We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
Save
You added Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rocky River
1 review
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful old hotel in the heart of campus. View overlooking the chapel and cemetary. A must for a visit to campus. Easy access to everything including bookstore, computer store and food court. Easy in and out parking that made getting around even easier.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to tell others about your stay with us. It was great to see you found our service both friendly and helpful. It was great to see you took advantage of several of the special features of the IMU. Next time you might can get in a game of billiards or bowling? We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    197
    82
    15
    7
See reviews for
290
50
52
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I enjoy the Biddle hotel. There's something high quality about the doorknobs, but the rooms can be tiny. Check out a floor map on the 4th or 5th floor: By the elevator are rooms that huge. Some of the biggest rooms I've ever stayed in. If you can get those rooms, you will have a great time. Otherwise, the rooms you will get can be quite a hike from the elevators or main stairway, and "European" doesn't begin to describe it. It's tiny even by European standards.

The washroom is in need of an update, no matter what size room you have however. It is charming how the towel rack probably hasn't changed for about a hundred years, but the bathtubs, toilet, and other fixtures simply need to an update because there's no way that was a hundred years old. It's altogether a strange set-up.

But they keep it cool -- which is very important for Bloomington in the summer and the beds and general stay are very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay! It was great to see that you enjoy staying at the Biddle hotel and from the tone of your review it sounds like you have stayed with us several times. We do work to try and maintain the unique feel of the Biddle Hotel and make it consistant with the rest of the Indiana Memorial Union. Honoring and preserving the history of the building is important to us. We are however always looking for ways to make our guests more comfortable and we'll see what we might can do to adjust some of the items in the bathroom you mentioned. We do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Some rooms a little small. Hard to get enough hot water.
quite a good choice at food court even on a Sunday morning. Appreciated the vegetarian choices. Waiters were polite and helpful. ...wish we had more time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and were glad we could be a part of such a special event for your family! The team works very hard to ensure that everything is just so and it was great to see you found the service level at the hotel and in our dining and banquet facilities so positive. We know you were in for a special weekend but hope you can find an excuse to return to Bloomington again very soon. Maybe a one year anniversary??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Room has not been updated in many years. The carpet was very worn and dirty. The bathroom was institutional. I expected much better quality for the price I paid. The location is very convenient if visiting the University, but that is the only reason to stay at the Union.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. I'm sorry we were not able to deliver on a great stay for you while you were visiting the campus. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room during each stay. Clearly your note regarding the carpeting indicates we didn't do that in your room. I would like to touch base with you and see what we can do to make it right. We do look at future upgrades to our guestrooms periodically and will certainly take your comments into account. Thank you again for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

very expensive, outdated rooms. beds were barely comfortable, the shower pressure wasn't great not to mentioned it was clogged so it was like taking a bath at the same time. I was told my grand total would be 615$ and it ended up being around 700$.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Biddle when we visited her orientation. It was convenient, centrally located in IU and had all the amenities I needed. I would definitely stay here again when I visit Indiana.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your most recent stay with us! I was glad to see you had such an enjoyable visit to IU and that your stay at the Biddle Hotel was comfortable. We do really like to be associated with new student orientation as it is such a fun time connecting with our new students, moms and dads. We look forward to getting to know you over the next four years. Go Hoosiers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiggermyron
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent two nights to visit and tour the IU Campus. This has the prime spot, located inside the student union. The wheelchair accessible room was spotless and huge although the furnishings were a bit dated. However, some elements had been updated like electronics and bedding. Service was fine and it was an easy walk to restaurants and shops off campus. Would definitely stay again for any IU visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeCampbell, General Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Bloomington. We do appreciate you rating us so highly for our location, cleanliness, and service. The Indiana Memorial Union is celebrating is 100 anniversary and history is very important to both the Union and to the Biddle Hotel. We do want our guests to be able to utilize the newest technology and have a great night sleep in a comfortable bed. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Indiana Memorial Union- Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. Nestled in the heart of Indiana University our Bloomington boutique hotel offers 189 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, which include classic antiques, luxurious linens, signature bath products from Gilchrest and Soames ®, flat screen televisions and spacious work areas.Situated inside the stately and elegant Indiana Memorial Union, this upscale Bloomington hotel is perfect for travel to Indiana University, and is located steps from the Sample Gates, and the famed Kirkwood Avenue and Downtown Entertainment District offering a diverse restaurant scene, arts and entertainment, and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel Bloomington
Indiana Memorian Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.