We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Beach Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lake Front Drive, Zion, IL 60099   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zion
batavia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was supposed to be the perfect weekend in Chicago and I was dying to sit by the beach. I had been at this hotel 50 years ago as a child and remembered that it was right on the beach! It was such a perfect location! We loved every minute of our weekend. The beach is private so very few people were there. We had a room with the water view. I would have loved to get the balcony but there were weddings and reunions going on and they were take up. With all the people at the hotel you never felt the craziness. We had dinner and breakfast outside and the food was good. The view was fantastic!! Room was clean and beds were comfortable. We decided we need to bring the kids and grandkids up for the weekend. It is so close and was very accomodating. Yes it is dated. We still had a great time.

Room Tip: See if you can get a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
dbest17,Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center. We’re happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
50
46
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The rooms were clean and well maintained, and the staff was exceedingly friendly. That being said, the meeting room where our family reunion was scheduled was small, dark, and frigid. Despite repeated requests to get the air conditioning turned off, we continued to freeze. The resort itself is in a lovely location on the lake, providing the weather is not 60 degrees, rainy, with very strong winds (which it was), so the normal hiking was not available. There is an indoor pool, a games room, and a health club, but the resort is not close to anywhere else. We were scheduled to stay an extra night after the reunion was over, but left early.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the indoor pool, and there was extremely loud music from the pool until midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Deborah_R_25, Thank you for submitting a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your willingness to share your particular experience with the travel community. The HVAC issue that you had is already resolved. I hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I utilized a Living Social deal and discovered the Illinois Beach Resort. Fun! The place is older (gotta love the mid-twentieth century architecture), but our room was very comfortable and very clean. We had a good view of the beach, and enjoyed sitting on our balcony in the evenings. The hotel restaurant has some great deals, and the bar staff is friendly and helpful. The front desk reception desk staff were also very pleasant and helpful, offering advice on local activities. We drove up to Kenosha, about half an hour away and explored - some good museums. The weather varied - sunny, overcast and foggy, and rainy, so we could see the beach in all elements. The pool was nice - though we did notice a couple of leaks in the ceiling during a light rain. The flags in this area add a nice decor. We also took advantage of the "game room" and played some pool and air hockey. Great deal & great time. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are the best - book in advance and request, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
greenkoala, Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate guests taking the time to share their experiences both with us and other travelers. We're happy to see that you had a great stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Attended a weekend conference at this hotel, which I didn't even know existed (even though I thought I knew Lake County very well). It's way out of the way, which is nice if you are looking for R&R. Big indoor pool, which I did not visit. Rooms are OLD, but they were clean and the beds were comfortable. I liked the Keurig coffee maker in the room, although the front desk didn't prompt us to ask for the coffee pods when we checked in. Friendly place, laid back. No frills, but the location is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for being our guest & sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We strive to provide friendly and clean accommodations.We look forward to seeing you and your family again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a 2 night stay that we purchased through Living Social, and we would gladly go again. It was a little older of a place, but was well maintained. It was very peaceful, and loved the huge bathroom with the room! We had a beach front view and enjoyed watching the lake from our room. All the staff went out of their way to be so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the food we had for breakfast and the supper on one night. I would strongly recommend this place if you are looking to escape for relaxation. I really hated to come back home.

Room Tip: We never used the pool or spa, but others did and they seemed pleased with it. We were on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
KathyP10, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Zion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Illinois Beach Hotel is hidden away in the middle of a State Park. So the location is super cool and right on the beach. We have gone several times, mostly in off seasons. Numerous times we had the whole beach to ourselves. It is even beautiful in the winter. Sunrise and moonrise over the lake are totally worth the stay. The breakfast menu and buffet are both excellent. We usually have our other meals in surrounding area restaurants. The rooms are quite nice, had a suite once and that was roomier and quite comfy. Always get a lake view room, it is worth the cost. We do a lot of walking, beach and park. But there are fun places within easy driving distance. Downtown Waukegan and the Dockside Ice Cream place at the Waukegan Harbor are worth a visit. Driving north to Kenosha takes only a half hour on Sheridan road. The staff of the hotel is very accommodating. The swimming pool has been under repair for a few years, just plan on not using that. Overall, we always look forward to staying there and the place never disappoints.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center and for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visits. I sincerely appreciate the positive feedback regarding the staff. They work very hard and it is nice to see when they are recognized. The pool is completely renovated and open to all our guests. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TALLAHASSEE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was here for my sister's wedding. Nothing was really fabulous - but it was a decent place. Nice views of lake Michigan. Outdoor wedding was nice - not a lot of places for a beach wedding in IL! Food at the reception was decent, but not spectacular. I didn't pay for the meal - but from what I saw on the website, they are pretty pricey for what they have.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, We thank you for your honesty and we always strive to provide the best service and to continuously improve our resort. Our prices for our weddings are very competitive with resorts in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center

Address: 1 Lake Front Drive, Zion, IL 60099
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illinois Beach Hotel Zion
Illinois Beach Resort And Conference Center Zion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.