We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelly's on Rt.66

Nelly's on Rt.66
140 Bridge St, Wilmington, IL 60481-1275
815-476-9590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Description: Nellys is the down home feel good restuarant. Sign our ceiling or write on our marker boards. Visit with locals or travelers on Rt. 66! Best darn Pulled Pork, Hand Pressed 100% Angus Burgers, Fresh Cut French Fries, and Fresh Cut Lightly Breaded Onion Rings!
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Quaint little place, full of life and pulled pork sandwich was delicious. Staff friendly and helpful. Loved it and will stop again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute deco but fair food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The sign says handcut fries...that may be true but they are awful.....under done and soggy/oily....we had Carolina pulled pork and regular pulled pork...not much difference. Onion rings too only fair....you can get a beer which you can't always have at these type of places. Interesting/fun decor. Our food didn't take too long but not a place to go if you need a quick bite. There was a huge menu so you should find something for everyone

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tick tock tick tock”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Waited 42 minutes for chicken sandwich, patty melt and salad. Ask owner 3 times if there was problem with order and received a very short snippy response they are working on it... Really 42 mins for a order that small and didn't even offer apology or coke. When finally received order no salad or hush puppies had to wait another 10 minutes. Only go there if you have a hour plus to waste for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food off the interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Jumped off the interstate and stopped here as we were passing through town. The three ladies working the counter/behind the counter were very friendly. The menu is very large and the portions quite big. The food is diner food but, to be honest, that is what we expected and that is what we were looking for. The onions rings (actually thin onion straws) were delicious and the cheese fries were awesome. I saw one employee serve a brat or hot dog to another table and it was huge. If you are near town, a great place to stop.

One side note. The board and markers were great for kids but the DVD with curse words on the TV was a bit of a turn off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best place for a burger (or reuben, or any other sandwich!) & fries in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Nelly's is never a let down. All I can say is YUM YUM YUM! I ordered the Jalapeno burger and it was definitely among the Top 10 burgers I've ever had; every component of the burger was just right. I usually order a reuben because they make the best reuben's I've ever had, but I've had my fill of corned beef this week, lol. My husband had a grilled chicken sandwich (Smothered, I think?) and was full after it was half gone but ate the rest because it was just that good. Fries are always perfect...the only downside about them is that the portion may be too big and they're difficult to stop eating! :) And maybe the extra minutes on the treadmill...always a sign of a really delicious, indulgent meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelly's on Rt.66 also viewed

 

Been to Nelly's on Rt.66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelly's on Rt.66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.