We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb elk burgers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bub's Burgers and Ice Cream

Bub's Burgers and Ice Cream
480 North Morton Street, Bloomington, IN 47404
812-331-2827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 300 Restaurants in Bloomington
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Brno
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Superb elk burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

You have to challenge the Big ugly burger, a pound of meat (after cooked). I was there twice and never had to complain about anything, the service is fast and friendly and burgers are simply great!. If you complete the challenge, you get a picture on the wall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had heard good things about Bub's so we decided to give it a try. The restaurant was clean and inviting. It was a "college town" kind of place. The food was the main attraction. They have elk burgers. They are very good. They taste very similar to beef but are lower in calories and fat. Good food. The service was great too!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My daughter and son-inlaw have been telling me about this place for a year. My wife and I finally made the trip. It was well worth the drive. The burger tasted like the best burger you have ever had off a backyard grill. In today's restaurant environment a large percentage of restaurants serve mediocre fries, not Bubs. I had the regular fries and my wife hade the sweet potato fries, both
Fresh and crispy. Definitely a must when in Bloomington.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Burger and Fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My niece has been raving about the food at Bub's. On one of our visits to see our niece we decided to try out Bub's. She was right, best burger and fries! My mouth is watering just writing about the meal. Stop in if you are in the area. You won't regret it!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The concept for Bubba's is great. Serve high quality ingredients and never compromise. This may have been the best (and biggest) burger I have ever eaten. Stick with burgers here. The chicken sandwich was very average. The prices are very reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bub's Burgers and Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Bub's Burgers and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bub's Burgers and Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.