We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
Save
You added Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Jasper
1 review
“Brief get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was in town for just one night to visit a niece and nephews. It is always very enjoyable staying at the I.U. Memorial Union Hotel. I love the ambiance of the stone building, it's setting and the lovely room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    166
    76
    14
    9
See reviews for
242
43
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

There are other nicer hotels in this area, but this is right on campus. I was recruiting MBAs on behalf of my employer and this was an easy walk. Most of the interesting things are off-campus, though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Many large universities have an on-campus hotel. This one is unusual in that it's in the student union. So students are present in the common areas, which I find pleasant. However the rooms and especially the baths could use an upgrade. The baths are probably equivalent to those in a lower mid-range chain motel (e.g. Holiday Inn Express). The room was better but some issues--no bedside table, some plugs that don't work, a rather clunky analog thermometer. Workers are students so their knowledge of local amenities is uneven and in some cases quite inaccurate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was my first time staying at the Biddle Hotel for a weekend trip to my alma mater. I don't think I'll be staying anywhere else moving forward. It was so great to be in the middle of campus within walking distance of everything you would want to see while in Bloomington. Our room was cozy and bed really comfortable. The rooms are a little outdated but are charming enough for it to matter. Nice toiletries.
Our only "complaint": The Union was essentially closed during our stay for the winter break, so we were unable to find anywhere to grab breakfast before our departure. The hotel should at least have a grab and go available during breaks to ensure guests can easily get something to eat.
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would choose at least a King room versus a Double/Full; worth the extra room for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We Always have a great stay at the Biddle Hotel at Indiana University. Rooms are perfect, clean, comfy and have all amenities needed. Perfectly priced too. Great location while visiting Indiana University, right in the middle of campus and only a few blocks from the night life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahCady, Director of Sales at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
MM,

We love being in the heart of it all and it sounds like you do, too! Thanks for staying with us and we're looking forward to having you back soon.

Go Hoosiers!
Sarah Cady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was staying by myself this trip and loved my cozy room. I stay at the Union every chance I get! It is the perfect location and everybody is always very helpful to me. I had to reschedule my stay and the staff was always very accommodating to the changing of my needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahCady, Director of Sales at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We understand that plans change, and are happy to help accommodate those changes in any possible way! Thank you for choosing the Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel as your choice hotel for Bloomington, Indiana! We're looking forward to having you back soon.

All the best,
Sarah Cady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

needs a full service restaurant I understand it is attached to the student union but food at the cafeteria is just college food.
The rooms were great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Love the antique furniture

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahCady, Director of Sales at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Carlton,

Thank you for your feedback regarding a full service restaurant. We have the unique opportunity to be both a Student Union and a hotel and try to cater to all appetites. Your positive remarks about our staff are greatly appreciated. We strive to provide Hoosier Hospitality and glad to see we’ve hit the mark!

Thanks again,
Sarah Cady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Indiana Memorial Union- Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. Nestled in the heart of Indiana University our Bloomington boutique hotel offers 189 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, which include classic antiques, luxurious linens, signature bath products from Gilchrest and Soames ®, flat screen televisions and spacious work areas.Situated inside the stately and elegant Indiana Memorial Union, this upscale Bloomington hotel is perfect for travel to Indiana University, and is located steps from the Sample Gates, and the famed Kirkwood Avenue and Downtown Entertainment District offering a diverse restaurant scene, arts and entertainment, and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel Bloomington
Indiana Memorian Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.