We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Ocean Resort, Phan Thiet, Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Ham Tien
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Blue Ocean Resort, Phan Thiet, Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I believe this Resort has been renamed in recent years .. when we last visited a few years ago, it was called the Mui Ni Sailing Club owned and run by an Australian couple. Everything about the Resort was delightful and easy .. almost a requirement after the four hour, fairly hair-raising drive from HCMC!! The Resort service was superb and the breakfasts, in particular, excellent. We stayed in the two beach bungalows right on the foreshore .. literally just a few steps to all swimming facilities and our favourite sun-bathing lounge chairs which were reserved and ready for us by 8am each morning .. heavenly.
Highlights for our children were the opportunity to learn how to heli-surf and for those of us who were less brave, the ocean was perfect for board riding .. my husband's first & proud experience!
We found Phan Thiet to be an unexpectedly quite remote location with Resorts dotted along the main road but each very separate from the other. We felt safe walking along the road day & night to buy from a few scattered vendors ... the Vietnamese people were charming.
We stayed for 10 days and frankly I found it difficult to leave .. one of the most relaxing holidays we have had to date and would highly recommend for those in need of "switching off".
Note: the only negative was an influx of sandflies .. July not the best season to visit ... important to purchase many tubes of Betadine cream before setting off for the seaside!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine but beach-side well appointed and slightly larger .. having said that there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
101
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a wonderful 4 days away at blue ocean for my birthday and it was pure bliss after the chaos of Saigon! We had a room looking out to the garden an ocean with a huge stone tub in the outdoor garden area. They also had a fully equipped indoor bathroom too so bugs not a problem inside. The patio area in the front of the room was lovely for reading and having a drink. We had the pho for breakfast every morning and it was brilliant. The pool area was not to busy and not too loud so perfect for relaxing! The birthday dinner that my husband arranged with the staff on the beach for my birthday was one of the highlights not only of this trip, but my whole life! Best, most romantic meal ever! The lay out of food from the seafood and meat, to salads and desserts! And the chef cooking it all fresh with marinades and sauces of your choice! We had a table set up in the sand with candles and flowers! Amazing staff looking after us and a cake and rose to say happy birthday from the hotel! We had the dinner of a lifetime! We felt really comfortable and at home here, it was relaxing and everything we could of hoped for in a birthday getaway! Good food, a lovely comfy room, clean bathroom, attentive staff, the beautiful gardens, and the chilled out atmosphere!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear “ Wish I was away today”

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad that you have such fond memories of your stay at Blue Ocean Resort. We hope to welcome you and your husband back to Mui Ne soon.

Kind regards
Kristy Marland
General Manager
Blue Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great ocean front bungalow only steps from the water. The bungalow was a good size and very comfortable. A/C worked great - which is key when it's 120F there!!!

However, there was so much black gunk from the boat engines that you couldn't really walk on the beach, and certainly not swim, in that area. Though there were great views.

Pool was superb. Breakfast was always tremendous with loads of fresh fruit, made to order omelets, and of course, pho (which I had every day!)

Walking distance of several shops and restaurants.

Definitely try Red Rock Restaurant where you cook your own dinner with a little grilled and a hot rock. Lots of fun and very fresh. Also try sliding down the red sand dunes. Just north of the resort there will be several kids near the road with "sleds" that you can rent and they will take you up the hill. A little bit of walking to get up the hill, but just think of it as your daily exercise (and exfoliation haha! Will definitely want to rinse off afterward - asap!)

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Ashley P

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Blue Ocean Resort with the Tripadvisor community. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
I am sorry that the water at the beach was not pleasant during your stay. It is not usual for the local fishing boats to be so close to the beach, which makes for amazing photographs but occasionally can cause other problems dependant on tides. I am glad though that you made the most of our tropical swimming pool and breakfast restaurant.
I hope to welcome you back to Mui Ne on your next trip to Vietnam.

Kind regards
Kristy Marland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I rather rate this resort 3 &1/2 stars, but then when it is to choose between 3 or 4 star, I prefer to be a little more picky and into details so 3 stars for this resort.

