We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my opinion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bloomington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 S Franklin Road, Bloomington, IN 47404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“my opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Overall a good report. Clean, friendly staff, average breakfast. TV needs work. Turn it on and all you see is pay-per-view menu, with porn front and center. One has to learn how to scroll through the offerings to get to TV. Special recognition to Patricia Stinson (food service) Linda Yenna, (front desk) and Rachael Bock (housekeeping) for their attention to us.

Green Features: Recycle good, but they should separate plastic from trash.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for you kind comments and your feedback regarding the TV channels. We will look at it and make any changes that are needed with our vendor. We were pleased to see how much you enjoyed the clean, comfortable accommodations as well as the service that you received. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    37
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
31
11
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Long weekend stay, very clean room. Refrigerator, microwave, sink, clean bathroom. Slight smoking odor in non smoking room was a bit of an inconvenience. Would stay here again. Breakfast was tasty and the hours were convenient. I enjoyed the fitness room and quick checkout was perfect.

Green Features: Didn't have recycling, but did have notations about towel re-use. I hung my towels, but I got clean ones anyway..
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and for sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others. We were very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the free hot breakfast in the morning, the comfortable clean accommodations as well as the friendly service that you received. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a great value hotel. The lobby was very clean, professional, and up-to-date. We got a room that had a jacuzzi in it, and this was a great decision. The jacuzzi was very large and relaxing. Bath room was clean and well maintained. TV was nice and the cable reception quality was perfect. Breakfast was very good. It had a typical range of breakfast food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your glowing recommendation of our Holiday Inn Express in Bloomington, we sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience there with others. We were very happy to see how much you enjoyed the Jacuzzi suite, the breakfast in the morning as well as the service that you received. We hope to see you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

As a parent of an IU Senior, I felt compelled to write this review in order to help out future parents. When we first visited Bloomington I was shocked at the rates that Bloomington hotels charge when there is anything going on, such as Parents' Weekend, Little 500 weekend, and graduation weekend - 2 to 3 times what they charge for a normal weekend. Many of them require a 2 or 3 night minimum, and they are full up to a year in advance.

We have stayed in several different hotels over the years while visiting our son, and this hotel has become our favorite for several reasons.

LOCATION - Although not on campus like some of the others, it's very easy to get to, and has ample parking. And there are occasions (Little 500 to be sure) when being on campus is not a benefit.

VALUE - Although expensive during certain times of the year, it still has proven to be cheaper than some of the other hotels. When we've been there at off times, it was very reasonable. Unlike some of the other hotels, we've only had to make non-refundable reservations once - for the upcoming graduation weekend. And although there's not a full sit down breakfast, the buffet they have is included, and is very good.

ROOMS - The rooms are very nice and big. Even with two queens and a sofa sleeper, there is plenty of space and we never feel crowded. I especially like that there is a refrigerator and small bar in the room. The housekeepers seem to do a pretty good job, but it could be better. I'm kind of a clean freak though, so I tend to be tough on that issue.

SERVICE - The staff are very kind and helpful. They have gone out of their way several times for us and that means a lot to me. When I've called, they're always extremely courteous and do whatever they can to help out. They've even called me to see if I need anything when I've had a late arrival.

Overall, I would say this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to our hotel as your child attended Indiana University- Congratulations to you and your family on the graduation!!! We were very pleased to see your comments, and to know that you have enjoyed the accommodations as well as the service that you have received over the last 4 years. We hope that should you travel to the area in the future, you will continue to stay with us.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama gulf coast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having stayed in many HI Express hotels over the years, I can say, with no reservations, that the Bloomington facility, conveniently located just off the Highway 37 ByPass, is one of the best of a chain that maintains pretty high standards. The staff is friendly and professional; the property is clean and well-maintained, inside and out; the rooms are spacious and well furnished; and the dining area is truly exceptional with its warm furnishings and high ceiling. Restaurants are within walking distance and downtown and the Indiana University campus us but an easy 5 to 10 minute drive. The breakfast is as good or better than any you'll find at an HI Express, on the occasions I was a guest, very decent light meals are served complimentary on week nights, including wine and beer. I was really stunned to see Stella Artois in the ice bucket !! Enjoy the great IH Express bedding !! Be sure to say hi to Linda, the night auditor.

Green Features: As in any hotel, if you want a good night's sleep more than anything else, ask for a room on the top floor and at the end of the hall away from the elevators. A little extra walk is good for all of us !!
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your glowing comments of our hotel after your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to see how much you enjoy the accommodations, the free breakfast and Manager's Reception, as well as the customer service that you received. We look forward to your next visit.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/ Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is one of the nicest and cleanest hotels that I have stayed in. I would recommend it to anybody. Some people have called me a "hotel snob" because I am picky about where I stay. This gets the "thumbs up" from me. They keep it so nice and clean that it feels like it is brand new. The breakfast is great and the coffee is good too! Top Notch hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we sincerely appreciate you sharing your recent experience at our hotel with others.
We look forward to being your hotel of choice in the area.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I usually stay at HIE and this one stands out. They have a nice managers mingle at night with free food and drinks. Plus they refunded me a night since I ended up leaving early even though I prepaid. This hotel is right by the highway and only 5 min drive from downtown Bloomington. Will stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we were pleased to see how much you enjoyed our hotel location, the accommodations as well as the complimentary Manager's Reception in the evenings. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomington

Address: 117 S Franklin Road, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#2 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bloomington.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just minutes from Indiana University and downtown Bloomington, Indiana. Travelers visiting the Bloomington Antique Mall, Convention Center, Lake Monroe, Brown County, Bloomington Sportsplex and Oliver Winery will all find the Holiday Inn Express an ideal location. Nearby businesses include Cook Inc., Otis Elevator, Bloomington Hospital, MPRI and Crane Naval Warfare Center. The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 102 rooms, including 32 suites and an exclusive Priorirty Club floor. Each room is equipped with microwave & refrigerator,32 inch flat screen television, coffeemaker, spacious guest bathrooms with granite counter tops, 400 thread count sheets and pillow-top mattresses and much, much more! Featured amenities include Express Start hot breakfast, complimentary Light Dinner (Monday - Thursday), private business center, fitness center, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for corporate travelers, families and Hoosier fans visiting Indiana University. Everything you expect, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Holiday Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.