We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise and top-notch service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aore Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aore Island Resort to your Saves list
Aore Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Aore Road | Aore Island, Aore Island, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise and top-notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Anne and the team at Aore Island Resort make you feel welcome the moment you step ashore. All the staff are friendly, introduce themselves and somehow remember each guest's name to ensure service is as personal as possible.
We stayed for six nights as part of our nine night honeymoon in a beachfront bure. The team had thought of everything - including sarongs to use during your stay and an umbrella if necessary (thankfully we didn't need it).
You can snorkel straight out in front of the resort and it is probably the best snorkeling I've experienced in any of the Pacific Islands. The fish life is abundant and there is a fair amount of coral to look at too. Despite the great snorkeling, the beach is fairly sandy and you can easily swim without needing protective footwear.
Dining at Aore was good - the Santo Beef and Pork Loin were up there with the best I've had anywhere. The fish was quite over cooked but we gave them our feedback at the time and this is something the new manager, Rex is focussing on.
I would highly recommend the plantation tour - Manson gave us a fantastic insight into local flora and fauna, as well as WWII bunkers etc, and even gave as coca and wild oranges to try on the way around.
Awesome. I just wish we didn't have to leave...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    28
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I went to Aore as a single woman and sometimes when I travel alone, I find myself ignored by staff. Not so at Aore. Everyone was helpful and responsive, treating me as their most important guest. Anne made sure I was well cared for at meals. When I wanted to take a trip off the island, Anne worked out all the details so that my day of exploring was just what I wanted. Aore is a great place: quiet, laid back, well-maintained. And, the food was fantastic. The fish curry is the best so I had it multiple times. The garlic prawns were also over-the-moon wonderful. As others have pointed out, this is not a Four Seasons. However, this is about as good as it gets for a quiet, restfull beach-oriented vacation. I also met many interesting people at Aore. I would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the place to de-stress, no TV and no Radio just nature at its best with the friendliest staff to look after you.
Aore is the most comfortable resort I have stayed in. The bungalows are well placed so that you can go to sleep to the lapping of the water on the sand and feel totally safe.
The staff wear a permanent smile and are happy to see you happy.
You are not governed by a strict timetable or restricted to certain areas only - all you need to do is lay back and relax or walk through the tropical gardens surrounding the resort or snorkel in the crystal clear water right outside your bungalow or go kayaking or dive the magnificent President Coolidge. Whatever you decide is just fine with everyone.
This is a great place for children with safe swimming and plenty of area to run off their energy.
You will be totally rejuvenated after a visit to Aore.
Thank you to Anne, Rex and all the wonderful staff who helped bring my sanity back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I almost don't want to add to these reviews as I really would like this to be the world's best kept secret. It is the most magical place that we have ever stayed in (two extended visits from the UK and hopefully back ere long).

If you want marble and air con and room service....well, it's really not for you. However, if you want gentle seclusion in the closest thing you can get to a desert island....and love water...and appreciate being looked after by a relaxed and genuinely caring staff, this is the place.

I would happily end my days in the resort. The Ni-Vanuatuns (the locals!) possess an uburstable happiness and wish to please. You leave the resort thinking that there is something missing in our Western culture that these small, beaming, people have found in spades.

The resort is small, relaxed and intimate. Set in beautifully manicured parkland, its rooms are hardwood chalets topped with a palm thatch - generous for two and extremely calming. If you have a waterside room, in the evening you can nod off on the balcony mesmorised by the distant lights of Luganville on Espiritu Santo. There are some wonderful walks behind the resort through former copra plantations.

You feel happily protected from the taint of the real world, as the only way to get to Aore Island is by boat across the enormous sound that once held large numbers of US warships massing for the fight at Guadalcanal. The hotel ferry lazily makes its way to 'the mainland' in around 15 minutes. For those interested in WWII this is a location without peer, with Espiritu Santo hosting no fewer than three airfields. The wrecks of US fighters and bombers are everywhere - I discovered an uncharted Consolidated PBY Catalina at 30m less than a kilometer from the coast during an early dive.

A neighbouring small island is Ambea (aka Aoba Island) - the inspiration for "Bali Ha'i" in James Michener's 1947 short story collection 'Tales of the South Pacific' which formed the basis of Rodgers & Hammerstein's hit musical, South Pacifc. It boasts some delightful fast drift dives over
stunning reefs.

A charming and wonderful place.

Room Tip: The chalets with verandahs cantilevered over the water are the ones to go for....you will sleep like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NZ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Fare and central dining area were clean, comfortable and well serviced. Beach and pool very good, everyone friendly and helpful. Food was okay but maybe we didnt pick the best dishes.
Take a walk along the road (to left) if interested in birds, spiders, trees.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luganville, Vanuatu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at Aore recently and could not speak more highly of the experience. This is a classy, professionally operated resort with 'WOW' factor yet retains
a friendly ,nothings too much trouble attitude. The food is always excellent here and I particularly like the all day menu, you can have what you want, when you want it.
A big thank you to Host/Owner Ann and her great staff for making our break so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

hi everyone, my MUM recently stayed at this resort and had a great time. As mothers day was coming up I decided to e the resort and ask if they could purchase flowers and give them to my mum. Well I got a response within hours and not only would they do it but Leah (the lovely woman who answered my e) thought of the little things such as timing so my mum got her flowers during lunch with her friends so EVERYBODY could see how loved she was. Mum tells me the bunch of flowers were GORGEOUS and made of of her favourite flowers -orchids-, mum was so thrilled and got so much attention she said it was her best trip ever! Mum took a photo of the flowers so she could get them printed up and hang it on the wall for all time (she is so cute). So thank you to LEAH for being so wonderful and making my mums trip one to remember!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aore Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aore Island Resort

Address: Aore Road | Aore Island, Aore Island, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Aore Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aore Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aore Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aore Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aore Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Aore Resort Santo
Aore Hotel Santo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aore Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.