We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy and comfortable place to get away from the city life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 N. Mittel Boulevard, Wood Dale, IL 60191 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice cozy and comfortable place to get away from the city life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Given the renovation. We had a great experience. It was nice to get away from the city traffic and noise.

I love the warm cookies. When you checkin.

The room that we stayed in was more like a mini suite. It felt really warm and cozy. The bed was SUPER comfortable.

The pool area was great including that it has a hot tub.

Overall great experience would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    96
    60
    39
    17
See reviews for
63
50
31
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel is under renovation of the lobby and restaurants, it was in total chaos. I wonder why hotels find it necessary to update their lobbies and restaurants when the rooms need updating? Service was terrible in the restaurants, the staff was unresponsive to broken equipment in the fitness center, and rooms need updating. Worn carpets, holes in wall, repairs done poorly. Will not return. Concur did not list a remodel taking place, and most hotels will discount rates during renovations, not this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Sept 20, 2012- stayed at this hotel expecting Hilton standards and got nothing of the sort. The hotel is in the middle of an industrial park with NOTHING around. The entire front of the hotel is boarded up under renovation and looks abandoned. You have to enter thru a scary side entrance that is poorly lit. The rooms are older and smell like an older hotel. I called Hilton guest relations and they were kind enough to transfer my reservations to the Hampton Inn Chicago O'Hare for the duration of my trip. Go there instead.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay at this hotel. ask for a room far away from the drilling or you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great hotel just outside the downtown area. The hotel lobby and front entrance area was under construction. We didn't hear any noise at all. The kids loved the pool and exercise room. Shopping malls are just a short drive away. You need a car here but the rate is excellent for the quality of the hotel. We have stayed there twice before and will keep returning when we need a place in Chicago that is not in the core.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel lobby was under construction, but it wasn't an inconvenience. The rooms were average, while the hotel looked a little dated. The location is good if you have a car, but if not there is nothing within walking distance. The staff was awesome - super friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I see other reviews that mention the construction and yes, they did have the front desk in a hotel room. It was well marked. The only thing about it that I found difficult was the regular door instead of a wider one like a regular lobby has when dealing with luggage. But it wasn't a problem really. I thought the hotel wasn't in that bad of condition. Everything was clean. My room was lovely. The hotel staff was VERY nice to me. The Internet was slowish but they are upgrading that also. When I asked about Internet access, they offered it to me for free, and that was before I found out it was slower. It wasn't that bad at all; I have been places where the Internet is much worse. I was just uploading pictures from my camera which is more demanding than most tasks.

The location was perfect for me because of where I was going. It is in a business park, with office buildings all around. It is not on a main drag and my GPS took me there in the most obtuse way. When I knew where it was, when I went out for dinner, I came back a much more direct route. I think they have a restaurant but I did not go there. There are not any restaurants right there, but a couple miles away. It is only about 5 miles south of Wood dale mall area where there are thousands of options. The pool / hot tub looked great but I didn't have time for that or to check out if they had a fitness area, which I would usually do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My company put me up in this hotel and on arrival, I found the lobby/lounge area closed for renovations. Front desk was in a hotel room. Huh? That's your backup plan during a lobby remodel?

Carpet leading to my room on the second floor was full of stains - many quite large. Wallpaper was peeling around the window in my room and the shower head sprayed a solid stream of water (like that from an open garden hose) which I didn't find out about until I needed to take a shower on my first morning. I let the front desk know and the shower head was changed out very quickly. My co-worker advised me that the commode in his room ran continuously and the front desk did not have it repaired while we were there.

I was surprised that any hotel with the Hilton name on it would be in such desparate need of repair. Mind you, the lobby was being renovated so I can only guess that the hallways and rooms will be next. That having been said, I would call ahead to ensure all remodeling has been completed before booking a room here.

To be fair, the staff was wonderfully nice - very, very nice folks! Food in the restaurant was good as was the breakfast buffet each morning. Bed/pillows were VERY comfortable and the room was clean. Place was simply dated and showing it's age.

Room Tip: Only book here if they can assure that the entire property has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCaskeyGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff; each who possess a genuine desire to provide excellent service and I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with their assistance.
Our renovations for the front desk, lobby, restaurant and lounge are well underway and I am pleased to say on target for completion September 23rd. The corridors and guest rooms will indeed follow.
I hope that you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay with us and that you will visit us in the near future to see the completion of our renovations.
Please feel free to call me at anytime if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Address: 1200 N. Mittel Boulevard, Wood Dale, IL 60191 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Wood Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Dale Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Wood Dale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.