We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn - Wilmington

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn - Wilmington to your Saves list
Knights Inn - Wilmington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn - Wilmington
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24001 W. Lorenzo Rd., Wilmington, IL 60481   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wilmington
gainesville,ga
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're looking for luxury and pampering you are coming to the wrong place. We had 10 of us, got 3 rooms for a week of visiting family, fishing and going up to Chicago for about $800-$900.
Rooms were pretty clean but very basic. We got clean towels everyday.
Not a place to hang out at all day but good for a home base to shower, sleep and chill a little bit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Lights weren't working in center of room so I turned tv on to see if there was power and it caught on fire. They moved us to the adjoining room quickly and asked me to come get new keys instead of bringing it to our room. Dirty tub with spider in it. Sulfur water.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

First, the check-in desk is in the gas station right next door, with "smoking" accessories right there at the desk. Second, the room had not been thoroughly cleaned - there was leftover chicken in the refrigerator, a bar of soap in the shower, etc. Third, the exterior of the hotel is as best a mess - broken lawnmower, trash, and even a minivan with four flat tires! BTW, I have NO idea what is meant by "complimentary breakfast". Nothing offered to me!

Knights Inn should pull this hotel from the chain ASAP.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Stay away from this place!!!! Employees treat you with their a... The place is a hole... I will always close my eyes when I pass by! Terrible experience

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I will say that based on previous reviews, I booked a different hotel than this one. My colleague, whom I roomed with, booked this one in case it was better than the reviews. He was upfront about the reviews when booking the room, and was told that they are remodeling and working to change their image. From what I saw first-hand, they're doing pretty well - good enough that we switched to this hotel which was closer to where we were working. We were able to check the room out prior to taking it, and I suggest others do the same to make sure you're getting what you want.

One thing that was mentioned before is the smell of the hallway and entrance. It's still there - kind of musty, and the carpet runner is stained and could stand to be changed. But the room we had was nice - rather large with 2 queen beds. The bathroom is a little cramped, but that's not too bad. The shower was a little weak pressure-wise, but the hot water was definitely HOT! We had a small fridge sitting on a luggage bench along with a microwave, older TV (CRT), chest of drawers and an armoire (no coffee maker).

The good: Again, the rooms are sizable. At no time did we see any bugs, either. The beds, for the most part, were comfortable. Most of the other occupants of the hotel seemed to be there for the same purpose me and my colleague were there for, so it wasn't rowdy or too noisy. It's right off the highway, so finding it isn't a problem. The convenience store is open 24 hours, so if you needed to get a snack or something, you can get it at any time without having to drive someplace.

The bad: The TV has limited channels (about 20 maybe?). The WiFi is sketchy at best. I found myself having to disconnect/reconnect at times, sometimes 5 or more times just to get a solid connection, and then it might last an hour, sometimes 3 hours, sometimes 10 minutes. A couple of times we did not have an adequate amount of towels (2 people in the room and one bath towel?) nor was there a bath mat. I had to make a trip to the desk (which is located in the convenience store on the property) to have someone get me towels and a mat. And when we checked in and tried negotiating about an extended stay (30 days), it was like pulling teeth because the guy we were dealing with spoke broken English at best, and the lady we were dealing with wouldn't stay still long enough for us to talk to her and would not let us get a word in edgewise.

Also, the location is a little out of the way. Unless you want to eat at the restaurant on the property (which I never ate at myself, so I can't speak to that), you have to drive 15-30 minutes for food. Joliet is about 30 minutes away, and you'll have no problem finding something to your liking. If fast food is all you want, there's a Dairy Queen at a gas station 2 exits south, and a McDonald's at a gas station 4 exits north. At that same exit, there's a Subway that's open 24 hours. For more "sit down" type food, though, Joliet is probably the closest bet.

For the price we paid and based upon the previous reviews, my "average" certainly is warranted. Again, don't go here expecting a "Hilton" type experience, but then again, compared to previous reviews, this was an excellent stay and worth the flyer.

One thing I will say is that if given the opportunity to stay here again, I would. Those of you who had bad experiences previously might want to book this hotel and maybe another "just in case".

Room Tip: Double rooms (2 queens) are downstairs. King beds are upstairs. Both offer smoking rooms. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Bring your cleaning supplies. The staff seem helpful but had a time getting requests done. Took me three time to the desk after check in to get things lined out. The lobby wasn't attached to where the rooms were. We recleaned every surface that we could without washing the linens ourselves. We stayed two nights because we had race tickets for the weekend. They didn't make the beds or vacum and only left two towels when there were four people in the room. Breakfast was only a coupon to a neighboring diner and they only gave out one and we had two nights. I have stayed in worse but I do not need to repeat this experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We did not stay here.We did purchase a room. When entering the hall it smelled and looked neglected . Upon entering our room we decided we would check it out before bringing in our stuff. We discovered bugs (baby ones) not sure if they were roaches or what..They were all around the sealer strip on the fridge.At least 15 to 20. We looked at each other and headed for the door.When we told the person at the desk he said thats ok we will give another room . No thanks I want my money . He did give us a receipt showing it was taken off the card.

Room Tip: Check for bugs if your going to stay here. Out of 5 different motels we have stayed at this summer 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn - Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn - Wilmington

Address: 24001 W. Lorenzo Rd., Wilmington, IL 60481
Location: United States > Illinois > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn - Wilmington 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Knights Inn - Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn - Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.