We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Ham Tien
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

We stayed here in the last week of November, lovely resort with really friendly staff. Initial problem with room having 2 single beds but that was resolved with a room change (ensure you book a double if you want it and get it confirmed). Excellent rooms that were very clean with big fluffy robes and linen change every couple of days.Massive shower and his and hers sinks. Lovely big bed with mini bar (expensive considering there was a supermarket opposite), LCD TV . Pool lovely and beach great, only complaint was the usual, not enough sun beds on beach. You had to be there by 7:30am or you didnt get one. Breakfast was great with large seletion of everything. We didnt eat in the hotel in th evening as there were dozens of resturants a lot cheaper just outside the hotel. Great tailor and spa opposite called Roxy who was very helpfull.

  • Liked — Beach and food
  • Disliked — Distance from Saigon (5 hour drive)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    116
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
116
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This Resort is absolutely beautiful. I can't recommend it highly enough. My husband and I spent 2 nights here and wished we'd booked for longer. We definitely will be returning to the Blue Ocean Resort soon.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at Blue ocean for 2 days in July, the resort has recently remodel and up grade to 4 stars, we pay $50 US a night thank to our friend with connnection to the resort.... our bungalow facing the beach with beautiful garden surrounding, the pool was clean , dining area with view of the ocean.. breakfast was excellent , lunch and dinner we just go across the street.... red algae has inundated the beaches,algal blooms have been a yearly occurrence due to increasing pollution from what I was told...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We stayed at the Blue Ocean resort from recommendations on Trip Advisor and were still spectacularly overwhelmed.

Visiting in May 2008 the resort has recently been done up and you can tell. We stayed in an ocean view bungalow (one of only 6 in the resort) as a "treat" at the end of our 3 week trip. Paying $100 a night, this was 3-4 times our normal budget but the increase in quality was remarkable!

The beach bungalow is a hop and a skip from the beach. You can see everything from your front door. You have a patio, huge bedroom and adjoining bathroom. Through the bathroom and out of a side door is an outdoor stone bathtub/shower with small banana trees growing next to it. Its utterly idyllic. The resort was quiet (although seemed to get busy at the weekend with Vietnamese from Saigon). There was zero competition for sunloungers. The beach is spectacular and quiet. We often had the pool to ourselves. The breakfast was out of this world. A huuuuuuuuuge selection, far eclipsing any of our previous buffet hotel breakfasts. The pho was particularly outstanding.

We cannot praise this resort enough. The resort, whilst still comparatively expensive to elsewhere in Vietnam still represents incredible value fo rmoney. I can safely say this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and would happily return for weeks on end.

  • Liked — Everything. Literally.
  • Disliked — Only 2 computers for internet, one was riddled with terrifying viruses
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Our family rented the beachside suite for 5 nights and loved it. The suite has its own dipping pool (about 2m x 3m) and private sala.

The suite is actually two rooms with no connecting door. This was a bit of a problem for us as we have two children. However, "grandma" was along and they could share the room with her. I would recommend the suite for a family with older kids or two couples. (The price of two seaview rooms were about the same as the suite). Both rooms were beautifully furnished and had great bathrooms. Both had rain showers and one bathroom had a large tub as well. Flat screen tvs in both rooms. The master room had a king bed while the second room had two twins. Friends of ours stayed in the beachside rooms which were nearly identical to the second room in the suite.

The hotel has been recently renovated and there is still some work going on at the rear of the resort. However; it was not noisy or caused a problem. The website and photos are outdated and wrong. For example, they no longer have an irish pub or a swim-up bar. But, my opinion is that their resort now looks MUCH nicer than what their website currently shows. The pool was large and there were enough poolside chairs for everyone.

The restaurant was attached to the beach and made for great breakfasts or dinners. Breakfast was included and was one of the best that I've had in Asia. (While it did include the typical items like fried rice, it had pancakes, french toast, cereal and other items that appeal to my North American taste buds). The dinners were also good. My only complaint would be that the service at the restaurant was a bit slow - at least for a family with young kids. It's certainly not fast food.

