We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to my surprise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palmer House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Palmer House
118 W Main St, Berne, IN 46711-1549
260-589-2306
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Berne
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing to my surprise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Palmer House in Berne, IN in my opinion has gone downhill over the past few years. It used to be the place to go for Swiss style meals in this Swiss themed town. On the Christmas tree lighting downtown after Thanksgiving I expected the restaurant to be busy. We came in at 6:30PM and the place was empty. That was surprising. We opted out of their "famous" smorgasbord. It didn't look appealing and we didn't want to pay the price of about $11 so we ordered off the menu. We ordered an appetizer and it was delivered with the main course. I find that aggravating when that happens. Appetizers should come first. Our main course included a brat sandwich. But to our amazement it wasn't a bratwurst. It was a sausage patty on a hamburger bun. WHAT? I have never seen a brat come that way. It tasted like a breakfast sausage patty. That's just not right for a Swiss restaurant. The breaded tenderloin was OK. Usually these Indiana specialties are thin pork , breaded and deep fried. Ours were thick and heavily breaded. Ok but not what I expected. Overall, OK place but not up to my expectation for a place known for its traditionally good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Comfort food at its best. The friendly crew and peaceful setting are a blessing. We especially enjoy the Friday buffet is an excellent offering of chicken, beef, and local sausage. Take a walk around Bern while there...it's a step back in time. If you love comfort food this is your place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great food & service in downtown Berne near clocktower and Swiss Heritage Village.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good place to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Like the other reviews have said, this place is a nice, quiet place to eat. Its like what Restaurants in America need to be. No fast food crap, just good food and great service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Mom & Pop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stopped on the way to see family and by accident stopped in this quaint little restaurant. We had the greatest waitress who had been there since she was a teenager and is just about the sweetest person ever. I had a breaded tenderloin that was the best piece of thick meat I ever had. No flat piece of cardboard here! Homemade milkshakes and great onion rings. I only wish we were there for dinner, because the dining room wasn't open yet. The town is small and friendly so just drop in and have a treat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmer House also viewed

 

Been to Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.