We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buskirk-Chumley Theater

Buskirk-Chumley Theater
114 E. Kirkwood Sve., Bloomington, IN
812-323-3020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Bloomington
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Art Deco Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This theater is an Art Deco gem just off the town square in Bloomington, IN. Nicely preserved thanks to dedicated volunteers, it offers an eclectic mix of shows.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Typical venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you have been to any Performance Theater this one will not knock your socks off. Yes, it is intimate, has a few shows a year, but it seems to be vacant most of the time sitting idle screaming USE ME! Its a former movie theater so the site lines are great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Flat,Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A day at the Buskirk- Chmley Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I enjoyed my visit at theater. I enjoyed a live show. and a very funny and well acted performance by some very talented actors. It was a very refreshing experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old time theater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like when they save these theaters and find uses for them. A variety of events are brought here. Check to see what is going on while you are in Bloomington. Just off the square and walking distance to many eateries. Parking can be an issue as it is in most places downtown Bloomington.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous little theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went and saw "To Kill A Mockingbird" - seats were nice and comfy - I think any location would be a good seat - sound was very good = there was upstairs seating as well - we went up and looked during intermission and it had good views of the stage as well. Very nice!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buskirk-Chumley Theater also viewed

 

Been to Buskirk-Chumley Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buskirk-Chumley Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.