We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 N. Mittel Boulevard, Wood Dale, IL 60191 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Top Golf Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good for Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Even though I was working close by for two days, I would have preferred somewhere more convenient to Chicago. To get to Chicago centre, you either go by cab at $65 a go, or by taxi and train which can take more than 1.5 hours.
The hotel is 15 mins and a $25 taxi ride from the airport.
It has a good gym and indoor pool, but the restaurant and bar are very basic and open to the lobbly area.
My room, a Junior suite, was clean and very comfortable. The main saving graces were the staff - very friendly, and the price - cheap at less than $100 per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    89
    52
    38
    16
See reviews for
57
50
29
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Everyone, I mean everyone, were so kind and helpful. We were always greeted with a smile. Those warm cookies were absolutely delicious..I was never turn down when I asked for a second. Salt Creek Country Club and its beautiful banquet hall is just around the corner. The food at the hotel and the hall was four stars. Again, thank you from a grateful and satisfied guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We smile because our customers make us happy!! Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooddale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked rooms for 14 associates for a three day meeting. From the first phone call makjing the reservations to the day we checked out, your entire staff (shuttle driver, bar tender, front desk and wait staff) was polite and professional. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and for letting us host your meetings.
We appreciate your business !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Really nice hotel with a great staff. Close to both of my favorite Chicago restaurants. (Lou Malnati's and Portillo's) The breakfast buffet was a nice spread. Always Love the cookies! It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate you're kind review of our services and hope to see you again very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was very clean, newly renovated and the staff were very helpful and courteous (especially Herman at the front desk). The fitness facility was better than most and well maintained, and the gathering area was great for meeting up with colleagues to discuss the days biz and have a beverage. Hotel was located very close to our meeting location so it was convenient as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind words and your business!
We look forward to seeign you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having just returned from a week long stay in the Doubletree, Wood Dale, somewhere I have stayed many times before, I only have a feeling of disappointment. The hotel has had a facelift in the front lobby and common areas (dining / bar), however the old problems persist. The service is slow (sometimes very), the menu is unexciting (that's before you consider the number of items that were unavailable) and the bar poorly stocked. There were four of us travelling together, after only a handful of drinks we were told that the beer we were drinking was now out of stock and wouldn't be replenished until later in the week. The menu changed for the first time in as long as I can remember whilst we were there - only for us to be told that 5 of the main dishes were unavailable on the first night of the re-launched menu - this despite the fact there were only a handful of guests dining. When we did order food the service was poor. The French fries only appeared once my plate was cleared, the food was luke warm at best and one side order never appeared. The main area of the bedroom was clean and tidy (no mini-bar), with a very large comfortable bed and no shortage of cushions / pillows, all very modern & comfortable. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the bathroom. The fixtures look very tired and in need of replacement. In the room I stayed you needed all your strength to lift the plunger on the tap to switch the shower on. The Doubletree also has a dislike for ceiling lighting - the rooms are dreadfully dark, with the only lighting provided by a selection of desk / floor lamps. What is it they don't want you to see ? At least the noise from the dated air-conditioning drowns out the corridor noise.
Just to cap a disappointing stay, one of my colleagues left his jacket in the bar area one evening. It was collected my a member of staff and handed to reception - who then lost it. My colleague returned home empty handed.
I use the Doubletree for convenience when travelling for business, my primary place of work is 3 mins walk away making the Doubletree the obvious choice, however with so many alternative hotels / suites available in the area I feel it may be time to try somewhere new.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your stay is as pleasant and comfortable.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property. In addition, please know that your comments and issues you have brought up in your review will be addressed.

It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience you went through during your stay and hope to have the opportunity to serve you next time you are in town.

If I can be of further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Double Tree Wood Dale. The price was to attractive to pass up. Our stay was good, but the facilities are quite dated. About have of the hotel is currently under renovation.

The AC ventilation system was very noisy at night. Rooms are nicely furnished, but we had a suite and were surprised that there was no refrigerator included.

I did check out the pool / spa. The Spa did not work, it was just a warm tub of water, no bubbles.

They did supply us with a free breakfast which was great. All in all, the price was right, so the draw back on some of the ammenities wasn't to big of a deal. Like I said, it's a dated hotel.

The staff at this hotel was wonderful. From the front desk, to the maid service to the breakfast waiter, they were all extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments. Please know that we are completing our guest room renovations and hope that you will return to see the changes we've made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Address: 1200 N. Mittel Boulevard, Wood Dale, IL 60191 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Wood Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Dale Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Wood Dale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.