We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Groupon Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fourwinds Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Fourwinds Resort And Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holiday Rate
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Groupon Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were in town visiting family for the holidays. We bought a Groupon for two days and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were. Beautifully decorated. The guys working check in were very cordial and the bar tender in the lounge did a great job as well. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Mr. Brutus,

Thanks so much for your reply. We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to your next visit. Watch for continual seasonal specials and don't forget to book your summer plans with us so that you can enjoy all that Lake Monroe and Fourwinds Resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    57
    18
    12
    13
See reviews for
111
85
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Being an Indiana University Alum, I have always tried to find ways to visit Bloomington more but the drive back to Indy after a sporting event isn't very much fun. I tried the Fourwinds this past fall and once again attended for the UNC vs IU BBall game this year. I have to say I will be staying with the folks at the Fourwinds Resort every time I come visit Bloomington from this point forward. I loved the rooms and was able to enjoy the Windjammer Bar as well. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: It is only a short drive back to campus but the surroundings and views are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Public Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
On behalf of myself, and our team, we thank you for your kind works and great review. We have undergone a major renovation and in the future we will still be adding more new and exciting things to the resort. We look forward to your return where I promise you will continue to great service and a wonderful experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Checked in to the hotel on Christmas Eve to spend the day with my famiy in Bloomington. My wife and I checked in and the staff was nice and helpful. Everytime we saw someone they were saying hello and asking how our stay was going. We booked a King with a balcony to look at the lake but they were nice enough to upgrade us in to a Suite. The room was huge and comfortable. Plenty of room for my wife and I. The view from the balcony was fantastic. My wife and I settled in, watching the sunset with a warm cup of coffee we made. A housekeeper was doing her daily room cleaning and she was cleaning a King room and we peeked in. We were telling our kids we could have the rest of the family for a visit because the size of the rooms. We went to the Windjammer for dinner and the food was tasty and the drinks were nice. We had breakfast Christmas morning and we got in early so we could get to our son's house for gifts. The hostess was there with a huge smile on her face greeting us with a Merry Christmas. They had a lot of food to eat, egg's, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, potatoes and pastries, but what we liked was the Belgium Waffles to eat light and get moving early along with their coffee. They had two kinds of Seattles Best with flavored creamers. We were scheduled to stay over Christmas Night but with the storm coming they allowed us to check out and were so nice not to charge us. This place is wonderful and will definitely be back in the spring and summer. It will definitley be something we will enjoy.

Room Tip: They have different room types for any size family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Chad,

Thank you for your comments. As always it's our pleasure to serve our valued guests. We're glad you chose the Fourwinds Resort during your holiday visit and we look forward to your return in the summer months. Look for mid-week specials starting in April and May. These are great dates to book your family holiday.

Lake Monroe is beautiful this time of year but make your holiday plans early for a springtime getaway to enjoy a day on the lake from one of our boat rentals or a day at the pool as we open the retractable roof to let the sun shine through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I recently stayed at the Fourwinds Resort & Marina and had a great time. Everyone on the staff was very helpful throughout the stay. I stayed in one of their lakeside rooms which has a great view of Lake Monroe from the chair on my private balcony. I am very excited about the renovations that are coming this winter and cannot wait to come back again very soon. This is going to be a great place to stay for years to come.

Room Tip: Get a Lake side room because it has a beautiful view of the lake from your private balcony and is we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
James,

Thanks so much for your review of our property. As always, it is our pleasure to create a relaxing environment for your stay. We hope our service exceeded your expectations and we look forward to your return.

Our seasonal specials are in full-swing so please make a note to take advantage of winter stays and early spring rates. As we are just a short drive from downtown Bloomington many of our guests are taking advantage of these special rates compared to the hotels located downtown. Come have a warming cocktail by the fire in Windjammer Restaurant or take a dip in our indoor heated pool while overlooking the shores of Lake Monroe. It's beautiful this time of year!

Thanks again James and we look forward to your next visit.

Michael Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were visiting from NW Indiana and heard great things from friends so we wanted to see it for ourselves.
We were not disappointed and instantly fell in love with the property.
The location, view of the lake, boat rental availability, and beach access were phenomenal.
you stayed in a suite, and loved it. The renovations done to the rooms were beautiful and made it look like a 5 star hotel.
Also, the cleanliness of the room was out of this world. You can tell the housekeepers are busy little bees.
If we ever venture down to southern Indiana again, we will not hesitate to book there again, and also refer it to anyone!
And I also had left my phone charger behind and they called to inform me. It's great to have a trustworthy company like that with honest employees!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our property. Having recently gone through a complete renovation of all guest rooms we strive on being the best through the quality of our rooms and our dedication to providing 5 star service at 4 star rates. Thank you again and we welcome your return.

Michael Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Four Winds for the third time over a weekend with family. The moment I walked in, the pleasant and friendly staff started my stay off right! I booked the deluxe suite and we took full advantage of the great amenities. Like always, our room was spotless, and fully supplied. Since there were a few of us staying in the suite, I had to ask for a few extra towels, dishes, and silverware. A quick call to the front desk solved that issue, and they promptly delivered everything to the room. The renovations just keep getting better and better, and management is still doing a top notch job. This is such a great place for a family getaway year round!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so happy that you returned and enjoyed another great stay. It is our goal to offer consistency each time you visit us. Likewise, we hope our unique features such as our location on the shores of beautiful Lake Monroe, our completely renovated rooms, the new deluxe suites(the largest in Bloomington), our amenities such as boat rentals, 2 full-service restaurants, private beach, marina promenade, and mini-golf will bring you and your family back season after season.

Thanks again for your stay and we look forward to your return.

Michael Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a place to go to experience true customer service, stayed here this last weekend and was greeted with a warm sincere smile the moment we walked in the door. Loved the brand new rooms and the newly renovated pool. The rooms were very spacious comparing to most hotel rooms with an incredible view of Lake Monroe. It was so nice to walk through the halls and be greeted by the hotel employees as most hotels do not even acknowledge you as a guest. We will definitely stay at Fourwinds in the future. Would love to return in the summer to enjoy their outdoor entertainment.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug T, Public Relations Manager at Fourwinds Resort And Marina, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
On behalf of myself, and our team, we thank you for your kind works and great review. We have undergone a major renovation and in the future we will still be adding more new and exciting things to the resort. We look forward to your return where I promise you will continue to great service and a wonderful experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fourwinds Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Resort And Marina

Address: 9301 Fairfax Road, Lake Monroe, Bloomington, IN 47401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fourwinds Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourwinds Resort and Marina, located on beautiful Lake Monroe, in the Fairfax State Recreation Area, Bloomington, Indana, offers a year-round, lakeside get-away, for families, business travelers, groups, and visitors to Southern Indiana. Within a short drive to the Bloomington, business district and Indiana University, the Fourwinds Resort & Marina is a wonderful alternative, to a more "traditional" hotel experience. Breathtaking lake views from most rooms, with walk-out patios and balconies, in a relaxed setting. The Fourwinds Resort and Marina will be your favorite "Destination Location". Boat Rentals, transient slips, Fairfax State Recreation Area, Corporate Meeting space, Wedding Venues, and much more await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fourwinds Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourwinds Resort And Marina Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel Bloomington
Fourwinds Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourwinds Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.