We stayed here only 1 night during our trip down to the South. When we first arrived, we were quite impressed by the location and the decoration; however, the receptionists (two ladies) were quite bad and unfriendly (not rude). We later found out that this property was ranked three star and to our eyes, it should be more than that, if you count the facility and amenities (We stayed in the family bungalow sea view, it were ok - hot water is not sufficient and one room was smaller than the other - without the bathtub and the couch). However, when it comes down to breakfast, we would definitely agree with the three star ranking. The food was cool and plain; it was limited and not tasteful at all. We ended up having bread with butter for breakfast (and that was it). Moreover, the sea was not good for swimming: the sand was sprinkled with tiny pieces of broken shell which was hurtful sometime and the tide came quite high (however, note that the day I stayed there was a little dull so the weather might be accounted for this).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Greenlotus

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Ocean Resort on the Tripadvisor website. It is thanks to feedback such as yours that we can identify areas for improvement in order to provide our guests with the best possible experience.
I am glad that overall you were pleased with the rooms and facilities available at Blue Ocean Resort, however I am most disappointed to learn that you found our reception team to be less than welcoming upon your arrival. This is definitely not in keeping with our service standards and I will work closely with the front office team to ensure they receive all necessary service training to provide our guests with a warm and friendly welcome to our resort.
In regards to the breakfast I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the selection on offer, we do provide our guests with a range of International & Vietnamese dishes both continental style & hot to try to suit our very diverse guests taste preferences, including a cooking station where eggs and Vietnamese Noodles are cooked fresh to order. I am sorry that breakfast failed to meet your expectations, but will investigate ways to improve this area in the future, especially in regards to your comments about the food temperature.
I was most surprised to read your comments regarding the shells on the beach being sharp. This is not a problem I have encountered here previously and can only assume it had to do with a higher than normal tide during your stay as Mui Ne is well known for its beautiful white sandy beaches. It is such a shame that this unusual occurrence marred your stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Blue Ocean Resort in the future.

Kind regards

Kristy Marland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall a great place. BUT.......

The family rooms do not have interconnecting doors.

We had a 5yr, 3rd and 1mth and had to bed down in 1 room despite taking the beach front 'family' villa as we didn't want them to sleep in a separate bungalow with no access to us.

The other option was one parent in each bungalow.

What a shame for such a perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Singapore-Si

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Blue Ocean Resort on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us, but regret that this was marred by the fact that you were not fully aware of the layout of our Seaview Family Bungalow’s prior to booking.
Due to the spacious layout and private outdoor facilities attached to the Seaview Family Bungalows these rooms are perfect for families with slightly older children, or where a grandparent or child care provider is travelling with the family, however I can understand your hesitation to leave such young children alone in the second room that does not have an internal connecting door. Thanks to your feedback I will work closely with our Reservations & Sales Agents to ensure the layout of these bungalows is clearer to all future guests.
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I hope to welcome you back to the Blue Ocean Resort in the future.

Kind regards
Kristy Marland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

After a long but absolutely wonderful car trip from DaLat through to Muine, we were greeted by some very enthusiastic doormen who took care of our luggage. We had arrived early but were still welcomed with a lovely cool drink and a refreshing towel. Our room wasn't ready but we were offered the use of all the resort facilities until it was. Instead, we decided to take a walk about 'town'. From all the reviews of Phan Thiet/MuiNe, we did discover that this beautiful area has been overrun with RUDE and ARROGANT Russians who have basically taken over this beautiful little area. This certainly dampened our spirits!
After some lunch at a little cafe down the road, we made our way back to the Resort and we were promptly escorted to our room.
Unlike some of the recent reviews, we found our room to be lovely and the staff were so friendly and helpful. 'Xin chao' to the gardening staff and the housekeeping girls brought us beautiful smiles. We didn't have a problem with the sunlounges on the beach because we spent our days riding our bikes [thanks Anthony] along the coastline and enjoying the people we met in the villages along the way. Met a happy chap from HCMC in the grounds of the Catholic church in MuiNe and further along we discovered the beautiful cathedral you can see from miles away. And what about the sand dunes? Fantastic. We even think that the staff were so concerned for us as we rode off on the bikes in the morning because they were certainly happy to see us when we returned safe and sound. And, the staff were very happy to give you tips for going to places that the 'tourists' don't normally go to. Such a delight! Much better than just lying on the beach all day!
Breakfast was fantastic. A great selection although we did find that when some things run out, they run out. But still, there is plenty to eat for everyone! And we definitely know that the staff loved our attempts at ordering 'hai trứng hue' [two scrambled eggs] and trà đen [black tea] and using our basic Vietnamese. After all, we are the ones who are guests in THEIR country.
Even at check-out, the girls were happy to post our postcards [we did give money for postage]. Cám ơn nhiều Anthony and all the staff at Blue Ocean.

