We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place in Bloomington!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farm Restaurant

Farm Restaurant
108 East Kirkwood, Bloomington, IN 47408
812-323-0002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Farm Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 300 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Torino
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A special place in Bloomington!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you want to try something really good in BTown, you have to make time for FARM. The food is simply delicious, great meat dishes and vegetables; the food is fresh and delicious. I have been there just once but it was worth the price (slightly above average for BTown). I am Italian and I love good food, therefore I really appreciated this cozy restaurant both for the originality and for the quality of the dishes. Good selections of drinks.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    72
    44
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toledo ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent--Fresh, Creative, Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visit Bloomington often and finally had the opportunity to try Farm. It was wonderful for breakfast and will try dinner next time! We ordered the cinnamon roll and were told it would be 20 mins because it was still in the oven. OH MY!! We could smell it cooking and it was wonderful--big enough to share with 4! Be sure to check out all the decor---so creative and we will be back!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great ambiance... food hit or miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Because this place is so totally cool looking inside, it sets expectations (in my mind, anyway) higher than they might otherwise be. The decor is really clever, off-beat and wonderful.
We were there during a busy period (I.U. residence move-in week) so maybe that explained some of the problems I had with the food. Don't know but several people had told us to try FARM.
Anyway, we went there for brunch. (Myself and three kids, including IU freshman). When we walked passed the trays of fresh from the oven cinnamon rolls I knew we had to try them.
Between us, we also had a variety of other brunch-y food. Eggs, etc. Well, nothing tasted all that great - and the biggest tragedy of all? The cinnamon rolls were not nearly as good as they looked or smelled. Sooooooo disappointing.
If you can't get the signature cinnamon rolls right... I dunno.
Too bad.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Doing Breakfast Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've visited once before - only for a takeout pecan roll on the weekend. That alone is worth the visit, folks.

We returned today for brunch. We were seated immediately (11am on a Saturday) and ordered a pecan roll to share before our main course. The roll is huge and at $4 a steal - enough for four adults to share if ordering another dish. Sticky, sweet, and tons of homemade carmel.

For brunch my wife had the Hoosier Breakfast - two eggs, bacon, roasted tomatoes, and french fries. The fries were kinda different. She opted for the chili garlic fries and those were indeed a hit. She'll be slaying vampires for at least another day. I ordered the Hoosier Benedict - homemade biscuits with sweet pepper sausage gravy topped with two poached eggs. The surprise was the side of roasted potatoes and peppers - so...much...flavor!!!

Everything here seems to be homemade and intentionally different and different in a good way. It's a refreshing alternative to the predictable (yet still very good) mom and pop restaurants that are dotted across the midwest. Farm must be on your to-do list when visiting or passing through Bloomington.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Freaking Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Amazing breakfasts! They have a fun bar down in the basement too, called the Root Cellar. The food is indescribably good, it really is. A bit on the higher side price wise, but very worth the splurge once a month or two.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.