We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Long for this World” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Grass Restaurant

Sweet Grass Restaurant
405 West Patterson, Bloomington, IN 47403
812 333-1043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 270 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The new place for slow food in Bloomington. Gastro Pub. Carolina- Inspired American Cuisine. Fried Green Tomatoes, Shrimp Po' Boy, Real Pimento Cheese, Shrimp and Grit cakes, Brined Roast Pork Loin, Prime Steaks- all made IN-HOUSE - and a fried twinkie for dessert. Open for lunch Tue. thru Fri. and Sun. 11 am to 3pm ---- open for dinner Tue. Thru Sun. 5 pm to 9 pm [till 10 pm Sat and Sun.]
Greenwood, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Long for this World”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to this restaurant on 3/27/13 with a group of 9. Was told the wait was 15-20 minutes. Bought a bottle of wine and a few drinks for our group; decent value as Wednesdays are 1/2 price bottles. After waiting 40 minutes I inquired as to "when" we might expect to be seated and was told "in about 30 minutes". I pointed to 3 unused tables and suggested putting those tables together to accommodate our group. Duh.... While waiting, we observed food sitting and sitting and sitting on the warming shelf with none of the wait staff seeming the least bit concerned, nor where the cooks concerned about the food sitting there for no less than 15 minutes. When told we would have to wait 30 MORE minutes and seeing the food just SIT there, we opted to leave and take our group else where. The owner or manager had better address these flaws or this restaurant will not be long for this world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have come here twice to try the food out. We were disappointed both times. We had first come within 6 months of the restaurant opening. The wait was very long for service and the selection was minimal. The food was just not good. I had a hard time finding something on the menu that sounded good, and it did not look appetizing once it arrived. I do not plan to go here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food/Bad attitudes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sweet Grass is out of the way. If you are unfamiliar with Bloomington you may have a hard time finding the is restaurant. However, once you get there you will not be disappointed in the food. Decent bar too! But, the wait staff and the management are often abrupt and at times unfriendly with guests. This is why they were not scored as excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

One night it's good and yummy (although there was a piece of plastic something or whatever in my food). The next it's bland and gross. Can't wrap my head around this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The menu choices really aren't that great and the ambiance is even worse. It's like I walked into a grocery store to eat at the cafe. The only good thing about this place is the hot hipster boys that work there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Grass Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Grass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Grass Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.