We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO THERE FOR YOUR BIRTHDAY!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
150 N Milwaukee Ave, Wheeling, IL 60090-3014
847-465-6021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 84 Restaurants in Wheeling
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dundee Rd
Lincolnshire, Illinois
2 reviews
“DO NOT GO THERE FOR YOUR BIRTHDAY!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

DO NOT GO THERE FOR YOUR BIRTHDAY!!!
- We didn't get birthday cake or ice cream the people from restaurant didn't have time to came!
- We asked for the bill, so we could pay - it took 35 minutes
- We asked manager why there was no "Happy Birthday" and the answer was that they have to many people coming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Used to be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Went for a birthday dinner, the food was just average. Too bad, it used to be great.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eh, not the best Japanese steak house I've visited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Went to Benihana in Wheeling for the first time a couple weeks ago. It was lunch on a Saturday and we got there 30 min. prior to them opening. Ooops! The staff was extremely kind and let us wait inside so we could all visit while we waited.

I ordered a spicy tuna roll - sushi - as an appetizer. It was delicious! However, the rest of the food was mediocre. The starter salad was okay, but the ginger dressing was watered down and had very little flavor. The complimentary grilled vegetables that come with each order was 2/3 onion with a couple pieces of zucchini and carrots. The flavor was eh.

My main course was the spicy chicken. There was absolutely no zest to it. In fact, if it weren't for the dipping sauces, there wouldn't have been any flavor at all.

The chef did not put on much of a show which may have been because it was lunch. He was polite and our waitress was very nice.

For service, I would give Benihana in Wheeling a 5, but for food, it only gets a 3.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Wheeling and believe me, we have a lot of places to choose from in our neighborhood. They have authentic Japanese cuisine. everything is cooked right at your table and while waiting for your food, you are watching a show performed by the cook right in front of you. This place is very clean (you should look at their restroom to judge by yourself how clean is this place) and stylish. I recommend this place to everyone who likes Japanese cuisine.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The food was great and also the chef that prepared the food in front of us. We took our son and daughter in law there since they live in illinois and had a great time enjoying the food that was cooked and served to us.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.