We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bear's Place
1316 E 3rd St, Bloomington, IN 47401-3778
812.339.3460
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 300 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
1 review
“:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Bears is great! I like coming here. The servers are nice. The new management is cool! The bathrooms are clean. I like the wood! The lighting is stellar. It smells inviting. I like the font they use on the menu. The bouncer is usually not a dick! I like how it is always not too crowded. This is a great place to come alone!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I love bears”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Bears is the best. They have the best specials! I love coming to bears when ever I can because the drink specials are so great and the service is terrific.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We went to bears place after an IU football game. Two adults, two kids (9,11). Had a great meal. Huge menu with great food choices- we had burgers, chicken wrap and ham and cheese sandwich. All excellent. Kids loved also. Wonderful micro brew beer choices with a very good variety. Good TVs to watch. Very clean and great service. Will definitely go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best finds in Bloomington!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I discovered Bears right around the time the new owners took over and they have made the place into one of the most underrated spots in Bloomington. The atmosphere is cozy and the staff and owners are always friendly. Tried the loaded nachos this time around and they were delicious! The burgers are tasty too. The back room is completely renovated and should be a great spot for football weekends this fall. And the best part of all...the signature drink, the Hairy Bear, is my favorite drink in all of Bloomington. Definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a fun place to eat and drink with friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Welcome to the new owners!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place was recently purchased by a young couple, who have partly renovated and cleaned up the interior -- although not everything has been replaced it does look better. The service was fine, and the food (burger, fries) was decent pub food. We took advantage of a Groupon coupon (good idea, to get us back) and I felt like I got good value for my money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear's Place also viewed

 
Bloomington, IN
 

Been to Bear's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.