We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a great feel for the Indiana University Bloomington campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
Save Saved
You added Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bloomington
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get a great feel for the Indiana University Bloomington campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you're visiting campus to explore college options, this hotel is a good choice. Since it's on campus it really gives you a feel for campus life. It's in walking distance of all of the lecture halls.
Upon our first visit to campus, last spring, we stayed in a hotel not too far from campus that was a very good stay, but we didn't get the feel of what it might be like to live on campus. We especially liked that the food court, bookstore, along with other services, are all located in the same building as the hotel. Staying at the Biddle Hotel, enriched our campus visit experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you infosyster for your wonderful review! We love our beautiful campus and are glad you did too. Next time your travels bring you back to the area we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    154
    66
    12
    8
See reviews for
224
36
34
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were in Bloomington for a concert downtown and I remembered Biddle from a previous stay during a conference. I love that the hotel is in the historic student union and that there's so much to see and do on campus and downtown is just a short 10 minute walk. We stayed in an "economy" room, which was plenty room enough for the two of us. Everything was clean and they provide all the appreciated extras--tissues, coffee, iron/board, etc. We went to the food court for an inexpensive breakfast the next morning. Parking in the lot is convenient and free and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much Shannon203 for your review. Bloomington and IU have such a wonderful cuture and we're glad you got to experience that while you were here. We sincerely appreciated having you as a guest and eagerly look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My son and I stayed for a tour of the school.The front dest staff were very pleasant and helpful. I was shocked how big and clean the room was. I felt like I was in a 5 star hotel. They even had expensive bath products! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Teabop we are so happy we could meet and exceed your expectations on your most recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in our guest service and hope your son decides to attend IU for his college education. Have a wonderful holiday season!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Bloomington for a conference, and the hotel was extremely pleasant. First and foremost, all the people, from the front desk to the cleaning staff was just awesome, helpful and friendly. The room was nice, spacious and felt very clean. The only critique I have is that, for the price, the rooms are a bit dated. Overall however, I had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Faidra P it was our pleasure! Thank you for your very kind compliments of the hotel and staff alike. I will be sure to share your glowing review with them. We hope when your travels bring you back to the area you stay with us. Have a fantastic holiday season!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I really could not have asked for a more professional, positive experience at the Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. From the warm smile at check in from the lovely Elle (front desk attendant) to my departure the next day with Matt (Front Desk Manager). I had a comfortable bed, a clean room including the bathroom, and a peaceful atmosphere that combined the charm of Bloomington with the prestige of Indiana University. What a great night, I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you Landon S for the wonderful review. We were thrilled to have you stay with us and hope you make us your first choice when visiting Bloomington again. Our team works very hard and I will be sure to recognize them with your very kind compliments.

Best Regards,

Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently attended a conference at Indiana University and stayed at the Memorial Union. As the title says, the room, if small with a double bed, was scrupulously clean, and the staff was great. A HDTV would have been nice, but I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for excellent review Carbondonkey. We sincerely appreciate the kind words about the cleanliness of our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked an "economy" room for a Saturday night in October, and expected this to mean what it usually does- a room that's seen better days, in need of an update. I was so pleasantly surprised to open my door to a lovely, fresh, very tastefully decorated room. Every detail- from the window valance, to the fluffy white comforter, to the nice piece of local art was beautiful. The windows actually opened- such a rarity in hotels- and it was delightful to hear the chiming of the old clock tower on campus and have fresh air, rather than recirculating. I loved the old marble walls and brass mail chute by the elevators!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you E Adele S for your wonderful review. We love everything about being on the Indiana University campus as much as you did. When you stay with us in the future please don't hesitate to ask us about our favorite places on campus. We are always excited to share our history and culture!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Indiana Memorial Union- Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. Nestled in the heart of Indiana University our Bloomington boutique hotel offers 189 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, which include classic antiques, luxurious linens, signature bath products from Gilchrest and Soames ®, flat screen televisions and spacious work areas.Situated inside the stately and elegant Indiana Memorial Union, this upscale Bloomington hotel is perfect for travel to Indiana University, and is located steps from the Sample Gates, and the famed Kirkwood Avenue and Downtown Entertainment District offering a diverse restaurant scene, arts and entertainment, and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel Bloomington
Indiana Memorian Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.