We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice except perhaps during bad winter weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 N. College Ave, Bloomington, IN 47404   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good choice except perhaps during bad winter weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This property is superbly located for exploring downtown Bloomington. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and competent. Rooms are well appointed. Received a good rate using the AAA discount and booking online. My king-sized bedroom was perhaps a little small, but it had a good desk with free internet and one chair and stool; no complaints for a solo traveler. In typical hotel fashion, you had to plod through the remote menu offerings to access cable channels.

On Saturdays in the summer, there is an excellent farmers' market behind the hotel. This market is an interesting place to catch a breakfast or lunch.

There were two annoying negatives.

The elevators were small and only two were available for not only guests, but also for service personnel. In the morning, when everybody was trying to check out, maids were filling the elevators with towel carts! I would hate to be in this hotel when only one elevator was working.

Also the parking situation is not ideal. There are perhaps ten 15-minute parking slots in front of the hotel. These are to be used to register and then unload (load upon leaving).

I had a lot of luggage for a business trip that I didn't want to leave in my car. Upon checking in, I found a vacant unloading slot and a luggage carrier was available to help me port my luggage to my room in one trip. No complaint.

Upon checking out around 10 a.m., no parking slots or luggage carriers were available. I instead made three trips to my car in the parking garage, which necessitated using the packed elevators repeatedly, often waiting for an empty one.

The parking garage is a public garage behind the hotel and is accessed through a small, open-air courtyard off the hotel's basement level. It's perhaps a three-minute walk with luggage from the hotel elevator to the parking garage elevator. Crossing the open-air courtyard may be unpleasant in inclement weather, especially during a snowstorm/blizzard. Parking was $5 through 6 p.m. the day of checkout with in/out privileges.

I would stay here again very willingly given the hotel's quality and excellent location despite the elevators and parking situation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for your detailed comments about your most recent stay with us and your desire to stay with us again. Just like you, we think downtown Bloomington has some great offerings and we are currently developing a more specific downtown map to provide our guest with better recommendations like the ones you gave in your review. I've talked through some of the points you brought up regarding the congestion in the elevator at checkout time and the walkway to the garage. We do keep the courtyard cleared when it does snow and thankfully the covered garage keeps the car free of snow, but perhaps there is a better way for us to handle this. Thanks again for the positive feedback and we'll work to make your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    105
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
94
54
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed 3 nights on business at the Garden Inn before moving down to the Marriott Courtyard for our 3 nights of leisure. Simply put, we would have been better off paying a little more to stay at the Hilton! The rooms were clean, well-equipped, and the "Revolution" adjustable king bed provided a great nights sleep! All staff we encountered were friendly, helpful, and efficient in meeting any request. Our room was a bit on the small side, but clean, comfortable and very well-maintained.

Parking in the garage directly behind (and connected to) the Hilton was a real value at $5/day.

We will definitely recommend the Hilton Garden Inn over the Courtyard Marriott to those looking for a pleasant and affordable stay in Bloomington.

Room Tip: Be sure to book your Garden Inn room at the Hilton website, rates were $40 LESS per night compared w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I've passed along your kind words to our team members! We strive to deliver on a providing a clean, comfortable room and attentive friendly service and I love it when we are able to deliver on this promise. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stay here when I am on business in town and I love it. Clean, spacious rooms with everything you need. Great staff and a cracking breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation! It sounds like you have stayed with us many times and that is the highest compliment you can give us and we truly value it. Please let me know the next time you are in town, I'd love to meet you and thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed there for 5 days while visiting family there. Staff is exceptional and very helpful. Room was very spacious, and clean. Location can't be beat if you want to be close to downtown activities and University. Nice coffee service down in the lobby. Breakfast buffet pretty average but good. Parking garage located right next door and was $5.00 per day. Parking card for garage didn't work half of the time had to constantly ring for assistance. Would of given a higher rating but elevators take a long time only 2 for a six story hotel so when everyone is checking out in the morning the wait is long. Water pressure was almost nonexistent. But overall very nice Hilton to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I was happy to hear your stay with us was both pleasant and enjoyable. This morning I passed along your comments to our housekeeping and front desk team members. They do a great job and strive to always deliver on great service and a clean room. Next time you stay with us, look for the fresh pastries we are adding to the breakfast buffet starting in July. Based on your comments about parking, I have also spoken with the garage manager today your pass not working consistantly and what would have caused this. It sounds like a glitch in the system. I appreciate you letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I just returned from an overnight stay in Bloomington, where I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn downtown. It was a PERFECT stay. I have stayed in many hotels across the country at this price point, and I have never had a better hotel experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, and were right there to provide the toiletries that I had forgotten from home. Everyone from the people at the front desk, to the people that cleaned the rooms, always had a smile on their face and said hello. The room itself was spacious and very clean. The location was absolutely perfect. An assortment of restaurants and shops are within steps of the hotel. I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Bloomington, and I will highly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write! Downtown Bloomington is so convenient and walkable and we love being a part of it. The next time you're in town please let us know, we would love to take care of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Bloomington,the staff was very friendly and the accommodations was awesome! If you are traveling to Bloomington and want to be in the heart of downtown, close to restaurants, shopping and the nightlife, you cannot beat this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Perfect! Thanks for the thumbs up. I'm glad your stay in Bloomington was a good one. Please let us know the next time you're in town. We'd love to take care of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Newer hotel with clean rooms and great service. Sports bar in hotel was great option. Very close to University and downtown restaurant options. What you expect from Hilton garden inn as business traveler. Will stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was great to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Bloomington is a great city and we look forward to you come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington

Address: 245 N. College Ave, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington is located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to a variety of boutiques and shops, and just a short drive to Lake Monroe, Brown County State Park, and Nashville Indiana - a historic artist colony. It is also perfect for parents visiting Indiana University. Guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed Internet Access, large work stations, marble bathrooms, and flat screen TVs. The property also features pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Hilton Bloomington
Bloomington Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.