We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, clean and very friendly place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shades Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shades Resort to your Saves list
Shades Resort
98A Nguyen Dien Chieu | Mui Ne, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet 620000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Ranked #2 Tripadvisor
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Ham Tien
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, clean and very friendly place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights with my partner in room two - and rite.

The staff are very friendly, whilst being relaxed and helpful when you ask questions. I had so much fun chatting away the hours by the pool with my friends and staff. Linda and Scotty are charming and warm, going above and beyond where they can.

The room was clean amd comfortable with nice touch's such as a wide DVD selection, mosquito repellent, free laundry service and our room had a computer via the TV.

The atmosphere is relaxed, but the staff are ready to help you where possible without being in your face. The perfect balance. You can see that the staff are happy to be there, a testament to Linda amd Scotty. Look out for a special new cocktail that Mr Long and I created, an espresso martini with a twist!

Linda took us on a guided tour of Mui Ne and surrounds which was fun, and helped organise spur of the moment travel for our friend stuck in Saigon, which we appreciated immensely.

We would definitely stay again, amd thank eveyone for their amaxing hospitality. We felt safe, respected and very welcome :)



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your truly wonderful email. It was a pleasure and an honour to have you ladies stay with us and was so much fun doing our cocktail training hour. We are still mastering the concept of the new Shades Long Mardini!!

So wonderful to chat to other like minded women, take care and all the best x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    29
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
183
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Shades in June. It was exactly what we needed, which was a place where we could stay put for a few days of peace and quiet. Linda and her staff took great care of us. If we return to Mui Ne, there's no question we will stay at Shades again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Charles great to hear from you!! It was fantastic meeting and spending time with you all and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Shades. We have just returned from a month in NZ so would love to hear how the world is in your 'neck of the woods'. Take care and all the best Linda x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoevring, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The heading says it all. We checked most of the other places when walking up and down the strip - and did not see a better choice.

Friendly staff, nice pool - homely and cosy.

Lovely place :-) ... and they have a beautiful little kitten!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello there and glad to see you are all home safe and sound. It was lovely meeting you and your beautiful family just as we were heading back to NZ. Thank you for your review and also just letting you know the cat 'Jerry' is alive and well. I have bought her a years supply of whiskas, worming tablests and a flea collar so hopefully she will grow to be a great asset to Shades!! thanks again Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited Shades for 10 nights in July with 2 'kids' (19 and 22 years old) and were very pleased with our choice. We booked 2 studios, but were upgraded to the penthouse apartment for the first 8 days. It had a good size double room and a single (the size of a small double). An extra bed was placed in a corner of the lounge for our son. The lounge and balconies were very roomy and the long corridor contained a kitchen area (with double door stainless steel fridge, cooking rings and a microwave oven). At the far end there was a study area with free wifi, which was fortunate as our daughter had to submit university work during our stay.
Air conditioning kept us very comfortable and there were 2 huge sony flatscreen TVs with satellite which allowed us to watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon! The bathroom was a good size with large shower and there is an additional separate toilet on the balcony outside. Free daily laundry was a lovely treat.
What made this so special was the care with which the owners and all the staff looked after their guests and accommodation. Linda and Scotty were originally from the UK but had lived in NZ most of their lives. They were very welcoming and helpful. They provided lots of useful information, took us to some of the local sights (including a football match-3 employees play for the team and Shades sponsor the team kit). They were happy for us to tag along during their weekly supermarket shop at Phan Thiet which was very useful. Our daughter has been unwell for some time and they were very adaptable to her needs.
They only provide breakfast and drinks throughout the day, but are happy to help you organise takeaways from a variety of local restaurants. Some nights we walked out to eat (Bamboo Bamboo was our favourite) and others, we dined in the cool of our room watching the tennis-it suited us very well. Breakfast was good-egg, bacon fruit, toast etc but you could order Pho Bo the evening before and the girls would fetch ingredients from the market the following morning and freshly prepare it. It was one of the better versions that we tasted on our travels. The fresh fruit juices and cocktails were delicious, and could be adapted to your personal taste.
When the owners took holiday, Mr. Phi, Dat and Long were very proactive in helping us-anticipating difficulties we may experience with transport, language etc. On a day trip, Phi suggested providing his phone number so he could interpret between us and the taxi driver.
The beach varies throughout the year,with very little in front of the hotel during our stay-we didn't mind at all as there is more sand a few minutes walk away and it is very pleasant sitting on one of the many available loungers overlooking the sea-the breeze kept us comfortable.
The only downside was when it became busier at the weekend and we couldn't swim in the pool in the day, but staff were happy for us to swim after dark (as long as you don't disturb other guests).
There was plenty to see and do in the area-we tried dune bugging, jet skiing, cookery school and basics in kite surfing. Despite our daughter having to work, everyone agreed it was one of our best holidays ever and we will certainly visit Shades again.

Room Tip: Rooms further from pool are quieter at weekend-wifi signal is stronger nearer pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi De Hi Leslie!! What can I say about your tremendous review. Thank you so much!! It was a pleasure to have had you and your family stay with us and we so enjoyed the laughs and chats over the football and tennis!! Hoping the exams went well would love to hear the results!! There will also be a place for you at Shades (Jai will just have to have a few motorbike lessons first!!)