Room Tip: The garden bungalow is not on the road side or on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Hickster122

It was with great pleasure that I read your review posted on Trip Advisor, I am so glad that our friendly team at Blue Ocean Resort made your stay such a memorable one.
As you mentioned on your post there is much more to Mui Ne than just beautiful beaches. I am glad you experienced so much of the local culture during your recent visit, and you are right the staff and locals truly appreciate foreign visitors attempting to speak Vietnamese, even if our pronunciation is not perfect.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Ocean Resort in the future.

Kind regards
Kristy Marland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The first time we tried to stay here they were fully booked so we were very pleased this time to find enough rooms for ourselves with our daughter and our friends with their daughters. It's clearly a place you have to book early with as we had the last rooms available for the dates we stayed and a lot of the guests were repeat visitors.

The rooms were nice but basic. The bathroom was quite small and rather than get a double bed as requested our room was two singles pushed together. We could live with that but the pillows…they might as well have given us concrete blocks! A request for softer pillows didn't help much but was appreciated. The shower pressure didn't impress us either. It wasn't great at the best of times and turned to just a drip at times when most people might be washing before breakfast or dinner. The free internet was also very on and off but this could have been just our room or the bad weather that weekend?

The other issue with the rooms was the mosquitoes. They were everywhere and as the staff didn't really clean the patio area outside our room, they seemed to stick around due to our pool stuff hanging to dry. We did read in the booklets in the room that the resort is treated nightly but due to the bad weather when we stayed this could have been cancelled? You seriously need to bring some mosquito repellent if you stay here.

Unfortunately during our stay a storm was passing. Not the resorts fault but we did feel that they didn't cope with it well…the lobby area was simply flooded and the staff were very slow to do anything about it. But they were very quick to ensure we had umbrellas when walking round the resort, day or night.

Near the lobby there is actually an unused kids room which we discovered behind the broken computers that were supposed to be for free internet. This helped as we couldn't go out in this weather but it would have been nice if the staff had told us it was there. With the number of families stuck by the weather, it being closed was a surprise to us.

It sounds like we didn't have a good time here but we did, just getting away from the city and chilling was enough. We just expected more and the things that weren't great seemed very simple to put right.

The pool area is great with a nice restaurant next door. The price of the food however didn't match the quality and we took to eating outside the resort when we could. In particular the Mia resort restaurant just a short walk away was fantastic.

The check-in when we arrived couldn't have gone smoother but we were disappointed that upon check-out we were accused of taking towels and bathrobes that had gone missing each time the cleaners cleaned our room. The staff even insisted we check with our nanny which was not on. They needed to be checking with their staff why each time our room was serviced we lost something?

Overall, the resort itself is nice, with well maintained grounds and a great stretch of the beach right in front but little things really made it fall short of what we expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ham Tien
#8 Family Hotel in Ham Tien
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is a tranquil oasis for visitors from all over the world. With the friendly and family-like atmosphere, this is the place to relax, where you can enjoy a cool drink at the beach or the pool or indulge yourself into a rejuvenating massage at the Beachside Sala. Our Senses Restaurant offers a wide choice of specialties from South Vietnam as well as internationally popular dishes. The extensive beverage menu ranges from classics to exotic creations, like one of our signature cocktails "Dragonfruit Mojito". At Blue Ocean Spa, our therapists make sure you find the perfectly matched treatment for your needs & wishes: from Asian Foot Reflexology to Yoghurt & Tumeric Skin Smoother or a Coconut Milk Bath. If you are adventurous, there are several areas to explore and the Blue Ocean Family is there to assist you: lend a bike to explore Ham Tien Ward, take a walk up the sand dunes or through the fairy stream or book a day tour to Da Lat or the Mekong Delta. Or simply visit Phan Thiet and discover the local market or the old Cham Towers. Get ready for a real recreational vacation at Blue Ocean Resort in beautiful Ham Tien, Mui Ne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.