We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little coffee shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar

Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar
322 E. Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, IN 47408
(812) 331-2770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cozy little coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The coffeeshop itself is really neat. It's in a basement and the decor is interesting and artsy. The drinks are pretty good - they have some unique combinations I wouldn't think of so I enjoy that, too. It's definitely more fun to visit Soma than it is to go to Starbucks, Panera, etc.

My only issue is clientele. I know Soma can't do anything about it, but the people who gravitate towards this place tend to be snooty intellectuals and they tend to get uppity and get in a huff when others "invade" their space. Plus the baristas can be pretty ambivalent towards the customers. Kind of the you-have-to-be-cool-and-anti-establishment-enough-to-drink-our-coffee vibe. Maybe it's my imagination, I don't know. In any case, I used to be a regular but these types of folks have chased me out so I don't go as much these days.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Funky basement coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The baristas are skilled, though can seem indifferent to your presence. The atmosphere is funky, cozy, a maybe a little grungy. Nice for low talking conversation with friends. Seems to be a fav among students for studying. So sshhhhh! Great outdoor patio when the weather allows it. If you're visiting, definitely stop in!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite coffee place in btown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Interestingly hipster, yet great coffee. While you may think this place looks like a dump or the clientele need to shower more often (or just apply deodorant), the coffee is good and the staff is friendly. Prices are good, plus you will always see something new when you go in there. Do yourself a favor and check out the bathroom. You will never see anything close to it anywhere else.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'm not a coffee person, but my friend who like coffee love this place too. I go because they make real fruit smoothies that are pretty fantastic, and it has a super unique, very hippe feel about the place. Mismatched chairs, a few random couches, a TV turned into a fish tank, and further, odd decor. Owned by the same person who owns/ runs Laughing Planet just upstairs: EXCELLENT burritos, with organic and local ingredients all times of the year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Even Chris Thile knows Soma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Quirky, but cool place. I highly recommend checking out the board next to the baristas that lists all the Craigslist missed connections that happen there. Great vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar also viewed

 

Been to Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soma Coffee House & Juice Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.