We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair hostel with some great perks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mui Ne Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mui Ne Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort
88 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fair hostel with some great perks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'll preface this with a bit of information - there are almost NO other places in Mui Ne that offer dorms. The town is simply not equipped for backpackers (yet), so Mui Ne Backpackers has a heavy burden to carry. Upon my arrival, they had no rooms available, and the owner was apologetic but clearly tired of telling people he had no rooms available. In fairness, it's not his fault I didn't book in advance. He was nice enough to let me use the wifi there, and I eventually ended up booking a night when they had room in the dorms.

The rooms have good-sized lockers (with strict but purposeful rules about where you can place your bag at any time), clean bathrooms, and decent beds. There was nothing much that really wowed me, though, until I went back to the lounge area. Overlooking the ocean, there are great sunbeds with umbrellas for your enjoyment, which ended up being ideal for reading on a lazy day. There is a pool (although who needs a pool when the ocean is 30 steps away?), and the building seems to be maintained well.

If you're a backpacker and you're stopping in Mui Ne, ...well, the name of the place says it all. I can recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    176
    54
    29
    14
See reviews for
22
152
135
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a gem of a place. What a treat to stay in airy clean rooms and listen to the waves crash at night. Very friendly staff on their game. The beach is right there!

It was exactly what I was looking for -- an affordable beach escape.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just stayed here for 3 nights in the beachside bungalow on our way north through Vietnam. This place was amazing and such a great find for us. Woke up to the sound of waves crashing just outside our front door. John and his team made us feel very comfortable and we sat down and had a drink together on our last night. Will definitely be back and will bring more people with us next time. Beach bungalow is definitely worth the extra cash. Thanks John and team. See you soon.

Stuart & Vy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by lack of places online , there are a load of really decent places to stay in mui ne. This place is clean but it's not your typical 'backpackers'. Not much of a meet and chat and hangout type of place. The guy that owns it runs it is sort of rude/gruff at times. Nice location near the beach. No real
Communal backpacker / hangout area . €10 a night for a dorm. 4% fee on credit card payments.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review despite the fact that you didn't actually stay with us. (There is no record of your email address on file). I believe that you reserved a bus ticket from the travel office at the front of our building and expected to use the facilities. As I explained to you, and I apologise if I was gruff...certainly not rude, we keep the property for our guests only, not a hang out for people who are waiting for the late night bus. We did store your luggage at no charge. I also fail to understand how you can rate rooms if you did not stay in one. This forum, unfortunately, is very easily abused by disgruntled or unethical people. As the prophet said ...
"what goes around comes around"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Family of 3 stayed for 6 nights in two Beach Front upstairs rooms.
Was exactly as described and for us brilliant.
Great location near to many restaurants and right on the beach, next door to Jibes windsurf centre which was the main reason we came to Mui Ne.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

John and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

As soon as we were shown our rooms we changed our minds about staying here. We were paying $10 each (which is expensive for Vietnam!) and the room was awful. It was tiny but they'd cramped six beds in - there wasn't even enough room to put our bags down. It was also really dirty with blood stains on our sheets, chewing gum on the beds and it smelt badly of body odour.

When we asked to have a refund so we could move elsewhere the owner at reception (John, I believe) was incredibly rude. Initially he refused to give us our money back claiming he 'doesn't give refunds' even though we'd handed over the money literally seconds before. Then he came to inspect the room and tried to tell us it was clean and 'what did we expect, it's a hostel'. We've been travelling for months and have stayed in many hostels so know exactly what to expect but when we're paying $10 each there's a certain standard that should be met. Eventually we agreed to stay but asked if they could at least spray the room with air freshener and then he suddenly turned (presumably realising he'd get a bad review if we stayed) and said actually we should just leave because we're 'killing the dorm spirit'. He made a personal attack when all we'd done was (politely!) point out that his hostel needed the attention of a cleaner. We couldn't believe our ears but took the opportunity to grab our money and go.

Do not be scared into booking this place by the lack of accommodation online. There are literally hundreds of guest houses, all much cheaper and much nicer and on the same road as Mui Ne Backpackers. Just find somewhere when you arrive!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
When you arrived at our hostel you had no intention of staying as you had found cheaper accommodation on the dry side of the road. You were rude to my staff who were only trying to be friendly and polite.The cleaning lady was absolutely offended by your rudeness. The so called blood on the sheet was a very small rust stain that develop from the laundry pegs when we hang the sheets after laundering. THE CHEWING GUM STORY IS AN ABSOLUTE OUT AND OUT LIE. The dorms are cleaned 3 times per day and are sometimes untidy from use by other travelers. I'm also terribly sorry that we are unable to police the washing habits of other dorm users. After speaking with you and realizing how difficult you would find it to enjoy our beautiful hostel it was best to let you leave. I hope you find the rest of Vietnam to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here three nights in a double poolside room, $30 a night it's mid range accommodation, the beach side rooms are more, they have dorm rooms at $8 I think. Very clean room with a fridge and very good air con. It's next door to a busy bar but the rooms have double glazed doors and windows so we slept perfectly well.
The only reason we didn't stay here any longer is the price but it was the best room we had on our month in mui ne.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnjenkinsMuine, Owner at Mui Ne Backpackers Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi James,
Thank you for your kind words. The double glazing certainly help against the noise from next door.
All the best,
John and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mui Ne Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mui Ne Backpackers Resort

Address: 88 Nguyen Dinh Chieu | Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mui Ne Backpackers was one of the first guesthouses to open in Mui Ne, back when Mui Ne was a little-known coconut grove with a few woven huts along the beach. From those early days until now, this family-run property has been one of the most popular budget alternatives to the big resorts that have popped up along the main road. Mui Ne Backpackers has long been recommended by Lonely Planet and other reliable travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Mui Ne Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mui Ne Backpackers Resort - Vietnam-Austria House Hotel Mui Ne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mui Ne Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.