We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this World and Into the Wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayoquot Sound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clayoquot Wilderness Resort
Save Saved
You added Clayoquot Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxury In the Wilderness
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Clayoquot Sound
Hinsdale, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Out of this World and Into the Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from Long Weekend with family for a post Alaskan cruise adventure. From the moment we stepped out of the seaplane, I knew we were in a special place from the vast beauty and the warm reception of the entire staff! The accomodations, food, endless options of activities made this a memorable trip leaving each one of us (teenagers included) wanting to return soon for a longer visit. Don't be fooled by camping....the dining and "tent" accomodatoins rival any five star resort!!

Room Tip: Get an tent with bath ensuite.....the floor is heated and the outdoor private showe is a novelty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My first time 'visiting' Clayoquot Wilderness Resort was about nine years ago. I was staying at another of their properties at the time. I loved what I saw at CWR, but because I wasn't a horse person and had already slept in tents as a child, I did not think I would enjoy the experience to the fullest. Fast forward to three years ago --- my travel agent recommended CWR as a first stay on an around the world trip I was taking my 6 year old and his teacher on. She was not aware that I had visited the property already, but when she suggested it, I remembered how wonderful the people were and decided to give the experience a try. We had an amazing time and there was something for everyone to do and enjoy. Then, two years ago, I came with my brother and his wife and this year I just returned from a trip there with my niece. I just can't get enough of the CWR people and experience. From the beautiful and luxurious atmosphere with five star service, superior food preparation and service with special wine parings and an open bar with high end beverages, spa with the most relaxing massages and facials, horses, wildside adventures (including bears, whales, eagles and sea otters), rock climbing, zip-lining, fishing, kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, skeet shooting, archery activities and on and on. Pick and choose all or none and just chill by the fire with a great book or get some work done on your laptop. Yes, they do have WiFi in the wilderness. I have been to over 55+ countries around the world and stayed at many, many hotels/resorts. The only thing I regret about going to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort is leaving there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken! Everything about the resort was amazing and the staff was awesome!! The activities were well planned with excellent guides and we had the best time. It was relaxing and a true vacation. We will definitley be going back very soon!!

The Keller Family, Argyle, TX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Upon arrival a member of the welcome group dragged my backpack with my fleece on it on the floor, not caring much. Not a good start, then we were sidewashed, as if we werent there at all. Bear in mind this is an upmarket resort. Then had to 'fight' to get onto the horsecart, that made us feel very uncomfortable-a resort staff should have stepped in to sort people out. Upon arrival we were left with no choice of drinks, but one! The setting/scenery is amazing, food superb with minor mistakes (food allergy), open bar with great selection, waitresses were rather ignorant on occasions. Our table was dirty quite a few times, at one point it took us 10mins to get the attention of a waitress!That changed though when a gentleman was our waiter. Activities are well planned, a bit careless on occasions, ie. going out on the ocean fishing in complete fog(couldnt see a meter!) Guides and restaurant staff could do with a bit of training. Native staff were amazingly knowledgable and friendly.
It is a remarkable family run resort, wish they also treated it as a business and found that great balance between.

Room Tip: No room service due to bears, no pool either, no phone in tent. Try to choose a tent nearer to the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, Social Media and Marketing at Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We would like to take this time to acknowledge your review and thank you for pointing out some very important mishaps that happened during your stay here with us. We sincerely apologize for any kind of unpleasant moment that you had with us and would like to extend an invitation for you to join us again here in the wilderness for our 2013 season. Please contact myself, Kathy MacRae Social Media and Marketing, directly at kathy@wildretreat.com so that we can plan a return trip for you and your partner.

We feel that you have pointed out some very useful things that we will take into our training and review with all departments to ensure that this does not happen again.

We are extremely sorry that you felt unsafe in any way on your fishing trip with us. We do find it necessary however, to let you know that all of our fishing guides are professionally trained boat captains with boats that are equipped with GPS and Radar. While we, management, were not on your boat at the time, we can assure you that you were not at risk at any point with our staff and boats. Dense fog is a common occurrence on the west coast and with that in mind; all of our fishing guides have been well trained and prepared for those marine conditions.

We thank you again for your review and look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been twice - the second time was even better than the first time - which we did not think was possible - as the first time we went we were on a world trip for a year and it was one of the best 3 places we visited - so we had to go back - expected to enjoy it but not be blown away - but again we had a brilliant time - great for all the family. All the staff team are brilliant, nice, helpful, great with kids but enjoy the various experiences with you as guides. John and Adele - the owners/hosts run a great ship and have loads of charisma thrown in as well. The kids may not let us go anywhere else again! just promise not to miss out if you have read this but i am afraid you won't be able to book when we want to go again! It is true Wilderness and up there with Galapagos and Amazon as experiences for the family.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the ensuite bathroom tent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

While we have had the extreme good fortune to visit some extraordinary places, we walk away (well, seaplane actually) from our recent four day stay at Clayoqout Wilderness Resort believing that what John and Adele have come up with is as fine as anything we have experienced. Wilderness—you betcha! In this remote location, as promised, there where whales and bears and tents set in a temperate rain forest – we loved that. We were equally enamored by the creature comforts such as the amazing meals, comfy beds and spa services. As empty nesters, we were originally a little worried that we may have stumbled upon a resort more family oriented than we were accustomed to, but ultimately found that watching the children delight in the place added to the appeal. It was great to enter the beautiful dining hall at the end of the day and swap adventure stories with folks that had come from all around the globe. We found it truly remarkable how the place ran—from housekeeping to dining room, to the activity coordination and execution; there were no dropped balls. Truly an excellent getaway—wouldn’t change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited in June of 2009. It was an exceptional experience. The food was amazing, with top notch wine pairings and the "glamping" tent accommodations were great. The activities were well planned and incredibly fun. The packs of dogs to keep the bears at bay were a nice touch-- the kids loved it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clayoquot Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Address: PO Box 130, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
#4 Romantic Hotel in Clayoquot Sound
Hotel Class:5 star — Clayoquot Wilderness Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Safari Style Tent Camp and adventure Resort located in the Clayoquot Sound World Biosphere. Rates are all inclusive including seaplane transfers to/from the Resort and Vancouver BC, accommodations in luxury tents, gourmet meals, all beverages including bar, and all personally guided adventure activities including Bear and Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, kayaking and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Wilderness Hotel Tofino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayoquot Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.