We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style drive in diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Louie's Drive-In

King Louie's Drive-In
315 S 6th St, Wood River, IL 62095-2346
618-254-1114
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Wood River
Restaurant details
Wood River, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old style drive in diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Good food. King Louie's Drive-in has been around for years and years. There food is always consistant and you get it fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Car hops - experience the 50s!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

King Louie's still uses carhops - when was the last time you had that experience? Be sure to try the root beer and the shakes which are excellent. Service is always timely and friendly. This is a tradition for those from Wood River.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois
1 review
“King Louie's Drive-In”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

A great small town drive-in place to eat. Orders taken at and delivered to your car or you can come inside to eat. I'm a local and have to say this is one of my favorite places to visit. They also have a burger challenge if you think you have the stomach and appetite for it!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benld, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big Surprise For Me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I had never been here before, I had never heard of it, but we went to the Lewis and Clark Confluence Tower this weekend, and this is where we stopped to eat. Ok, it looks a little scary when you first pull up, but the food makes up for it. You can pull up and a waitress will come out to your car and take your order or you can go in. We just ate in the car. The food really surprised me, it was good. Also, the homemade root beer was really good and I wanted more. However, the wait to get our food was forever! Seriously we waited about a half hour for burgers, breaded cauliflower, fries, and chicken strips. There is no free refill on drinks, they are half price though. I struggled between 3 and 4 stars because the food was surprisingly good, but the wait....not so much.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

King louie burger very thin. You are paying for toppings and bun. Very over priced for what you get. Homemade root beer is good. But loaded with sugar

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Louie's Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to King Louie's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Louie's Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.