We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine by the glass a complete scam.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Uptown Cafe

Michael's Uptown Cafe
102 E Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, IN 47408-3332
812-339-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 300 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Eclectic, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Wine by the glass a complete scam.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant poured a 3 ounce glass of a medium quality merlot. The wine steward had an attitude. 4 ounces is on the cheap side for a restaurant, and 6 ounces is respectable.
Food is fine, but the wine is absolutely overpriced both by the glass and bottle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    70
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Meatloaf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Cajun Meatloaf, in a sandwich or for dinner with mashed potatoes, is extraordinary. Breakfast items are classy, unusual, and delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Hills, OH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had a late lunch. It was very good. The étouffée was excellent, but quite spicy so if you like spicy get it. The steak pita was also great! The perch and the sauce which came with it was wonderful. The deserts were also great. The blueberry cobbler was amazing. The only thing that was just ok was the creme brûlée. Even that was pretty good but paled in comparison to the cobbler and carrot cake.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you come to Bloomington, eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This restaurant is a Bloomington tradition. My grandparents have been coming here for years and now I come here often as well. One of my favorite times to eat here is for Sunday brunch. I love the carafe of mimosas, and it has what I view as the best breakfast food in town. I also enjoy dinner here as well. Average prices and excellent service. There are always specials on the chalkboard as well, I really can't say enough great things about this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice place for a date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Took the wife out for Date Night, she had the Chicken Marsala (highly recommend) and I had the seafood Gumbo. Discovered that i really am not a big fan of Oysters. But aside from that, perfectly seasoned and delicious food. The Chicken Marsala was the best i have ever tasted. My only gripe was our server took a long time between visits, and if the place was crowded I would cut him a break on that, but it was not crowded at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Uptown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Uptown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Uptown Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.