for the kind words and great review. So glad the room worked out well. We have personal experience for our handicapped guests and really appreciate the fact that you made the observation that there was no luggage rack. As you know these have now been added to all suites that did not have one. We really appreciate this feedback. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a long weekend getaway at the Fourwinds using a Groupon deal. Totally enjoyed the weekend. The room was lovely (almost everything looked brand new), comfy bed, the food in the restaurant was great, the scenery was beautiful. Great view from our balcony. Close enough to Bloomington for a little shopping and lunch. We were there in April, so it was a little chilly, but I would definitely go back when the weather is warmer.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the lake. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
So glad you had a great stay. We really appreciate the kind words and great review. You will certainly be able to take advantage of the warm weather when it arrives. Our beach, rental boats, tennis, hiking trails, golf and so much more really compliment the property in the warm weather. Hope to see you soon, and again thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCordsville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Everyone in our party had a great time and were very complimentary about the resort and its staff. At dinner that night, the owner came over and was taking pictures of everyone in our group. Next day my car wouldn't start. I went to the front desk and before I knew it the owner was out again arrranging for a jump start. Resort is still undergoing renovations and I am looking forward to see how they advance.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out this review and giving us high marks. All of us at the FourWinds are committed to providing a great experience for our guests. I am so glad you had a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you next time. I promise you will have a great stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and a drink after buying our annual pass to park. An employee walked through the bar area and disappeared. She did reappear and said she was trying to find 'the girl'. The employee did peek in again, not say anything, and closed doors. We decided to leave. On the way out, we saw this employee in the hall way and she said nothing to us. The front desk person said to have a nice day, and I replied we would have if we could have gotten lunch and a drink. He said the girl was on her way to the area now. The only way he knew this was the employee we saw told him. MY problem...why didn't she tell us when she peeked in or saw us leaving?? We left feeling we were not worth her time or effort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I am so sorry your experience was terrible. We dropped the ball, we are a one off stand alone hotel...not a chain hotel.....it is a struggle at times especially through our renovation with staff and training. This is not an excuse just a reason. All customers deserve great service. We have now hired a very service oriented GM who's main goal is to give exemplary service. We hope you will give us another chance to earn your business,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fourwinds Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Address: 9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Resort and Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Within a short drive to the Bloomington, business district and Indiana University, the Fourwinds Resort & Marina is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Resort and Marina will be your favorite "Destination Location". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Fairfax State Recreation Area, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, and much more await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fourwinds Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourwinds Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.