We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and depressing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Woodstock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Woodstock to your Saves list
Super 8 Woodstock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 Davis Road, Hwy 47 & 14, Woodstock, IL 60098 4643   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Noisy and depressing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

What can I say? It's a Super 8, and it's about what you'd expect. There's a reason why Super 8's TV ads emphasize all the fun stuff you'll be doing *away* from the hotel; it's because you'll want to spend as little time there as possible. The Woodstock Super 8 is pretty typical; it looks okay from the outside, but the interior has a dingy, worn-down appearance. The cleanliness is adequate, although you'll want to take the comforter off the bed before you sleep in it and wash your hands after handling the TV remote.

I have to add that this particular Super 8 was the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. There were people hanging out in the hallways at all hours -- not going to and from their rooms, but just standing in the corridor talking loudly. There was even a party in the hallway outside my room one night! I don't mean a party in somebody's room that spilled out into the corridor; I mean a party IN the corridor, with people standing, sitting, and even LAYING on the filthy hallway carpet, talking, laughing, singing, clapping, shouting, etc. At one point a guy starting running sprints up and down the hallway. And this was on a beautiful summer night where any sensible person not trying to sleep (as I was) would have been outside. Go figure. Why didn't I call the front desk to complain? Well, the customer service wasn't bad, exactly, but I had the distinct feeling that they just wouldn't have cared.

There's a free breakfast, but it's continental-breakfast stuff -- bagels, toast, cold cereal, etc. There's a waffle maker, but no hot food.

Oh, one other interesting experience here. There's a guest laundry with a washer and dryer. I washed my clothes, then put them in the dryer and went back up to my room for a half hour. Apparently I should have stood guard over that dryer, because when I returned I found my wet clothes in a pile and somebody else's clothes in the dryer. Nice. Not Super 8's fault, of course, but it does tell you something about their typical guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    26
    21
    14
See reviews for
27
15
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was a two day Business stay, and the only Hotel in Woodstock with availability. I’ve stayed there in the past as my back-up Hotel when all others were full, and it wasn’t too bad for a budget Hotel. Now, it’s really going downhill. The cigarette smoke smell was overwhelming.

Rooms are on the small side, and dingy due to the yellowed walls & ceilings, lamp shades, etc. The carpet turned my socks filthy on the bottoms. Bed linens were clean, but they were torn, and worn enough to see through. The large windows open fully and are screened, so you can let in fresh outside air. Sleep was OK with the window open all night, but there was a lot of traffic noise from the highway.

Very small work table with one outlet under the table. Tube style TV (Dark picture & very red) with 98 channels. Microwave & Fridge. The free internet is fast and reliable.

Bathroom was tiny with the sink outside. Water pressure is low, and the shower is slick as snot. One sudden move, and you’re down for the count. The bath towels were shredded pretty badly. It’s really time for new ones.

Breakfast was sparse. Bagels, Pastries, Cereal, and a Waffle Iron.

On my next trip to Woodstock, I think I’ll bypass this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

You get what you pay for. Nothing fancy, the towels and sheets are kind of thin. But the rooms are clean. Ours had been recently painted. Beds were decent. The place (at least the 3rd floor) no longer reeks of cigarette smoke.

AC a little on the loud side, but since its 103 outside --

Continental breakfast unappetizing -- no variety - bagel, white toast, 1 kind of cereal, and a waffle maker that could use a good cleaning. Two kinds of juice. Coffee just so-so as well.

But for $59.95 a night, the bed was OK and the place was quiet. Front desk folks were OK as well. Wireless in rooms was fast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Woodstock doesn't offer many non-B&B options. I think the Holiday Inn Express across the street closed. OK, its not the Hilton. But our room didn't smell bad (but it didn't smell good, either). The mattress was nice and firm. Bedding is a little sparse, no extra pillows. All you get is shampoo, so bring your own conditioner and hand lotion. Breakfast is the cold continental version.
But we all got a decent night's sleep and had a few extra bucks in our pockets to spend on the Square.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Place is dated, water pressure is low, unclean and not comfortable. Courteous front desk people. 1st and last time staying there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I am fully agree with other reviewers about smoke however this place save me good buck so I am happy and after all was good night sleep. My only advice if you don't need to look after your money as I do stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is mainly a smoking hotel with only about 3 non-smoking rooms, but the cigarette smell seems to come through the vents to the non-smoking rooms as well. So I would say don't stay here unless you are either a smoker or don't mind the smell! Apart from that the hotel in itself is nice, the rooms are a good size and clean, and the staff are friendly. Unfortunately the place just smells bad :(

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Woodstock

Address: 1220 Davis Road, Hwy 47 & 14, Woodstock, IL 60098 4643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Woodstock 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Super Eight
Woodstock Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Woodstock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.