We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Decline” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dagwood's Deli and Sub Shop

Dagwood's Deli and Sub Shop
116 1/2 S. Indiana Ave., Bloomington, IN 47408
(812) 333-3000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 305 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“In Decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I remember the old Dagwood's with the downstairs area, the huge sandwiches, and the awesome variety.

Went there very recently with a colleague from the university across the street and the it is nothing like I remember.

The inside was bland, average, there wasn't any signs or notices on whether or not there was a downstairs area. The colors were average, the tables bathed in light instead of the dark cool area that was the basement seating.

The food wasn't much to brag about either. Not bad, not good, just average but with above average prices for the quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
“You can do better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place used to be pretty good, but in the last couple of years its just been a close place for overpriced average sandwiches.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One sandwich shop does not equal another”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was not much of a sandwich place lover til I found Dagwood's. Get anything with the Dagwood's sauce on it and you'll be addicted to. :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

If you are just looking to grab and go then this is a good place. If you are looking to chill out and hang out with friends btown has other places. Food is good though.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dagwoods is still a good, quick place to grab a bit while in Btown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Last weekend, my kids and I drove up to Bloomington for a football game and decided to try Dagwoods for a quick bite since all the other places we tried were busy. I hadnt eaten there since my college days. It did not disappoint! It was exactly as I remembered.

Quick and very good deli sandwiches, unique to other deli stops. I had the Supreme, and it tasted just like it did 20 years ago! My kids had the chicken parmesan and loved it, too. I sampled some of it since some was left over. It was very good.

If you want something quick, fresh, affordable, and want to be down close to Kirkwood ave, give it a try. Glad we went and still made the game on time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dagwood's Deli and Sub Shop also viewed

 

Been to Dagwood's Deli and Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dagwood's Deli and Sub Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.