We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort on Mui Ne strip!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12A Nguyen Dinh Chieu Ham Tien | Phan Thiet Binh Thuan, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet 84, Vietnam (Formerly L'Anmien Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance purchase
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Ham Tien
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best resort on Mui Ne strip!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Anantara 3 times since it first opened. And everytime we were there, the staff is extremely hospitable, kind and willing to accommodate. They always make sure all our need are sorted and deal with in such an efficient timing. Nothing was too much trouble.

As a well travelled person, I have been lucky enough to stay in the most prestigious 4* and 5* around Europe and Asia, also a regular visitor to Mui Ne area, I got to say Anantara Mui Ne is no doubt the best. The lay out, the ground, structure, the food......but the staff is what raise this resort above. My favourite room category so far is ocean view. Room is spacious, comfy bed with daybed beside the window. Huge bathroom with separate shower and a massive bathtub for two. And double sink!!!!!! ( I find it very important)

The breakfast spread is a delight. Full English breakfast, continental and ofcouse Vietnamese healthy and favourite selection. The Thung restaurant by the pool is easy going stuff. Basic but tasty and not too expensive in my point of view. The main restaurant menu is Good. But after a few day you start to get bored. I suggest the kitchen need to create daily special. That will keep people stay in the resort and dine in the restaurant. Because to be honest, you can get cheaper food outside resort ( load of place) but wouldn't be the same standard. Also when we were there, Alan was the head chef. His creation and skill are marvellous. He often come out and chat with all the guest to see if their expectations are meet, have a laugh and wish to see us next meal.

I read a few review on Tripadvisor and see that people given out how quiet the resort at night. But that Anantara is all about: serene quietness/ relax ambience. And yet, They need to stock up the bar a bit more.

The main pool is a wonderful location in the middle of the resort toward the beach. The children hav their own swimming pool and there are plenty sun lounge around. The beach was nice, ( sweep every morning). My daughter enjoy to swim in the pool and the beach so much so that she didn't want to do anything else for the whole trip.

The spa is excellent. Even though the price a little stiff for Mui Ne area. My therapist was so good and she did such an amazing job. We didn't try the gym facility so can't comment on that.

You can do load of thing while you are there. Visit the local attractions such at: red sand dunnes, Ta Cu mountain, pink stream.....or the main town Phan thiet only about 20 mins away. Bus service and taxi available. Also, kite suffing, kayak....night life entertainment outside and along the resort not to bad either. So I'm sure whether you travel alone or with family, no one will get bored.

There so much more to say but to sum it all up, the resort was exactly what we wanted and had hope for more. Welldone to the manager and the Anantara Mui Ne team for the service they provide. We would definitely return as our summer vacation is booked and Anantara Mui Ne is the 1st stop of our journey.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    102
    30
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
210
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Made a non-refundable reservation via hotels.com, but had to cancel due to personal reasons and the management, GM Mark Eletr and RM Nguyen Thuy Trang, helped out perfectly. Instead of short term profit they focused on long term client relationship.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The resort is doing some things really well and some things really badly.
We booked a Deluxe Room on a package which included a complimentary upgrade on arrival subject to availability, when we arrived there was no mention of the upgrade so I assumed there was no availability but it would have been nice for them to clarify. A few people mention tea and neck massage on arrival - we got the tea but no neck massage.
The rooms are gorgeous, the bathrooms are fantastic and huge - its all stone and very tropical. I loved the room. The balcony was also massive but all the rooms face into each other so although you are overlooking the garden you are looking across straight into peoples rooms. Sound proofing is also a bit of an issue, it can be quite noisy and you can sometimes hear the beeping of cars from the road.
The nightly turn down service was delightful, they would leave stories or rose petals in the bath - it was a lovely touch.
The pool was lovely and Van and Huen who work at the pool were great and spoke good English which was a relief because communicating with most of the staff was extremely difficult, especially at breakfast. I appreciate when in a foreign country you need to be aware of communication but when I'm paying top $$$ at a 5* resort I at expect to be able to communicate with the staff in English on a very basic level.
The beach was very disappointing, the water was brown and we never bothered to even attempt to swim in it. But the pool is great and good cocktails so we just hung by the pool. As we were there at peak time you had to get up early (around 7am) and go and put something down on the sunbeds that you wanted otherwise you would never have got one. There is a mention that you can't do this in the hotel information but nobody seems to take any notice so if you want a sun lounge when its busy its every man for themselves!
We didn't like the town at all, the entire place is catering to the Russian tourists (it felt like at 99% of the tourists were Russian, in the town and in the hotel), we joked and changed the name from Mui Ne to Mini Moscow.
Overall the whole experience was quite disappointing and we actually ended up leaving 3 days early because the resort wasn't everything we had hoped and the town was quite awful. Due to the hotel's cancellation policy we had to forfeit 100% of our remaining nights so if you are going to stay for a period of time you need to be confident you are going to love it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Anantara-Mui-Ne, General Manager at Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Terri S

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we are concerned that you left early we understand that sometimes destinations are not as expected. Mui Ne is an eclectic and very diverse location but I would not say that our Russian guests are in any way a criticism of the destination. This is a rather unfair generalisation of our hotel and Mui Ne which caters to a very mixed demographic from all over the world and this only adds to the flavour.

