We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time at Illinois Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lake Front Drive, Zion, IL 60099   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent time at Illinois Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I used a LivingSocial deal in October that included a $50 dinner credit, free breakfast for 2, and wine and chocolate strawberries. The deal was outstanding and we really enjoyed our stay.

Check-in was a bit slow, as there was only one receptionist and she was a bit overwhelmed as there was a rabbi conference going on at the time and she had to check in several people. She really hustled and personally checked to make sure our room was ready. We had a king bed and had a great view of Lake Michigan. The room could use some updating, but was clean and spacious. The beach area was outstanding and, while too cold to swim, we hiked the lakefront the afternoon we arrived. For dinner, we expected the usual subpar hotel restaurant food, but were pleasantly surpised by the quality. While simple, the food was well prepared and plentiful. Even with two drinks each, we only went $15 over our credit. After dinner, the clerk allowed us to change our free bottle of champaign for red wine and we feasted on delicious chocolate covered strawberries before enjoying a moonlit stroll through the dunes to the beach.

While we didn't use the pool or fitness center,t hey both looked very nice. The fitness center in particular was large and well stocked with free weights and machines.

The next morning, before the weather turned foul, we again hiked a train that led away from the beach to an absolutely gorgeous fall riot of colors oak forest. I got some absolutely phenomenal photographs near a weathered bridge. Then we enjoyed our free breakfast for two.

After the rain started, we took the short drive to Milwaukee and toured the historic Frederick Pabst Mansion.

All-in-all, we had a wonderful, romantic time in Zion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the great comments regarding your visit. I am so glad we were able to exceed your expectations. I want to apologize for the check in that was a little slow.

Please do come back and visit and let me know if I may assist in any way in the future.

Regards,

Marco Geurts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
51
47
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iron Mountain, MI
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went here on a Living Social deal in October. Had a king room on the first floor. I was a little "nervous" about how the stay was going to be after reading some of the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised by everything! The room was big and other than a few stains on the carpet and the bathroom tub/shower a bit older, it was a very nice room with a great view of the lake. The pool is huge and new and was a comfortable 86 degrees. The hot tub was "foamy" with some algea unfortunately. They have a great workout room, dry sauna, pool table and games. The restaurant was very cozy and we had 2 dinners and a breakfast there. The breakfast was great...the dinners were just "ok". The best part was that this resort is in a state park with miles of hiking/biking trails which we took advantage of as well as walking on miles of beachfront! It was so relaxing and so much fun! Who knew there was cactus in Illinois! And we learned alot about the dunes by talking to the park ranger at the visitor center which is within walking distance to the hotel. The worst thing about this place is that they have several ball rooms and there was a lot of noise on Saturday afternoon from a church service using a microphone in the ball room below us and then that evening a wedding with very drunk/obnoxious guests wandering the hallways and outside yelling until midnight. I would still go back again but I would ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing away from the courtyard (if you're looking for a quiet/relaxing stay).

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing away from the courtyard to avoid "noise" from weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We value your feedback and appreciate that have complimented the areas that you found exceptional and also pointed out the areas where we can improve our services to our guests. If you come back to Zion, please come see us again! We'd love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The view of Lake Michigan was breath-taking. Our room had a balcony that looked right across the lake and the main grounds. We went "off season" so it was very quiet and were able to take some very peaceful walks on the beach. The pool area had just been renovated and was very nice. The restaurant was all right. We had a package so some of our meals were included. Being that you are in a pretty secluded area, it was nice to have that option. Menu prices were reasonable and the meal reflected the price. Staff was very accommodating. There is a hot tub by the pool, which was nice and a masseuse on staff (we did not use this option). Nice to know it's available though.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Illinois Beach and Conference Center. I am very pleased to read your kind words of our team, services and facilities. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We, too, checked out the deal from Living Social and while we knew the rooms (particularly the small bathrooms) were remakes of a decades old facility, we found them adequate and certainly worth the price of the location along Lake Michigan. Best with a lake view, of course and not all have those. The king room was clean, large and well appointed including a table and two arm chairs as well as balcony chairs. The pool is huge beautiful and now 'brand new'. It is not for kiddie splashing but for true, dedicated swimmers and it is a honey and though the health club doesn't seem to keep up with the towel needs you can bring or get extra room towels. When we were there we were offered the regular dinner menu (not the lunch menu), the food was excellent -- both a chicken dish and a true pepper steak -- the breakfast was good and plentiful and the bar served good drinks. The dinner menu tops out at @ $23 and they offered a two-for-one Saturday prime rib offer. This is a state park facility and not a luxury resort, but it is modern and comfortable and the staff attention throughout the facility rates an A. The grounds are lovely and Beach walking is a must. I was last in the facility 40 years ago (they regularly cater to conferencing) and this return was more than a pleasant surprise. I might be less enthusiastic if the facility was crowded with a large conference crowd, but watch for the midweek off-season deals and we'll see you there!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room with a balcony (hotel has three floors equally divided between lake and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geurts, General Manager at Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate guests taking the time to share their experiences both with us and other travelers. We're happy to see that you had a great stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a really good place. I read all the reviews. Now, here is what I think. The pool was open, very nice and big. Food was very good and the price is also right. Is it run down. So things are older, no granite counter tops. Don't care everything was clean. If you want a 5 star hotel. Great go spend 200 plus, but for a little over 100 you can have a good time. the view is worth thousands. You can't get a better view. If you venture out for some of the best food around. Go to savannah House. About 6 miles away. WOW.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Decided to check out this resort and conference center through the offer from Living Social. The offer was for a “recently remodeled” facility which included two nights with a lake view, a dinner, a breakfast, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The offer was outstanding which helped me overlook many of the mediocre aspects of this “resort”. Rooms were okay but looked like they had seen better days. I am not one to post negative photos of a singular aspect of a room as I don’t think that could necessarily be true of all rooms so it is best to say that the bathroom and room in general looked more motel like than resort quality.

The pool area went through a complete remodel due to a tornado in 2011 and although nice, it very much caters to the community and is more of a health club pool for members than a resort pool for guests. I get the resort has to stay afloat someway so best to open it up to the public but if you think you are going to get the usual resort pool experience, you will not.

The restaurant was a miss for sure. Items on the lunch/dinner menu (which are exactly the same) sound appetizing at a good price point, and when presented to the table looked high-quality, however they absolutely miss the mark on flavor and palatability. We ordered a chicken dish and a pork dish and they were both so tough we gave up after a couple of bites. We are not foodies but walked away with the thought if maybe they served less quantity maybe the fare would be of better quality. On the other hand breakfast was good; we had omelets.

Overall take this resort for what it is; an enjoyable place perfectly located on the shores of Lake Michigan. If you are there for spending time outdoors (hiking, beach) it is a great location and a definite step above sleeping at the state campground next door!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

In April we booked a long weekend stay for August thinking after 2 years the indoor pool repairs would finally be complete. Much to our disappointment the pool was still closed. Lake Michigan and big sandy beach are right behind the resort so it wasn't a total bummer. This place caters to a lot of class reunions and weddings so the weekends are busy and noisy. As nice as a lakefront room sounds think twice about booking one because they are right beside the rear patios and terraces where all the reunion and wedding guests party into the morning hours. If they ever get the pool finished I hope they think about refurbishing the outdated rooms. With no pool and very little else to do kids will be bored to death staying here during the cold weather months.

Room Tip: The lakefront rooms face the patios and terraces where all the reunion and wedding guests party at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center

Address: 1 Lake Front Drive, Zion, IL 60099
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Zion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illinois Beach Hotel Zion
Illinois Beach Resort And Conference Center Zion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.