We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't clean our room for 2 days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Bloomington

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Bloomington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Bloomington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 South Franklin, Bloomington, IN 47404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Bloomington
Torreon, Mexico
1 review
“Didn't clean our room for 2 days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We enjoyed our visit, but for 2 days straight our room wasn't cleaned up. On the 3rd day we had to go to the lobby to inform the front desk that we needed our room to be cleaned and they did. Just wanted you to know so you can pay a little more attention to that in the future. Other than that we had a nice stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
As I explained to you at the desk, when you have your "do not disturb" sign on your door we do not disturb you by asking if you would like housekeeping service. We do in fact pay very close attention to these things as either my Operations Manager or myself verifies all do not disturb signs before letting housekeeping go home for the day. I myself was the one who took note of the sign on your door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
63
6
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanjemoy, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The walls are way too thin (you can hear every word the person in the next room says), the thumping of elephants (or possibly children) running up and down upper floor hallways is annoying in the middle of the night. The "breakfast" offered is a paltry offering in a tiny space - other hotels at the same price provide much more. Housekeeping is average. That said, at the end of the week of my stay, I realized the bed is relatively comfortable and there is plenty of room in a studio suite, and reception (check in and out) was very pleasant and helpful. Location is good - within easy walking distance of 5 restaurants. So the negatives balance the positives to make this place an average stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 1st floor if you can help it - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I do apologize that the hotel was particularly noisy during your stay. Normally, we don't get a lot of noise issues but occassionly we do encounter some rowdy groups. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Three of us stayed three nights. We were in town for auditions at the Jacobs school, and for 2 students auditioning it was a great set up. It was a spacious suite, and although it wasn't inexpensive, we were able to save a little money by having a kitchen to prepare food. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. The only real protein was some sad hard boiled eggs, everything else was pretty high in carbs.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, very nice overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the Jacobs School of Music. I'm sorry to hear that the breakfast was not to your liking. We try to offer as many options as Marriott will allow us to offer but I certainly understand that it can be hard when you are trying to limit your carbohydrates. Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here twice, each time when I brought my family down to visit my oldest son at IU. Having separate bedrooms and TV's is great for unwinding after the drive--the kids can watch their shows and the adults can read, watch TV, or sleep in peace. Good choice of restaurants nearby, and IU is a short drive across town. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and got a full night's sleep each stay. Haven't used the kitchenette much, other than for snacks like popcorn and hot chocolate, but it is nice late in the evening when you don't want to go out for something. The extra space and privacy is well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
We are so glad that our two bedroom suite has been a good fit for you when you have traveled to Bloomigton. We are always pleased when guests return to stay with us and we hope you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizonMorton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in the TownePlace Suites in December 2011. Our 1-bedroom suite was spacious, and I was surprised that the kitchenette had a full-size fridge, four-burner stove, a dishwasher, and an oven. I expected (and would have been fine with) mini-fridge The location is nothing special, but conveniently located to the highway, restaurants, and downtown Bloomington. The bed was comfortable, and this was one of the rare times that I've requested a crib and found it in the room on arrival. My only complaint is that the towels were pretty thin.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad you enjoyed the two bedroom suite. We do our best to meet all requests prior to a guest checking in so I'm glad to hear that your room was prepared for your arrival. Please return to see us next time you are visiting Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, very clean, front desk agent very friendly, hotel offer free movies great place to stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. It is so great to hear that our front desk agent was friendly and helpful.We hope you will return next time you are in Bloomington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Had a room with queen bed and full size sofa sleeper. Sofa sleeper was marginal in comfort, and the fact that the sheets provided for it were for a twin size bed and the sofa sleeper was a full size made it a rough night getting tangled up with sheets. Could not use the pillow provided in the bed set for sofa sleeper as it was stained and dirty from previous use (body sweat or drool stains perhaps?).

Came back to our room in afternoon, and housekeeping left the pile of linens for the sofa sleeper in the same place we had left them on the chair. No new sheets/linens. Housekeeping also did not restock washcloths, we discovered this at the time we needed to shower before attending an evening performance at IU. Called the front desk and asked for a set of linens for sofa sleeper and washcloths and was told it would be a while before they could get them to us as there was only one person on duty. So we were placed in a predicament to make a trip down to pick up the washcloths and linens so we could continue getting ready. About 20 minutes later, we did get a call and they said they could now bring up linens...so that worked out to help us. But the inefficiencies to begin with were frustrating. This was the first time staying at this hotel. Not sure a $5/night savings was worth it when compared to the hotel we usually stay at merely a block away. We didn't need the stove, sink, dishwasher, etc... I think a standard room with two queen beds is of more value.

Room Tip: It is nice and quiet on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a great one. We are always working to improve our service and your comments will help us to do that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Bloomington

Address: 105 South Franklin, Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#10 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Bloomington 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your TownePlace Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.