We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is OK. New Year's Gala dinner a total rip-off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Mui Ne Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saigon Mui Ne Resort to your Saves list
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 - 97 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Ham Tien
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hotel is OK. New Year's Gala dinner a total rip-off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

So I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Let me break it up by sub-topic:
Beach - great beach and hotel has cabanas right on the beach. Sometimes it's difficult to swim though because of all kite-surfers out there on their boards. Lots of inexperienced people who can run you over. I am an ocean person, so it was disappointing not to be able to swim in the ocean.
Pool - small pool filled with children. Pool restaurant has good food and drinks but takes forever. Nice view of the ocean though.
Rooms - we were placed in a room across the road (there is a main road that separates main hotel property from the auxiliary one). That's where we were, it was not great. No views. Otherwise, rooms are clean.
Staff - totally rude and unaccommodating staff. We asked to help us make reservation for Mui Ne Dunes and they flat out refused. Just horrible.
Food - the hotel forced us to purchase their New Year's Gala dinner. It was $70pp. Total rip off considering that in Vietnam a dinner will run you $10 max for two people. Anyway the food was just OK and the show was just sad.
Overall find yourself another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    48
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
51
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We (my boyfriend, a friend and I) over Christmas Eve because all other hotels where fully booked. Let me tell you it was an amazing resort that I would definitely recommend for my parents but unfortunately too expensive for us students to stay there longer :(
It has a beautiful beach with a good amount of sunbeds, a nice pool and a beautiful surrounding. You feel so spoiled when coming there.
I have to say the big breakfast buffet could be better. It is big and lots of choices but not quality products. For the price it could definitely be better and also the "business center" with one working but super old and super slow computer does not cut it for a high class resort. But for the main activity of laying on the beach this one is really nice. The rooms are cosy and quiet nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We arrived late to the resort by bus from Saigon, and as there were no longer the rooms available we had booked, we were upgraded to a family room.

The resort is very high quality, the rooms are clean and very nice, and the resort has its own beach front. We liked the resort and even tested the restaurant once, which served good but expensive food.

Would definitely recommend for couples who want to spend a few nights in a beautiful well functioning resort, but not for backpackers, as there are much cheaper options available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

A nice clean hotel on a privat beach with pool, restaurant and spa. All public areas are clean and well kept in order. The room was clean and nice.

The staff, cleaning ladies, restaurant personell etc are all very nice and helpful. The receptionist are (like most in Vietnam we discovered) less nice and service minded.

The breakfast are really good, with chefs making omelettes, pancakes and crepes. Only tried to eat dinner at the restaurant once, but that was not much to brag about.

The gym is horrible! Dirty with dead cockroaches and only one cardio machine that was out of order. To play tennis, you need to buy balls and rent rackets (wich is allright) but if you want to play in the evening, you have to pay if they shall turn the lights on....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

On first arriving was very impressed with the resort and the location on the beach. Great if you want a restful weekend, that's if they put you in the right room. Was really excited on arrival until they escorted us out of the Resort, up the dark road and into another wired fenced complex away from our group of friends. Room was large but lacked certain needs ... only 1 night stand with broken light so glasses and book on the floor next to bed. Big verandah with no outdoor furniture to sit on. On busy road with noisy traffic.

Next day asked to be moved to main Resort, which they obliged. Room was fantastic but no hot water for shower. Another couple complained about the cold water and were given a flask of hot water!

Staff were very nice but lacking in service knowledge, which in some ways made it appealing. Some problems with English ... not so bad if there are no problems.

Would I recommend it ... yes and no. The resort came highly recommended by friends who had stayed there before. If given the right room then it would be a good place to stay. However, another problem for me was that it was too far from other places i.e. restraurants, bars, shops etc. This might not be a problem for people just wanting to relax and stay in the one place. I'll hit the recommend button but not interested in a second experience there myself.

Good food and fantastic pool and bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

From Dalat bused through the rambling hills to Mui Ne beach.Arrived a bit rattled at Mui Nei Resort and after checking it out was worth the bone jaring journey after all! The resort has semi-detached bunglows and is quite clean with a large jar of water outside t rooms for washing sandy feet.Located on the beach itself and was only a few feet from the room.It also has a decent sized pool and a large restaurant.Buffet breakfast was good with local favorites and western fare.
We toured the red and white sand dunes further up the coast.Sliding down the dunes was not easy but overall it was fun! Wear light clothing and bring along a hat as the sun and wind beats down on you strongly with no shady areas nearby.
The tour ends at a fishing village when the sun is setting.Here fishermen were busily tying up their boats after a day's catch.
We hire a taxi in the evening to Rainforest Restaurant where the local hill tribes have handicraft and food for sale.Most diners prefer the elfresco ambience beneath trees and cut up logs to the inside of the restaurant.A local hill tribe band entertains.Do stroll along the busy street lined with hotels of every nature and stalls selling imitation pearls to stuffted toys.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My friend and I went to Mui Ne for a business trip. We stayed at this resort for 2 nights. The room was good but a bit expensive (we paid more than 1 hundred bucks per night). However, the toilette was very nice. The room also had a balcony.

The buffet breakfast was nicely set-up but the quality of the food was OK, not so impressive. However, they had a wide selection of dessert with cakes and fruits just for breakfast.

The staff of the restaurant were not good. When we asked for lunch set menus, she opened her eyes widely, staring at us as if we were aliens. We explained 3 time the word "set menu for lunch" to her, but then we had to give up. We went outside for lunch, which was cheaper and worthwhile.

In general this resort is doing OK, not out-standing if you combine with others in Mui Ne area. However, they should lower the price a bit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saigon Mui Ne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Mui Ne Resort

Address: 56 - 97 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Mui Ne Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beach 200 km north of Ho Chi Minh City, Saigon Mui Ne Resort combines natural charm and modern facilities. This is the perfect place for travellers to escape a noisy life and enjoy nature beauty. The design of the resort is a harmonious combination between white sandy beach, green grass hills, coconut groves and bungalows making this resort poetic. Saigon Mui Ne Resort has 87 rooms in 8 different types in traditional Vietnamese style. The restaurant serves Western, Asian and seafood cuisine. For entertainment and activities, resort has meeting rooms, jacuzzi pool, tennis court, petanque court, bar, billiards, massage & beauty salon, karaoke. It has private beautiful, clean and sunny beach serving windsurfing and kite surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Saigon Mui Ne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Gon Mui Ne Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Mui Ne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.