We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The setting, grounds and beach is beautiful the resort and the general vibe comes across less than friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Ham Tien
Brisbane
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The setting, grounds and beach is beautiful the resort and the general vibe comes across less than friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We wanted a beach holiday and the beach here is just fantastic. Whilst we loved the pool and our room was nice and the gardens beautiful we didnt find the resort very friendly or the staff terribly interested in doing too much for you. The breakfast array was pretty good but we found the general standard of the service staff to be less than whats expected for a resort of this quality. We found the ordering of a morning coffee to be a chore each morning, and we were dealing with the food manager, we gave up after a couple of days.

Having said this the rooms are beautiful and if you looking for a resort to read a book and to relax by a beautiful beach this is a great spot. We did experience the same problem as previous reviewers in trying to find a beach lounge each day, they could probably do with another 10 lounges on the beach.

Room Tip: We had a standard room on the bottom floor which we were very happy with
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    105
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
101
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

an hotel at awesome place! First time in Vietnam and we loved everything there. however, certain things have to be 'polished' but the managements works hard and I believe they will become one of the best places in Phan Thiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

It's a long drive from Ho Chi Minh City and when we saw the neon lights along the road outside the resort our hearts dropped. Insid ethe resort though all is calm. The rooms (we had a Garden Bumgalow) are excellent and the grounds - grass and palm trees very attractive. The staff are friendly and helpful. The beach is good too - long stretch of white sand. Swimming is best in the morning as the wind gets up in the afternoon providing perfect conditions for kite surfing, which we founf fascinating to watch.

Should you want a change for the food here - which is very good - there is pleanty of choice out on the main drag, where most of the signs. menus, tec are in Russian.

We would definitely stay here again.

Do visit he small town of Mui Ne to see the fish being landed (you don't have to be up at the crack of dawn for this!).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Clival,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences and feedback on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to read your comments relating to Staff friendliness, maintenance of our Resort Grounds, the Beach front and our Food Beverage quality.

We look forward to welcoming you both back at Blue Ocean Resort in the near future.

Anthony Quin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We arrived in Mui Nei after a 5 hour white knuckle ride from Ho Chi Min. The Hotel is the best looking hotel on the road. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely large pool. We had booked a standard room which was a little too small with not enough cupboard space. The same with the Shower room (the toiletries were in a tray in the wardrobe in the bedroom!). The maid service was minimal but they were very friendly and smiling when giving us daily clean beach towels with a couple of biscuits each evening. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. We only ate a couple of times in the restaurant. They had a BBQ one night and it was chaos, they really did not have a clue and for the first time in all our years of traveling, we complained. They were very, very apologetic and only charged us for one meal and gave us a complimentary cocktail the next day. They invited us again to another BBQ the following week, saying that they had learnt from their mistakes and this time it was excellent!!! We cannot fault the staff at The Blue Ocean, they were friendly, helpful and attentive. The Vietnamese are really, really lovely people. We had no problems with finding beds on the beach but, do not know the situation around the pool.

Mui Nei itself, we would not go back to. Many of the restaurants, hotels and business are owned by Russians. The wording on the shops and restaurants were in Vietnamese and Russian and so were the menus. They should have been in Vietnamese, that was why were in Vietnam or we would have gone to Russia! The beach, although beautiful is very windy and the main sport is Kite Surfing.....all day and every day! The first few days we found it very interesting to watch and then it got on our nerves, ducking a diving in case we were hit by one as it crashed onto the beach. It was not safe in the sea either as they surfed right to the water's edge. I counted 110 kite surfers at one point and this wasn't the busiest time of the day. Also, although we sprayed our room every night before going out, sprayed ourselves and had a plug in on we were bitten by mosquitoes on an average of 3 or 4 times a night and we were there for 10 nights!!!!!

One strange thing we noticed. Although the bars and restaurants had long bar menus, the bars were empty of any bottles and they hardly had anything stated on their so called bar menus either. This happened in nearly every restaurant and bar we went to and then when we managed to order a rum & coke and whisky & 7up we ended up with a rum in a glass, coke in a glass, ice in a glass, whisky in a glass and 7up in a glass.....5 glasses. We got used to it in the end!!

We will go back to Vietnam one day, but not Mui Ne but we would definitely recommend The Blue Ocean Hotel, if you are looking for a Kite Surfing holiday.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of tut go for the larger rooms, otherwise there is not enough cupboard space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Ocean for 5 nights, after touring Cambodia & Vietnam, to end our trip in a relaxing, sunbathing way.

The room (superior) we booked via Agoda was huge and spotlessly clean, with a lovely very comfortable bed, big telly with international channels, bathrobes, coffe/tea making facilities and a very big outside lounge area. Only downside were the pillows, which felt like balloons, but this is a personal matter.

Upon arrival the frontoffice welcomes you with refreshing drinks and a cold towel. They take and keep your passports for some reason. A porter later on takes your luggage to your room and provides you with a "room tour".