We are encouraged that most of your positive comments relate to the hotel and its staff and we want you to know that your feedback is taken constructively.

Thank you and best regards for your future travels

Mark Eletr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We had booked 9 nights in a beach front pool villa. Upon arrival were we're shown to our villa which was really lovely, the pool is a good size and the front lawn area is large and over looks the beach. The villa it self was nice however wardrobe area quite small and dark. We had a few minor issues on arrival which we alerted the Guest Relations Manager who rectified these quickly.
My husband was unwell whilst we were here so we only ate once at the restaurant Thung, the menu was limited but food was nice. For the remainder of our time we had room service (I should say I had room service and my husband had congee). The room service menu is also very limited.
Due to my husbands illness we only stayed 4 nights before returning home.
Ms Hong (Guest Relations Manager) organised congee and ginger tea to be sent to our villa. She was extremely helpful in helping organise return flights for us and also helping us to change our transport back to HCMC.
We were sorry to leave under these circumstances as the hotel staff had decorated our bedroom on the day of our anniversary which was a lovely touch.
Many thanks to Ms Hong for all her help.
We hope to return in the future.

Sue

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Currently at the bar at the hotel for our last night.

Overall it has been a fantastic stay for the last 7 nights. Earlier comments about the lack of variety on the menus are true, however there are plenty of good value local restaurants within walking distance.

We stayed in a pool villa and this was outstanding, again comments about lack of storage & lighting are valid.

On a very big plus side the service is outstanding. Our original room had a pool that was in the shade all day, one visit to reception & we were moved without any issues. In my experience the staff were very attentive, polite and genuinely seemed that your every happiness was their goal.

I would recommend this to friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Anantara is arguably the best resort on the Mui Ne beach strip. However, I'm not quite sure it lives up to its 5 star rating.

The customer service ranges from fair to excellent. We got off to a rocky start with a our pre-booked transfer from the train station not turning up, followed by miscommunication about the charge for this - the manager told us she would credit US$100 for the inconvenience for us to spend at the resort, however, upon checkout we were told this actually referred to pre-authorisation of my credit card to that amount. Hmmmm. The staff acted as if they were doing us a favour by not charging us US$80 for the pre-booked transfer - which didn't show up!

Our deluxe room was very nice. The slate-covered bathroom with his-and-hers sinks was spacious, bed was very comfortable, and our balcony offered nice views of the lush garden.

The little touches set this place apart from others: neck massage and tea during check-in, complimentary Vietnamese coffee and fruit around the pool, lots of bottled water in rooms, and nightly turn-down room service with bite-sized desserts (although this seemed to cause an ant problem in our room).

In my mind, Anantara is missing two main things that would really provide the 'wow' factor expected of 5 star properties.

First, the food isn't great. There's a lack of variety on the menus (especially for vegetarians or people with dietary requirements). The food is of good quality, but it's quite expensive for what it is. Neighbouring resorts' menus offer many more options at fairer prices. The breakfast buffet was very good, although some of the hot items seemed to have been in the Bain Marie for too long and were stale or soggy.

Second, the resort lacks atmosphere. Maybe this is different during the high season...? In the evenings the bars and restaurants are basically deserted, yet happy hour is rather bizarrely held between 11am and lunch time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

we spent 10 days at the anantara over new year, and had a great holiday. There is a lot to like about the resort - the setting is beautiful, the location great, the rooms nice, the bathrooms fantastic, and the breakfast buffet very good (the baked goods are amazing). However, the service was patchy (the front desk was delightful, the pool staff grumpy and rude), the rooms did not have sufficient storage and were very dark - as were the grounds at night, dangerously so. The food by the pool was pretty ordinary and very expensive (except for the hot chips which were great, but still expensive!). Happy hour is at the bizarre time of 11am, and the pool bar is deserted in the afternoon, so it lacks some atmosphere. Every night there was live entertainment in the restaurant, often playing to a crowd of zero, which made the whole thing feel a bit sad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa

Address: 12A Nguyen Dinh Chieu Ham Tien | Phan Thiet Binh Thuan, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet 84, Vietnam (Formerly L'Anmien Beach Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ham Tien
#2 Family Hotel in Ham Tien
#2 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ham Tien
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Mui Ne’s pristinely sweeping beach, Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa is an oasis of elegance and comfort offering a unique and unforgettable way to experience the southern coast of Vietnam. Mornings spent by the sea. Afternoon hikes through nearby sand dunes. A soothing spa treatment before starlit evening drinks on the beach.Expertly blending Vietnamese tradition and legendary Anantara service, Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa offers a tropical retreat, worlds away from Vietnam’s urban bustle. Take in the splendour of the sunset from the pool deck. Sample fine international dining and mouth-watering cuisine at our restaurants, some of the best Mui Ne resorts have to offer. Wander down garden paths to your own private villa. A cherished holiday within a setting to remember forever in our exceptional Vietnam hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Mui Ne Resort And Spa
Anantara Mui Ne Hotel Mui Ne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Mui Ne Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.