We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novela Muine Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novela Muine Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Novela Muine Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   96A Nguyen Dinh Chieu St, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Ham Tien
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this resort for a week in October 2010. We celebrated our first wedding anniversary here. The staff were very friendl,y and on the day of our anniversary organised fruit, drinks and a cake, This was a very nice touch. The hotel was right on the beach and was close to local resturaunts. When we stayed there, there were only 6 guests in the whole hotel, but the staff were still friendly and attentive.

We had booked a room with a sea view. On arrival we realised we had a room with sea glimpses and no balcony. I advised reception that we had booked a room with sea views and they advised if we wanted full sea views we would have to upgrade to another room at $30 extra a night. As it was our anniversary we decided to upgrade. I would have thought seeing that the hotel was nearly empty, and we were staying for 5 nights that they would have upgraded for a lesser rate than their going rate. When I asked to pay by Credit Card, they advised their machine was down. 5 days later when we checked out it was till down. I had to chase some cash to pay my account. I felt that this was not good seeing it was an international hotel and did not have Credit Card facilities for 5 days.

We enjoyed our stay and the staff were very friendly. I would probaly not stay at this resort again as having to add the upgrade cost to my accommodation bill made this hotel expensive. There are far better deals for $105 (the price we paid with the upgrade) a night in Mui Ne.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed for nearly a week in a deluxe ocean view suite, lovely room although on the ground floor and we did have an issue with mosquitos, which in the end we asked for a can of spray to fend them off.The most disappointing feature of this hotel for us was the lack of internet wifi, we complained every day and never really saw any improvement. They just couldn't seem to grasp the issue. My husband and I needed to do some work and we deperately needed reliable connection - something we didn't get.

The place seemed like it had just been taken over and staff didn't really seem to know how to deal with tourists or indeed simple customer service related questions. There were lots of staff, but most of them were not interested or using the free hotel computers for video games to care.

The hotel has potential, but it will take a lot of training and customer service tips to make it anywhere near the star rating or price bracket they are looking to be in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We booked a deluxe room through Agoda and it wasn't too expensive but it's off-peak season after all. When we got there, communication with the front desk were slightly difficult as usual in Vietnam. There were some mix-ups in the Agoda arrangement where the credit card information did not match so we had to provide the credit card we used for our booking while they sort things out with Agoda. Meanwhile, we were shown to a room 2 doors down from the reception which turns out to be a deluxe suite!! So we were given an upgrade. Can't remember the room number now.

The location of the hotel is somewhat far down the strip. A nice walk on the beach will bring you down to where the tourist shops are and you can always hop on the taxis that are always around on the main road. Beware of the 'motor taxi' guys who will not stop pestering you though. You can tell them a hundred times no and they will still be tailing you on the road.

Firstly the room was huge and the shower area huge as well! But bear in mind we were upgraded to the deluxe suite so I have no idea how the normal rooms would look like. The only downside was instead of a double bed, the suite had two twin beds which they joined up for us to make one big bed. We were ok with that. What's cooler about the room is that the balcony led to the beach!

We were unlucky that when we were there to use the pool, there were some vietnamese families there who clearly wasn't the more educated ones. One even allowed the daughter to pee into the vents beside the pool where water gets circulated in full view of all the guests. I climbed out immediately.

The room service food wasn't fantastic but breakfast provided was sufficient. Overall the hotel is good enough for a relaxing holiday, nothing too fancy but serves it purpose.

A couple of minutes walk up the strip towards the right side of the beach if you come out from the hotel facing the sea is a Bar/Restaurant named Sankara. The food there was good and it seemed like a happening partying place at night too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The first room we were allocated was below average 2/5 – it was in the ‘old block’. It was generally ‘shabby’ and the bathroom had a terrible smell! The room also had a 1980s electric shower. The room was plenty big enough with 2 large double beds, but it was very dark. This room was labelled ‘Deluxe’ which was a considerable exaggeration!

After one night we paid to upgrade to a better room. We were moved into the ‘new block’ and it was like staying at a different hotel. It was clean, the bathroom was modern. The room was bright with a balcony.... A really nice place! 5/5.

The public areas were good. The pool was nice, too busy at the weekend but during the week very peaceful. The restaurant / bar was ok (However after 11pm you can only order beer????) Breakfast was below average.

Overall I wouldn’t stay again – I think you can do better for the same price (bearing in mind the cost of an upgrade)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

fab hotel with a great pool...staff were ok but not the best... located in a very good area,rooms prices vary, but defo go back for a longer stay..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham,UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

this hotel was booked for us by a travel operator and turned out to be the ideal end to a great trip. a mate and i stay in a room that unfortunately didn't have a seaview, but was still excellent, with a nice balcony that overlooked the main road, but was quiet enough to sleep in adequately. the restaurant is good, the pool is good, the beach, unfortunately, given the time of year and the tidal pattern was non-existent, but this seemed to be the case for most of the hotels, and there were sunloungers that overlooked the sea. the highlight was certainly the friendliness of the staff. as guests we were invited to the new year festival of tet staff party which was great fun. the owner and his wife were incredibly friendly, and the new MD was really welcoming, and overall it was an excellent night. the hotel has a lot of potential and the new MD has great plans to improve it even further. location-wise it felt pretty central and we could easily walk to all the good bars. if you're backpacking and fancy spending the last few days spending a bit more than a hostel but not too much, you'll get excellent value-for-money here (unless they change the prices of course!). that's not to say that it's not got a quality feel to it, it definitely warrants the 4* label. without wishing to sound like a salesman i would whole-heartedly recommend it.
have a great trip!
of note the restaurant two doors down with a windmill in front of it (i can't remember the exact name!) serves AMAZING seafood and frankly I haven't been able to look at seafood since i've been back as i know it just wouldn't compare!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I stayed here over Christmas and thought the hotel was fully booked it did not feel crowded at all. Great location right on the beach, literally a step or two away. Rooms in the older wing are fine, even if a little small but were pretty good value. I would definitely recommend spending a little bit more and going for the the ocean facing rooms. Felt like 5* but at about half the cost.

As with many hotels in Vietnam, service is pleasant rather than efficient. The menu was a bit limited with mainly VN dishes - could do with some greater variety. But did the xmas buffet which was all you can eat/ drink and very good. Mui Ne has massive range of restaurants anyway from Indian to Russian all within an easy walk or 5 minute taxi ride so its not such a biggy.

All in all, I am definitley planning on returning here next time I am back in Mui Ne.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novela Muine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novela Muine Resort & Spa

Address: 96A Nguyen Dinh Chieu St, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Novela Muine Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Novela Muine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novela Muine Hotel Mui Ne
Novela Muine Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novela Muine Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.