All the best for your incredible futures Linda x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at shades for 5 nights to start off our 3 months of backpacking in Asia. We wanted a bit of luxury first and we got it. Spacious room, awesome staff who helped with tours, great breakfast cooked to order, great location - near all the restaurants and bars. Smaller hotel so was nice and quiet. Also great value for money!
We had the pool at our door and the beach a few steps further. Thanks for looking after us!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello there and thank you so much for your beautiful review. How wonderful for you to be starting a 3 month back packing excursion of South East Asia!! I am very jealous. We are glad we are able to give you a little comfort before your journey and we will still be here upon finishing if need be!! Take care Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in "Shades Appartement" in a double room for three nights in july 2013. The hotel itself is really nice and has tastefully designed rooms, a great breakfast and very polite staff members. Nevertheless we are not so much satisfied with our stay. Most of our critics are not Shades Resort's fault, but they more speak against a stay in Mui He in general.

First of all: Mui He has a big rat problem (I guess a lot of Vietnamese cities do, but in Mui He, you see them all the time). You see rats all the time, even if you are not trying to. As a consequence of this problems, we even saw one of them running around the sun chairs facing the beach in our hotel. Once again, this is not "Shades" fault (we even saw rats in the much more expensive "MIA resort" in mui ne). But maybe they should think about getting a dog or some cats to scare these unwanted guests away...

Second: As mentioned before, the "beach" in front of the hotel is not existing. You can go into the water but it's not very nice and you have to be aware of rocks. Again, not "shades" fault, but you should at least know, that you'll have to walk 15 minutes to go swimming.

Also as mentioned before, there is a smelling sewage just besides "shades" non existing beach. You can smell this only directly on the seafront, but still this was very unpleasant.

Finally we had a bad experience at our departure. The receptionist collected our passports on the arrival. The problem was, that they forgot to hand us out these passports on our departures and we forgot to ask for them! We only recognized that, when we were already at the train station! So we called the hotel and they promised to bring us the passports as soon as possible so that we still could catch the train. But in the end the driver was too late and we missed our train to hcmc. At this moment this was very annoying, but in the end the hotel cared pretty good for us. They organized a bus ticket for us and we got the money refunded, that we already spent for the train tickets.
But nevertheless this shows, that the staff is still a little bit unprofessional. Of course, we also could have thought to ask for our passports, but in my opinion its a receptionists task to give them back. The best way would have been, if the hotel would have just made a copy and then give the passports back to us just at the beginning.

Despite our problems we really enjoyed our stay. We just realized that a stay in "shades appartement" wasn't as perfect as it sounded here on TripAdvisor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I do not think your review is well suited for Shades Resort as most of your complaints were not with us but with many other aspects of Mui Ne, Vietnam you obviously did not enjoy. On reading this review I was rather dissapointed in you not relaying the full story of your passports. When you realized you had left your passports in our office which is a law in Vietnam for us to keep them at all times; our employee went to see you at the train station and not only refunded your tickets but also organized a taxi and 2 bus tickets to get you to Ho Chi Minh City. It was our managers day off and he also traveled there to make sure you were okay with the language barrier you had been experiencing. I wonder if other Establishments would have driven over half an hour to help you out and also without a thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just woken up from our final day at Shades, Mui Ne.

What a lovely place. We were warmly greeted by Phi, who on arrival upgraded our room to a sea view as some one in our room wanted to extended their stay- understandable! A great way to start!

We were shown out beautiful room (well apartment- it had a bedroom, bathroom, living/dining room and small kitchen!

We made the most of the stay 4 pay for 3 night offer.

Throughout our whole stay we were not disappointed.

Highlights:
- location, right in the middle with free pick up from bus station- no beach tho, the tide comes too high but a 5 min walk and you're there.
-staff... Non stop cleaning, always ensurin you ha everything you need
-accommodation, best we've stayed in so far, towels, linen etc changed whilst we were there.
-free water
-free laundry service
-great breakfasts
-great menus from takeaways restaurants (sinbads is the best)
- organised a bus from here to Ho Chi Minh with pick up from the hotel!

Overall a great stay, highly reccommended. Well done Phi and staff and thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B, Owner at Shades Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Laura and thank you for your perfect review. You have no idea who wonderful it is to read this review as it is obvious that our staff are as great as we think they are!! So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your Vietnam experience. All the best Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shades Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades Resort

Address: 98A Nguyen Dien Chieu | Mui Ne, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet 620000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ham Tien
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
#6 Family Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to you from Shades Resort Mui Ne, Vietnam.We are a top quality boutique resort catering to all ages young and old.If you're planning a special occasion or simply need to unwind after a hectic workweek, join us at Shades Resort. Utilize Shades as your base to see the beautiful area or just relax around the pool in the sun. With a selection of 7 self contained Apartments and 4 Studio rooms, you will feel the luxury as soon as you arrive. With seafront and/or poolside views we guarantee you that Shades will take your breath away every time you look across the Bay of Mui Ne. Within walking distance to a selection of Eastern and Western Cuisine, Mui Ne is a destination you will never forget.You are guaranteed a lounger or comfy chair around the pool, cold drinks and cocktails from the bar, great service from our beautiful staff and of course panoramic views to drink in. You will enjoy top of the range rooms with luxurious beds, marble kitchens, computer, wifi available throughout the resort, flat screen televisions with 18 international channels, a vast DVD selection and player in each room plus total privacy to just be you.We offer a fully cooked breakfast, which is enjoyed outside in the warmth of the morning glory Join us and the other guests at our evening happy hour from 5pm before heading out for the evening stroll along the strip of restaurants and night clubs or just relax and have your meals delivered to you by the pool.If you are here with your younger family, you can enjoy relaxing while keeping an eye on the children safely around the resort on the sand or in the pool.If you prefer your privacy there are plenty of areas to wind down and watch the sun set. Short and long term guests are always welcome.Ask about our group bookings for your next Golfing trip, Family Destination, Workweek Retreat or just chilling out with some friends English and Vietnamese spoken for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shades Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shades Resort Apartments Hotel Mui Ne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shades Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.