We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool & beach, nice staff, good rooms, but no atmosphere unless you are Russian!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   12 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Hamtien, Muine, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Ham Tien
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great pool & beach, nice staff, good rooms, but no atmosphere unless you are Russian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had booked into the Grace Resort months ago but there was a problem and our reservation didn't eventuate. Our Vietnamese agent did well to find us a last minute alternative at the Sea Lion resort, although not at all a boutique hotel as the Sea Lion has 235 rooms. The two pool areas are great, with pool bar and snacks and lovely staff. The majority of guests seems to be dour Russians who add little to the holiday atmosphere. The rooms were spacious, clean and quite well-appointed, the food OK, and the cocktails excellent and great value.
All in all, a great location on the beach as long as you don't mind being out of town - a plus after the bustle of Saigon for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

The beach is great. The sun seems to shine everyday and it makes it all worth it. Moreover the staff at the resort are so nice, honest and so eager to help out. The staff work so hard to keep the resort clean and proper.

I have read a few of the reviews here and I must say that this resort gives you so much value for money your head spins. It is a bargain! And it includes very kind and serviceminded staff that are really willing to help out. It is a four star resort and they provide so much more than requires for a fourstar level. You get what you pay for and a bit more at the Sealion resort.

We ate at the resort and the foodprices are a steal, a bargain. Not very good though in comparison to "real" vietnamese food. But we went almost everyday to Phan Thiet hunting for Bun Bo and other delicacies. We got the nicest and kindest taxidrivers everytime. We used the laundry service, also a bargain, efficient. Roomservice was no fuss but took a bit long to arrive. The breakfast buffet was vast considering the price of the room.

Everything at this resort is a bargain, the staff is lovely and serviceminded.

The downsides are the guests. Every sign and menu in Mui Ne is written i cyrillic letters. Resortguests hogging around the buffet like they never seen food before or thinks that a famine soon will arrive. Guests screaming in an abusive way and jerking around the nice vietnamese staff. Guests being angry because of the pricing of services. It was astonishing considering the all over cheap prices at the resort and Mui Ne. Sex tourists also (majorily) takes the fun away.These are severe downsides that we never encountered before but this is our first time at a fourstar resort.

If you are used to fivestar resorts you´d probably want to stay there in my opinion.

We will not go back to the Sealion resort or Mui Ne again because of the tourists coming there. It is a pitty that Mui Ne seems so abused, and overly exploited.

We had a nice time thanks to the helpful and kind staff at the Sealion resort!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

No doubt you (like we) do your research about a place to avoid relying only on a resort's own photos & info. We did before going to SLResort and still we ended up badly surprised:
- Lighting in the rooms (Premium Family Beachfront) so dim you can't read unless it's daytime
- No "wifi throughout whole resort" as appears in their literature. In reception lobby yes but not in the room.
- Breakfast 2 star at best (poor taste, variety, presentation). Good for those hoping to lose a few pounds during their trip. Felt like it was merely just to feed you. Fine for a hostel but not for nearly 200/night.
- No dresser/bureau in room to place clothing. Only a closet with hangers and their room safe.
- Staff's level of English below average. If you needed help with a topic not directly related to resort/guest you'd be a bit stuck.
- Requests for a few minor things (the door lock is stuck; can you leave a dustpan & brush in the room; etc) ended up long drawn-out affairs some without resolution.
- The general condition/running of the resort was to us a bit on the cheap side. Insufficient numbers of lounge chairs, many in disrepair; broken tile pieces strewn around the steps at the beach entrance (some under the sand!); one coffee carafe and 1 egg/soup chef for 100 guests at breakfast; shower head wouldn't stay held in the hook, causing it to drop which meant no 2-handed showers; batteries in the remote needed replacing and then the next day same for the room safe.

Of course for some these things don't matter but then if not, why stay at a pricey resort when you could pay 1/5th at a local guest house whose standard is somewhat similar? SLR is rated 4 star, but by the Vietnamese government. Having travelled 3 decades on 5 continents this is a 3-star place. If we go again, we'd try another of the many many places in Mui Ne. Not that that's any guarantee, but SLR was not a WYSIWYG.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Paying perhaps the most expensive price on the coast for a simple room (175$/night) we were faced such problem as toilet's smell. Something wrong with the toilet in our room and noone can fix it or offer us another room. Every day we are calling to reception and explain our problem. Sometimes maintaince guy come, have a look and leave muttering The staff look friendly but absolutely unefficient. Non speking english in general.

Don't you want to feel yourself sleeping in public WC?

There is also dishonest attitude when it comes to pricing. 3 different receptionist tell us different prices per night. Everyone want to have their comission.

Strongly not recommended!

  • Liked — garden and swimming pool
  • Disliked — rooms, staff, pricing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed in a bungalow here during the very busy Christmas week and found the Sealion fitted the bill pretty well. It was a larger resort than I generally prefer but the grounds are spacious and the staff friendly and helpful. Weather permitting you have the option of eating breakfast in the gardens or in the airy seaview restaurant. Breakfast offfered all the usual fruit, pastry, egg,salad, pho option but often threw up a bit of a surprise such as spaghetti bolognese, beef and carrot stew or baked potatoes. I'm guessing excess food from the night before.

The pools looked very nice although I didn't use them and there seemed to be enough loungers to go around. There's a dedicated beach area too with a nice sweep down to the sea.

Our bungalow was well appointed, the furniture was simple and stylish and the beds very comfortable. The bungalows come with an outside bathroom which is perhaps not quite as private as it will be once the plants grow a bit more. They grow very quickly here so full privacy should be assured very soon.

Sound travels fairly easily between the bungalows which could be a bit off putting and there was still work going on in the gardens while we were there but overall a decent enough resort.

Front desk and managerial staff were very helpful and friendly and clearly worked hard to resolve any issues arising. For me, Sealion lacked a little in atmosphere but it is new, clean and well run.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — no major issues
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

I loved this resort. The staff were super, so nice and the Resort was very open with so much space it was amazing. We never got bitten here (as we did at other hotels in Mui Ne) The beds were just the best, brand new and so soft I slept so well here I didn't want to leave. We would return if we came back to Mui Ne.
Thank you Sea Lion

  • Liked — The staff, service, room view and bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 12 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Hamtien, Muine, Ham Tien, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet > Ham Tien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ham Tien
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ham Tien
#12 Spa Hotel in Ham Tien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealion Beach Resort & Spa is located 200km north of Ho Chi Minh City and situated along the stretched white sandy beach of Muine. The Sealion Beach Resort & Spa is one of the most idyllic seaside resorts which its architecture is a perfect combination between the traditional Vietnamese country houses and French colonial styles. The charming 166 rooms and bungalows setting in the 3.5 hectare beautiful coco garden offer you an ideal place for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lion Beach Resort And Spa
Sea Lion Beach Hotel Phan Thiet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lion Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.