We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing since renovations ...........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Uptown Cafe

Michael's Uptown Cafe
102 E Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, IN 47408-3332
812-339-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 300 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Eclectic, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Disappointing since renovations ...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Doubling the space is very nice - same atmosphere - but sound is very "live," creating a not-so-nice visiting atmosphere. Biggest disappointments? Giant hike in prices AND the Michael's home fries are GONE - replace by giant globs of greasy potatoes - YUK! I wonder if anyone cares......... I know some of us really do! Our server said I was the second person to complain that morning! Would complaining to the management make a difference? I'll try it. Very sad because this place used to be our very favorite go-to breakfast joint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    70
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I always order the creme brulee French toast and the potato omelet with an extra side of potatoes. There are probably lots of other good things on the menu too, but these things are so good that we can't bear to order anything else! For meals that come with a side of toast, try substituting a biscuit because the toast is, unfortunately, pretty tasteless. If coming for brunch, come early and be prepared to wait, especially if there's something going on in town. Saturday brunches are often less busy than Sunday ones.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Crab-Cakes you'll ever eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The menus selection is fabulous and tasty. The crab-cakes are the best you will find anywhere; whole pieces of crab meat, minimal binder, all nicely sauteed in butter. Atmosphere is welcoming and the service is outstanding. This is definitely a place to eat if in Bloomington.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in B-Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Bloomington is filled with fun and delicious restaurants (check out 4th street)! But, this one was my absolute favorite. The food is perfect every time, it has a nice cozy atmosphere, and the staff is great. The Lemon Pepper Chicken and Pot Roast are my husband and I's favorite. Anytime I go to Bloomington now, this is where I want to eat - or at Avers.... Ooooo that pizza is good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great graduation memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our group of fifteen enjoyed a fantastic meal properly served after this year's IU graduation. The special graduation menu was broad enough to appeal to everyone. Our expectations were surpassed given that it was the busy season for Bloomington. The wines, appetizers, mains, and desserts were fantastic. We were in the farthest back room which was a bit 'out of it', but a lot quieter than the main room and a plus for us for this kind of event. A surprising find, and would definately return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Uptown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Uptown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Uptown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.