We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a very short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling

Save Saved
You added FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1090 South Milwaukee Avenue, Wheeling, IL 60090 (Formerly The Executive Plaza Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent for a very short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I needed a cheap but decent place to stay for three nights while in Chicago. I knew I would be gone from about 7AM to 10PM so literally just needed a place to sleep and shower. I would say this hotel served my needs at a decent price - $60 a night including all taxes. The location is out of the way of downtown Chicago, and not very convenient so be careful of that. The staff was polite, but not overly friendly. The room was clean, but a little shabby and threadbare. The light in the bathroom flickered and did not really work. The bed was not very comfortable and pillows were very thin. The free breakfast was coffee and different types of breakfast breads. Parking was free also. I did not use the laundry or business center, although they were available (can't comment on if they worked). I would stay here again if in a similar situation of just needing a place to sleep!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
8
6
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Front desk clerk (I believe her name is Olga) extremely rude/unfriendly. She should not be in this line of business.
1. No Pool; No rec room
2. Washing Machines/Dryers Broken
3. Continental Breakfast is a JOKE - bugs on dollar coin sized pancake
4. Towels not replaced daily
5. Asking the front desk clerk a question - you may as well talk to a wall because she dislikes people
6. carpeting throughout hotel is filty
7. tv in room sits about knee high
8. No internet !!!!!
9. minimal parking
10. no shuttle
11. hotel not close to any attractions

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wheeling hotels

Idleyld Park, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a 1 star hotel with mediocre service. It gets very loud where you can hear people in the next room and outside in the corridor. The Russian girl at the desk was rude and unwilling to assist with the broken toilet issue. I am a very constant user of Hotwire and trust me when I say this hotel does NOT meet standards of a good hotel for the price. Being on the doorstep of an executive airport does not help either. Unless you like the study of insects you will run into them. What was really inconvenient was they do not take AMEX!!!

Room Tip: Do the research and don't jump at the price because it looks good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked for 5 days in this hotel. Just average for the price paid. But hotel has very cheating policy: They say they provide shuttle service to airport. But when I landed in ORD and called them they said the shuttle is not available from 11 to 4 PM. And that day the vehicle is under maintenance, so not available for entire day!!! I tested next day, they told same thing. Again they dont provide on weekends, not before 7 am in the morning. It means the shuttle service is just an eyelash to cheat customers???
The staff were good to help you and gave me a smoke free room. Room was Ok as per price. But you will find lots of noise from adjacent rooms and from corridors. They played music till 3am in the morning, shout, whistles etc etc. We simply didnt sleep in night. I had to take another hotel after 2 days.
There is no lift and be careful if you have heavy luggage, and got a room upstair. I also find bug 2 times.
Again they say they have a bowling court. U have to pay 300$ to book that!!!
Very far from airport. I have to pay 50$ to reach hotel.

Room Tip: If u have less money to spend and want to stay for 1-2 days, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

$42 on hotwire stayed 2 nights .

very average. rooms were clean . ice machines did not work so ice was gotten from Front desk. No pool. access is limited to going south on MIlwaukee Avenue .

40-50 year old property . ok for a night or 2 . would stay again for similar price but there are other nicer places

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

As soon as I checked in' I noticed cockroaches crawling on the walls and bed bugs on the sheets. I checked out immediately. I knew the deal of $47 on hotels.com was too good to be true. I guess you get what you pay for. I checked in to crowns plaza hotel down the street for $89. Now that is a deal!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Husband and I wanted to just get away for the weekend. Lots of things to do in the area.Checking in was easy and the girls were friendly but seemed surprised that I had reserved a non-smoking room. Our room smelled, but had a No Smoking sign on the nightstand. Wallpaper was peeling badly in at least six places and there was mold around the window frame. When I went into the bathroom, there was an ashtray and a fresh book of matches displayed in it! I called the front desk and asked for another room. The desk clerk took us to Rm. 106. It was better and we asked her for some more bed pillows. She said she would bring them to us. Two hours later we returned from dinner, pillows were not there so I went to front desk to get them. The ice maker was broken and several times we had to go to front desk to have them get ice from the restaurant next door. On a good note, the bed was very comfortable, but we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling

Address: 1090 South Milwaukee Avenue, Wheeling, IL 60090 (Formerly The Executive Plaza Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Illinois > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wheeling
Hotel Class:3 star — FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Executive Plaza Hotel Wheeling
The Executive Plaza Hotel And Conference Center
Palwaukee Hotel Chicago
Best Western Wheeling
Wheeling Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FairBridge Hotel at Executive Plaza Wheeling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.