We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great graduation memories!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Uptown Cafe

Michael's Uptown Cafe
102 E Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, IN 47408-3332
812-339-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 300 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Eclectic, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great graduation memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Our group of fifteen enjoyed a fantastic meal properly served after this year's IU graduation. The special graduation menu was broad enough to appeal to everyone. Our expectations were surpassed given that it was the busy season for Bloomington. The wines, appetizers, mains, and desserts were fantastic. We were in the farthest back room which was a bit 'out of it', but a lot quieter than the main room and a plus for us for this kind of event. A surprising find, and would definately return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    70
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Yummy Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were here on a Sunday, and we really enjoyed the brunch menu. The Potato Omelet is not to be missed, and you must try it with their high quality Swiss cheese. The pastries looked wonderful - we'll try those next time.

Reservations are taken for dinner but not for Sunday Brunch - however they do offer 30-minute call ahead seating, and you'll want to do that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Bloomington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love Uptown Cafe! In a "revolving door" town such as Bloomington, it is sometimes difficult to find a place that is reliable. The food here is always very good and the service is impressive. This is one of the reasons we keep coming back. My personal favorite dish is the Goganzola Pork Medallions which never disappoint, but there are cheaper options. The wine list is always being updated with new wines and is quite extensive. Breakfast is also very popular here and I recommend the eggs benedict.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Grad Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family ate here following the graduation ceremony at Indiana University. My daughter had raved about the gorgonzola filet mignon and wanted us to try it. It did not disappoint: amazing! The service was friendly and efficient and the food was top notch. This is one of my favorite Bloomington restaurants. In season, there are tables outside, great for people watching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wine by the glass a complete scam.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant poured a 3 ounce glass of a medium quality merlot. The wine steward had an attitude. 4 ounces is on the cheap side for a restaurant, and 6 ounces is respectable.
Food is fine, but the wine is absolutely overpriced both by the glass and bottle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Uptown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Uptown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Uptown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.