We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding @ Willowbrook” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbrook Inn

Save Saved
You added Willowbrook Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willowbrook Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Kingery Hwy, I-55 at Rt. 83, Willowbrook, IL 60527 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Willowbrook
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding @ Willowbrook”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at Willowbrook Inn for a wedding. The banquet facility & service there was great. The wedding reception was just beautiful.
The hotel, however, was just ok. There were many small annoyances; for example, the water temperature was inconsistent, the exterior doors didn't always lock, there was no fan/ventilation in the bathroom, and the walls and windows were certainly not soundproof or insulated. The biggest peeve for me was that the air was very dry. I woke up both mornings with a sore throat and chapped lips.
Nonetheless, I had a comfortable place to rest my head. I've stayed in much worse hotels before--like i said before, this place is just ok. I did hear though that major renovations are on the way.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    22
    18
    21
See reviews for
12
10
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is NOT a Holiday Inn establishment.

The hotel needs a total makeover. Although there is a pool, there is no local bus service or train station. There are no local shops, just a nearby La Quinta and Dennys restaurant.

This hotel might be usefuI if you need a bed miles out of Chicago in South-West direction. Otherwise, unless you are driving down Interstate 55 I'd say - don't bother coming here.
There is nothing to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, this is NOT a Holiday Inn anymore. The desk clerk was not very pleasant when I called about a reservation due to Southwest flights being interrupted by weather and being stuck overnight. We sat outside the airport looking for a Holiday Inn van. Finally wondered why the plain white Willowbrook Inn van sitting there for so long. The driver wondered why the hotel had not called and told us he was there. The place is very run down. The hallway reeked. Seeing the doors to the laundry wide open for the entire time we were there indicated where some of the worst smell came from. The sheets were so thin and worn that I was surprised it could last a night. My room's floor may have been recently shampooed as it was damp to walk on. An associate had a room with a showerhead that was so harsh the shower was painful. Avoid this at all cost. Very worth paying more somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willowbrook hotels

Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed here one weekend a year for the past few years and have always been satisfied. Haven't had any problems and the service seems the same as other Holiday Inns. One disappointment this year is that they are no longer affiliated with Holiday Inn and so you don't get Priority Club credit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was so tired after a wedding, found a holiday inn! yes! I thought!!!!!
Needs to be renovating!
went to take a shower and the cold water was stripped!!!!! couldn't get it on for anything!
This was so aggravating as it sure would be nice after such a busy day before!
The ''security'' doors were all out of sorts, made me feel real safe - not!
I tried to call this certain person over and over with them giving me the run around! I left my name and # and she hasn't returned my call!
The curtain in the room was only the thin one - the heavy one was only about 2'' on each end. Privacy??!!
The wash cloth was dirty.
I took pic and a video of all of this.

Room Tip: go next door, for $30 more you can get a shower that works!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carate Urio, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Too old, quite bog rooms but very old fashioned, without any comfort or fancy added values, just not enough for the price they are asking for. Reception people are not very helpful, no smiles, no helps....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembine, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went to check in on 6/26/13 and was informed that the hotel was no longer affiliated with Holiday Inn. The sign says Holiday Inn, the registration cards say Holiday Inn, The sign behind the desk says Holiday Inn.... "but if you look at our shuttle bus it just says Willowbrook Inn now". Today is now July 16th and I have yet to recieve a detailed bill for the charges applied to my credit card. The general manger assured me five days ago that she would email the requested detail and apologized for the emloyee who was no longer with them. Maybe they let the wrong person go?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Inn

Address: 7800 Kingery Hwy, I-55 at Rt. 83, Willowbrook, IL 60527 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Willowbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Willowbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Willowbrook Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Speed Internet Access and Wireless Access in all guest rooms, lobby, restaurant & lounge. Conveniently located in the western suburbs of Chicago, Holiday Inn Hotel Chicago-Willowbrook/Hinsdale is accessible to all major expressways, Chicago's O'Hare International Airport and Chicago's Midway Airport (complimentary shuttle to and from Midway Airport). Neighboring the corporate communities of: Burr Ridge, Hinsdale, Oakbrook, Lemont and Woodridge, our full service hotel and conference facility provides top-level service and amenities to satisfy our business and leisure guests. All of the 220 guest room accommodations and suites have been newly renovated and have many conveniences and amenities. Willby's restaurant and lounge, outdoor pool, exercise room with a sauna and guest laundry facilites add to a very comfortable stay for our guests while attending a conference or visiting family in the greater Chicago area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Willowbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Willowbrook Hinsdale Hotel Willowbrook
Holiday Inn Willowbrook
Willowbrook Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbrook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.