We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches and salads in town -- and great coffee to boot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stefano's Ice Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stefano's Ice Cafe
101 W Kirkwood #21, Bloomington, IN 47404
(812) 331-0575
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 270 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Jumpin' all over the world
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches and salads in town -- and great coffee to boot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

When I told a few people that I was visiting Bloomington 20 years after graduating, several said that I had to eat at Stefano's -- and specifically said to get one of their great sandwiches. It's downstairs at the Fountain Square Mall -- and is just a small counter to order breakfast, lunch and desserts. We had a panini sandwich and a mandarin salad and both were fantastic. We met Mr. Popalyar and Grandma Dolores, who made and served our food with genuine friendliness. And it was affordable. No wonder so many people recommended we try the place out -- and I am now recommending it to everyone too! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best place in Bloomington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Best food by a long shot and a healthier option. Great atmosphere and location. Brilliant service. Definitely worth the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

While we were at Fountain Square Mall visiting Santa, we were given a coupon for a cookie from Stefano's. It's so nice that they give back:)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Like visiting an old friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I used to come to Fountain Square Mall several times a week, two years straight. I would stop in at Stephanos about every other week for something, a drink, snack, lunch. The place i was taking classes moved, and it had been a couple years since the last time, but we stopped in for lunch. They put a hand-written sign out front, the same one they used years ago, with the text running out of room at the end, getting smaller and squishier, and the last letters being pushed to the next line. made me laugh. but the sandwiches are stil good, the sausage and gravy special is still great. Many of the times I was there I would be served by and hourly. this time, it was the wife of the owner serving us. What a wonderful lady. It is a quaint place. I often wonder how they stay in business, but they do. the place has two places to sit in the enclosed part of the restaurant and several, say 8-10 outside the restaurant. it is like you are out in a part of the mall rather than in the restaurant, but it still is in a basement corner so it is very pleasant. I highly recommend giving it a try.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF BAY AREA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“sweet as can be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

great place for a sweet tooth fix with some real innovation and classics as well

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefano's Ice Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stefano's Ice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stefano's Ice Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.