Since we were very tired (and ill) from travelling, we decided to order roomservice on our first evening. Now, this turned out to be a challenge, since staffmembers, answering the phone, do not speak English very well. We ended up having a laugh about this, but it took quite a while to place the correct order and make them understand, we didn't want fried tuna, but fried camembert (doesn't sound the same to me??). Also on our last evening we made use of roomservice, but ended up being told that they were out of sushi, out of tuna and out of camembert because the delivery truck had not arrived. So choice was therefor a bit limited. The next morning, the leftovers of your foodorder, are still to be found in front of your doorstep, a bit sloppy, considering the insects around.

Blue Ocean is located right in front of a beautiful beach, which is why we choose this accomodation. However, after breakfast it turned out to be a challenge to find a sunlounger every day! There were not enough sunloungers to accomodate all guests staying at the resort, meaning, we had to wait until after 12:30, when people were leaving their sunbeds, to be able to get a sunbed and enjoy the cool seabreeze. This was at the pool, since the sunbeds facing the sea were impossible to get, until after 16.00 o'clock. For us, this was a very dissapointing experience. We ran into the manager, Anthony Quin, who was absolutely helpful and felt sorry for us. He even went so far as to put his own t-shirt and clean towels on 2 sunbeds at the beach for us, on our last day!! Something we really appreciated. He also left a bottle of red in our room (for which we felt embarrassed, since he could not prevent guests from reserving sunloungers using their towels..). However, I do believe, they should order more sunloungers to provide one for each guest staying at a beach hotel.

Breakfast was very varied, with a broad selection of eastern and western food. Unfortunately out of the 8 different sorts of bread provided, about 7 seemed to have some sort of coconutcream added to it, making all breads taste sweet instead of savoury. Also, breakfast is served until 10:00, meaning, you need to arrive around 09:40 at the latest, since they clean the whole place up promptly at 10:00 o'clock. Later we discovered they also offer French croissants and chocolate croissants, but you need to arrive early to have some.

What else can I say...well, the thing we noticed most is the frontoffice employees are used to being serviceminded, while most male staff at the restaurant were either not smiling at all, or just ignored you when you wanted to order a late afternoon pre dinner drink (you had to go and find them to order drinks after 17.00 o'clock). Also they do not provide drinks at the beach or around the pool, you have to get those yourself if you want a refreshment.

All in all, a worthile place to spend some relaxing days, but they really should improve their service level in the food&beverage department. Plus order more sunbeds.

I hope mister Quin is able to manage this challenge and wish him goodluck and all the best in doing so!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

After spending time in Ho Chi Min, it was well worth the four and a half hours drive to the Blue Ocean resort.
It's a very quiet and tranquil resort situated right on the beech about 12km from the town of Phan Thiet.
We had a garden view bungalow which was very well appointed overlooking both the pool area and the beech, which was faultless.
The breakfast which is served in the open air restaurant overlooking the beech was superb, there are lots of good and cheap restaurants nearby and in the four days we stayed there we didn't go too far at all.
Most people spend the days by the pool or on the beech and there are just about enough sun loungers for everybody, but unfortunately our friends from Germany get up very early in the morning to ensure that they get the best ones!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

the resort is located at ther beach front between the village of Mui Ne and Phan Thiet, there are several Hotels on this 10 km beach, Hotels are on the sea side of the road and restaurants on the land side mainly. The Blue Ocean is really lovely and has nice room with wooden floors and nice real wooden furniture, and giant bathroom, breakfast is according to international 5* standards and the waiters are well trained and experienced, when you get used to the vietnamese pronounciation (e.g. tr=tsch) they even can speak english. Pool and white sand beach (dominated by the kite-surfers) are butiful. the village of mui ne is nothing to see.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ham Tien
#8 Family Hotel in Ham Tien
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is a tranquil oasis for visitors from all over the world. With the friendly and family-like atmosphere, this is the place to relax, where you can enjoy a cool drink at the beach or the pool or indulge yourself into a rejuvenating massage at the Beachside Sala. Our Senses Restaurant offers a wide choice of specialties from South Vietnam as well as internationally popular dishes. The extensive beverage menu ranges from classics to exotic creations, like one of our signature cocktails "Dragonfruit Mojito". At Blue Ocean Spa, our therapists make sure you find the perfectly matched treatment for your needs & wishes: from Asian Foot Reflexology to Yoghurt & Tumeric Skin Smoother or a Coconut Milk Bath. If you are adventurous, there are several areas to explore and the Blue Ocean Family is there to assist you: lend a bike to explore Ham Tien Ward, take a walk up the sand dunes or through the fairy stream or book a day tour to Da Lat or the Mekong Delta. Or simply visit Phan Thiet and discover the local market or the old Cham Towers. Get ready for a real recreational vacation at Blue Ocean Resort in beautiful Ham Tien, Mui Ne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.