The resort is located in the midst of several other popular resorts. We had friends who stayed at Sunny Beach and it took 15 minutes to walk there. Besides resorts, there were minimarts, a medical clinic (at Swiss Village), restaurants, a casino and souvenir shops nearby. Everything was very accessible.

The beach was nice and the hotel had thatched umbrellas and chairs for customer use. The mornings at Mui Ne are great for the beach as the wind is low. In the afternoon, the wind picks up and the waves get a bit choppy. While it is fine for adults, it is too strong for younger kids. A little bonus is that about 20 fishermen bring their boats to shore next to the resort. If you are an earlybird (ie 6:00am), you can walk around and see what they have caught.

I also want to compliment the managers on training their staff. Everyone seemed to be very service-oriented. English language ability was also very good.

  • Liked — great staff, great resort and excellent beach
  • Disliked — the water in the pools were on the warm side- likely due to time of the year (hot season)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We had booked a "suite" at the Full Moon Beach Resort but on arriving late in the evening we found our "suite" wasn't really one (just a regular sized room, with the bath and toilet right in the room!) and was damp and moldy smelling. So we walked down to the Blue Ocean, that we passed by on the way in and noticed.

We looked at a garden view room (which was about $80 per night) and then an oceanview bungalow (roughly $150) and went for the oceanfront room. The rooms are nice and modern, clean, and stylish. They are furnished with dark woods, beige stone floors, flat screen TVs, glass tiles in the bathroom, rain shower head and a separate outdoor room with another shower and soaking tub.

Good pool (with glass tiles on bottom), nice view from restaurant, good staff, some chairs and umbrellas on the beach.

This place is very nice, reminds me of a boutique property in Thailand or Sri Lanka. A great value all around, from room cost to food and beverage. If you want a nice place in Mui Ne, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennB1129
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

Upon arriving I was sure my friends and I had chosen the perfect place to stay for a beach vacation. It was obvious the resort had been recently renovated (still not completed) yet the service provided was great and the staff was very helpful. They seemed to still be working out the some kinks but our stay was not really effected by this. The key was not necessary for turning on the electricity which was nice so we could leave the AC on and retreat to the cool of our room especially after a long day in the sun enjoying the beautiful beach. We added a third bed to our room which made things a little cozy, but it was still quite comfortable. They provided an amazing breakfast and dining by the beach made it only that much better. There was also a fairly large pool if you were seeking some relief from the waves as well as several cabanas to relax in while retreating from the sun. Blue Ocean is located on a great part of the beach, the beach is a little windy but the mornings were pretty peaceful. There are great restaurants across the street where you can eat for about $3-4 USD. They also provided free internet in the lobby. I spent three nights here before moving to another resort in Mui Ne, The Sailing Club. Originally we had trouble finding rooms because we were traveling over the Lunar New Year, the biggest holiday in Vietnam, but even though it was a little bit of a hassle to pack back up I really enjoyed experiencing both of these resorts. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ham Tien
#5 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
#9 Family Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is a tranquil oasis for visitors from all over the world. With the friendly and family-like atmosphere, this is the place to relax, where you can enjoy a cool drink at the beach or the pool or indulge yourself into a rejuvenating massage at the Beachside Sala. Our Senses Restaurant offers a wide choice of specialties from South Vietnam as well as internationally popular dishes. The extensive beverage menu ranges from classics to exotic creations, like one of our signature cocktails "Dragonfruit Mojito". At Blue Ocean Spa, our therapists make sure you find the perfectly matched treatment for your needs & wishes: from Asian Foot Reflexology to Yoghurt & Tumeric Skin Smoother or a Coconut Milk Bath. If you are adventurous, there are several areas to explore and the Blue Ocean Family is there to assist you: lend a bike to explore Ham Tien Ward, take a walk up the sand dunes or through the fairy stream or book a day tour to Da Lat or the Mekong Delta. Or simply visit Phan Thiet and discover the local market or the old Cham Towers. Get ready for a real recreational vacation at Blue Ocean Resort in beautiful Ham Tien, Mui Ne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.