We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrupulously Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloomington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center
900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Bloomington
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Scrupulously Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently attended a conference at Indiana University and stayed at the Memorial Union. As the title says, the room, if small with a double bed, was scrupulously clean, and the staff was great. A HDTV would have been nice, but I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for excellent review Carbondonkey. We sincerely appreciate the kind words about the cleanliness of our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Biddle Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    126
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
183
26
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked an "economy" room for a Saturday night in October, and expected this to mean what it usually does- a room that's seen better days, in need of an update. I was so pleasantly surprised to open my door to a lovely, fresh, very tastefully decorated room. Every detail- from the window valance, to the fluffy white comforter, to the nice piece of local art was beautiful. The windows actually opened- such a rarity in hotels- and it was delightful to hear the chiming of the old clock tower on campus and have fresh air, rather than recirculating. I loved the old marble walls and brass mail chute by the elevators!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you E Adele S for your wonderful review. We love everything about being on the Indiana University campus as much as you did. When you stay with us in the future please don't hesitate to ask us about our favorite places on campus. We are always excited to share our history and culture!

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a perfect location. You can walk to IU auditorium and take in a play or walk downtown for dinner or just take in the fall colors on campus. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were in town to attend the BMOC breast cancer fundraiser and we were so happy we could stay on campus. There is even a Starbucks in the Union which my daughter enjoyed having in the morning. Having two children attend IU --I have stayed at a number of hotels in Bloomington, and this is my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you bkrash614! It was our pleasure to be able to have you stay with us during your most recent visit to Bloomington. We look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps for a future Hoosier basketball game. :)

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had requested that Greek (old-time) music be playing upon our arrival to the room and that a chocolate cupcake be waiting. However, I didn't really expect it to happen. It did. In addition, what a stunning view from this elegant old building. Later, we walked past college lectures, as we trekked to the many and varied restaurants inside the hotel.The Biddle is my new favorite hotel. And it is right in the middle of this fabulous campus.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a charming rural-type cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Front Office Manager at Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so very kindly for the wonderful review. We are excited to become your new favorite hotel in Bloomington and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Matt M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last year. The Union hotel is most convenient, not only to campus, but also to downtown eateries and other places. The rooms are well kept and clean. Bathrooms are modern, and the showers are nice. the rooms are vey small. Often the bed seems to fill the room. Noise level is low, so sleeping is godd. The beds are comfortable. The problem is the price. It is expensive. You can stay at a very nice hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

If you have to be on the sprawling Indiana University campus, you can't get more convenient than the Biddle Hotel in the Union. The rooms are small and rather old, but clean and reasonably comfortable. The price is perhaps a touch high for what you get. However, the staff was pleasant and always helpful. (While wireless internet is free, it amazes me that for a "hotel" on a major university campus they don't have a business center -- if you want to print anything or check a computer, or print anything, you have to use the concierge desk.) It's a walk of several blocks to find any amenities (unless you're into the Burger King and bowling in the student union), but even then it's mostly low-end student ghetto food, bars and shops. Still, the convenience to libraries, museums, archives and other facilities on the campus make this an acceptable place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 3 or higher. The rooms on 1 & 2 are adjacent to common student areas an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed her last weekend and to say the least, we were disappointed in this relic. I am sure the building has a lot of history, but the rooms had that must "grandmother" type of smell. I expected the TV's to be black and white!

We only had 2 double beds instead of a king for my wife and I. Spent the night afraid of falling off, but fortunately managed to be okay. The rooms were spacious, we had a suite but again, with the smell of the room, we really only used it to sleep in.

The location was great, connected to the SUB for the University. Parking was free which I wasn't expecting. The hotel also has access to a food court, along with Starbucks and other establishments which was nice. Good location to both campus and town.

I would not visit again. Just felt like for the money we spent, we could have done a lot better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 900 E. 7th Street, Bloomington, IN 47405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#8 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Indiana Memorial Union- Biddle Hotel and Conference Center. Nestled in the heart of Indiana University our Bloomington boutique hotel offers 189 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, which include classic antiques, luxurious linens, signature bath products from Gilchrest and Soames ®, flat screen televisions and spacious work areas.Situated inside the stately and elegant Indiana Memorial Union, this upscale Bloomington hotel is perfect for travel to Indiana University, and is located steps from the Sample Gates, and the famed Kirkwood Avenue and Downtown Entertainment District offering a diverse restaurant scene, arts and entertainment, and vibrant nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel Bloomington
Indiana Memorian Union Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indiana Memorial Union Biddle Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list