We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mei Ne hidden gem in Vietnam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien | Phan Thiet City, Binh Thuan Province, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Ham Tien
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Mei Ne hidden gem in Vietnam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We found MeiNe on the map, we didn't know anyone who had been there, thought we were going someone no one else had been!
Bamboo Village was a lovely pleasant surprise, we had been in Vietnam for approx 2 weeks already and this was the last stop before HoChi Minh, we had had terrible accommodation and some great through trip so to get to Bamboo and have a lovely bungalow right on the beach, our view was straight out the little gate, clean with a couple of pools and lovely gardens it was a relief to say the least.
Stayed 6 nights well worth it. We only had breakfast each morning at the resort restaurant and it was totally adequate lots fresh food and I could get my fresh cooked pancakes with maple syrup so all good.
The restaurants up at the street were a bit hit and miss, the Tandori place was good and another one which was supposed to be high end Forest Restaurant was totally average I think we struck a bad night or something, expensive and wasn't that good compared to other fantastic meals in Vietnam.
We tryed a local restaurant right down the end of MeiNe towards Phien Thiet with some people we had met in Halong Bay who we bumped into again and that was funny and well worth it, no one spoke English so you just had to hope for the best, pick your fresh fish swimming around, choose how it was cooked and eat.
I had a spa treatment at Bamboo and they didn't speak English not even a small amount which was a little frustrating but hey it really didn't matter point to what you want and they do it.
The Russians, there are certainly alot of them and they are sunlounger hoggers, we just threw their towels over the back and sat anyway if we saw that one was vacant for hours, we tryed the get out early and do the same but that didn't work they get up Really Early!
The beach have to agree with other comments, it wasn't that clean but compared to other places in Vietnam it was ok, some stingers in the water (jellyfish) unfortunately which put us off.
Didn't mind that it was windy (warm) and interesting to watch the Kite Surfers anyway,
So in all we thought a great place to stay for a relaxing time and would definately visit again. Don't expect to sleep in though its too hot and the birds in the roof start around 6am!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    87
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
69
157
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Beachfront bungalow was amazing, the location of 4m to the sand was worth every dollar. The service was good but could have been better, wifi didn't work and did not get fixed the whole time we stayed, fridge was not turned on when we arrived and shower head was broken. Other than these minor issues breakfast was very nice and good location to everything else. Spa very good, the massage was worth the $20 we spent. Absolutely loved mui ne and next time will stay for much longer!! Go to Sankara if you want an amazing place to drink on the beach!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We doubted if we would stay in this resort as it was not in our budget but we did it anyway and, wow, it was gorgeous. We stayed here for three nights in the most simple (cheapest) room. It was a nice and large room, we missed a balcony but there was a seat outside our room. The resort is directly at the beach where there are enough beds and a security person, keeping away pushing sellers. The seawater is nice and warm but around lunchtime the sea is taken over by kite-surfers. As these surfer boys like to surf where swimmers want to swim and children want to play it isn’t safe to get in the sea in the afternoon, which I found to be a disappointment. Fortunately the resort has two pools so you can move there if you’d like to swim. The boulevard to Mui Ne with hotels and resorts is very long, it goes one for many kilometers. Luckily this resort is situated at the nicest spot, in the middle of bars and restaurants. The sand dunes, fairy spring and village is a bit far but you can take a taxi our motorcycle, we rented a bicycle but I wouldn’t recommend that as it’s too hot. After all these nice thing, we need to mention a minor: we had a meeting with a cockroach in the morning. It escaped under the bed. Fortunately it was just before check-out, otherwise I wouldn’t slept as well anymore. We booked a bus ride to Ho Chi Minh at the hotel, the bus wasn’t that well, we had little space. I suggest to book bus rides elsewhere, there are numerous of booking offices around. We I recommend this hotel? Definitely!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I'd like to mention that those part of Mui Ne, where Bamboo locate, is Russian. By which i mean it is more expensive then other. And you should try to wrangle about everything! We spent only 54$ for deluxe room whereas start price was 128$ per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I travelled up to Mui Ne after a couple of hectic weeks in HCMC. I stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room with everything a short treelined walk away. The staff here are very helpful but not friendly. Or maybe just different because this place is a bit upmarket.

Anyway the weather was great even though it is the low season and I found myself sharing the whole place with not that many other people. The pools were immaculate, the shower AMAZING and the breakfasts were fantastic! The best sticky rice I have eaten anywhere, the complimentary water every day was a nice touch too.

It was really easy to organise day trips to the nearby sand dunes, fairy stream (shallow stream you walk in past red sandstone to a waterfall) and fishing villages. You can book trips further afield to Da Lat and Nha Trang as well. But all of this you can do al,ong the same road and probably for a fraction of the price at an internet cafe.

It was a lovely place to stay but for the ££££ and what that is worth in Vietnam it was nowhere near good enough value for money. It was also a little annoying that the lady from the resort's spa was very insistent about me needing a 2 hr spa and massage treatment for USD$69. Good on her for trying but only the very naiive would pay that much! there are so many places on the main rd that offer the same services for less than half that.

Nice place but not as fancy as I expected for the amount of money you pay. It would be nice for a family with young kids or maybe a honeymoon but only if you are minted.

The location is close to some good restaurants. shops and places to

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

After spending 4 days in HCMC we travelled by private car to MuiNe and stayed at Bamboo Village Resort and Spa. I would highly recommend this Resort. The gardens and pools are beautiful and well kept. The restaurant is beside one of the pools and is alfresco style. Great breaky and definitely recommend the BBQ banquet night. Lots of restaurants along the main road and little cafes on the beach cheap cheap. I found the shopping here to be cheaper then HCMC. Although there are no markets the shops have great prices especially on hamocks, homewares and you can't go home without buying a boxed set of chop sticks.

MuiNe is for people who just want to kick back and laze around the pool or beach all day. I have teenage kids and they started to
get a bit bored with MuiNe. They much preferred Nha Trang (which was our next stop). The only negative about MuiNe is that the beach was very dirty when we were there. Lots of plastic bags floating in the water but maybe that was because of the tides at the time, although we were there for 5 days and it was the same every day (I'm trying to put a possitive spin on things).

Would go back to MuiNe and would stay again at Bamboo Village but only as an overnight stay on my way to Nha Trang and further up the Vietnamese coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 38 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien | Phan Thiet City, Binh Thuan Province, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ham Tien
#2 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
#4 Family Hotel in Ham Tien
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the first resorts in the well-known resort capital of Vietnam - Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, since its founding in 1996, the Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa has been proved and officially proclaimed as a leading resort in Binh Thuan's tourism sector, and has been showered with prestigious awards with the recent most prominent award for Top Ten 4-star hotel of Vietnam in 2010,2011,201,2013. Nestled in lush tropical gardens right in the heart of Muine beach, just a few hours' drive from Ho Chi Minh, Bamboo Village provides travelers from all corners of the world a gateway to the beautiful beach and white sand that wash away daily hustle and bustle, lush landscape that exemplifies the nature, smiling staff that caters to every need, delicious food of diversified cuisines that satisfies any taste buds, a Spa center that can ease any worries and tiredness away, and a sustainable operation that runs with environment in mind. With a well-equipped Yoga studio in Mui Ne looking out to a beautifully landscaped Zen garden, an ideal place for perfect meditation, Bamboo Village hopes to make its guests' stay more entertaining and enjoyable, meeting special need of the health-focused travellers, literally proclaiming its Top Ten leading resort position in the tourism industry of the county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Village Beach Resort And Spa
Bamboo Village Beach Hotel Phan Thiet
Hotel Bamboo Village Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.