We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clayoquot Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What an incredible vacation. Four star accommodations. All the outdoor activities we could hope for. And gourmet meals, complete with wine pairings from local wineries. Simply one of the best vacations we have ever taken. Even our teenage daughter rated Clayoquot her favorite vacation ever (ahead even of the Galapagos Islands, because, she said, in the Gslapagps she had to stay on a boat). We had such a good time, we were even able to ignore the rainy weather that we encountered for half of our stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely spring for an en suite tent. Why have to go outside to use the facilities when you are pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Wow is right! Thank you for your wonderful review. We will for ever appreciate hearing from our guests and what they have to say about their stay here and it goes without saying that hearing reviews like this makes us smile.
We strive to make every guests vacation and stay here a lasting and memorable one. It is nice to be able to say that every guest to us is memorable and we look forward to their return. For you guys, we look forward to you coming back and bringing those that couldn't come the first time!

With big hugs until next time,

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family visited last summer, and it was one of the most wonderful vacations we've ever had. This year, my son and I returned as a father/son trip, and it was just as extraordinary the second time.

It's a revelation to find such a pristine environment in 21st century. John and Adele are inspiring visionaries who have co-created something truly amazing. The staff is first rate and share a passion for the environment and for giving everyone there a fantastic experience. Some of the guides, such as Dave, have lived there for many generations and intimately know the area.

Highly recommended!

Dean Ornish, M.D.

Room Tip: The newer tents with bathrooms and outdoor showers are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from Long Weekend with family for a post Alaskan cruise adventure. From the moment we stepped out of the seaplane, I knew we were in a special place from the vast beauty and the warm reception of the entire staff! The accomodations, food, endless options of activities made this a memorable trip leaving each one of us (teenagers included) wanting to return soon for a longer visit. Don't be fooled by camping....the dining and "tent" accomodatoins rival any five star resort!!

Room Tip: Get an tent with bath ensuite.....the floor is heated and the outdoor private showe is a novelty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My first time 'visiting' Clayoquot Wilderness Resort was about nine years ago. I was staying at another of their properties at the time. I loved what I saw at CWR, but because I wasn't a horse person and had already slept in tents as a child, I did not think I would enjoy the experience to the fullest. Fast forward to three years ago --- my travel agent recommended CWR as a first stay on an around the world trip I was taking my 6 year old and his teacher on. She was not aware that I had visited the property already, but when she suggested it, I remembered how wonderful the people were and decided to give the experience a try. We had an amazing time and there was something for everyone to do and enjoy. Then, two years ago, I came with my brother and his wife and this year I just returned from a trip there with my niece. I just can't get enough of the CWR people and experience. From the beautiful and luxurious atmosphere with five star service, superior food preparation and service with special wine parings and an open bar with high end beverages, spa with the most relaxing massages and facials, horses, wildside adventures (including bears, whales, eagles and sea otters), rock climbing, zip-lining, fishing, kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, skeet shooting, archery activities and on and on. Pick and choose all or none and just chill by the fire with a great book or get some work done on your laptop. Yes, they do have WiFi in the wilderness. I have been to over 55+ countries around the world and stayed at many, many hotels/resorts. The only thing I regret about going to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort is leaving there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken! Everything about the resort was amazing and the staff was awesome!! The activities were well planned with excellent guides and we had the best time. It was relaxing and a true vacation. We will definitley be going back very soon!!

The Keller Family, Argyle, TX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Upon arrival a member of the welcome group dragged my backpack with my fleece on it on the floor, not caring much. Not a good start, then we were sidewashed, as if we werent there at all. Bear in mind this is an upmarket resort. Then had to 'fight' to get onto the horsecart, that made us feel very uncomfortable-a resort staff should have stepped in to sort people out. Upon arrival we were left with no choice of drinks, but one! The setting/scenery is amazing, food superb with minor mistakes (food allergy), open bar with great selection, waitresses were rather ignorant on occasions. Our table was dirty quite a few times, at one point it took us 10mins to get the attention of a waitress!That changed though when a gentleman was our waiter. Activities are well planned, a bit careless on occasions, ie. going out on the ocean fishing in complete fog(couldnt see a meter!) Guides and restaurant staff could do with a bit of training. Native staff were amazingly knowledgable and friendly.
It is a remarkable family run resort, wish they also treated it as a business and found that great balance between.

Room Tip: No room service due to bears, no pool either, no phone in tent. Try to choose a tent nearer to the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We would like to take this time to acknowledge your review and thank you for pointing out some very important mishaps that happened during your stay here with us. We sincerely apologize for any kind of unpleasant moment that you had with us and would like to extend an invitation for you to join us again here in the wilderness for our 2013 season. Please contact myself, Kathy MacRae Social Media and Marketing, directly at kathy@wildretreat.com so that we can plan a return trip for you and your partner.

We feel that you have pointed out some very useful things that we will take into our training and review with all departments to ensure that this does not happen again.

We are extremely sorry that you felt unsafe in any way on your fishing trip with us. We do find it necessary however, to let you know that all of our fishing guides are professionally trained boat captains with boats that are equipped with GPS and Radar. While we, management, were not on your boat at the time, we can assure you that you were not at risk at any point with our staff and boats. Dense fog is a common occurrence on the west coast and with that in mind; all of our fishing guides have been well trained and prepared for those marine conditions.

We thank you again for your review and look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been twice - the second time was even better than the first time - which we did not think was possible - as the first time we went we were on a world trip for a year and it was one of the best 3 places we visited - so we had to go back - expected to enjoy it but not be blown away - but again we had a brilliant time - great for all the family. All the staff team are brilliant, nice, helpful, great with kids but enjoy the various experiences with you as guides. John and Adele - the owners/hosts run a great ship and have loads of charisma thrown in as well. The kids may not let us go anywhere else again! just promise not to miss out if you have read this but i am afraid you won't be able to book when we want to go again! It is true Wilderness and up there with Galapagos and Amazon as experiences for the family.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the ensuite bathroom tent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Hotel Class:5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Clayoquot Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.