We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of D'agostinos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
D'agostinos
241 S Milwaukee Ave, Wheeling, IL 60090-5018
847-808-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 84 Restaurants in Wheeling
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Average service and face it, you're in Chicago.......much better pizza, etc can be gotten. However the beer is good and would probably be an Okay family place with a lot of TV's.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Loved the atmosphere, ate in the bar. Too bad the pizza was fair at best. Sauce was sweet, which some might like, not me. Shared a salad which also was just ok.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I visited the new Wheeling location. I have only been for lunch and both times I was seated immediately. The servers are knowledgeable and efficient. We ordered a thin crust pizza both times and it was served fairly fast. The toppings are plentiful and I love the sweetness of the sauce. I think it adds to the overall flavor of the pizza. They put plenty of cheese and other toppings on to the pizza. It was cooked perfectly and tasted great. I have ordered carry out before as well and was equally satisfied with my take out pizza. I've not had any other items on their menu but I think there pizza is very good. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is I think they could improve the crust a bit. The thin crust is crispy and lacked flavor. Right now its just something to put the toppings on, I'm sure they could improve it to add to the overall flavor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich,IL ( Chicago burb )
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worst Pizza in Chicago area!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I decided to try this new restaurant location last night and was so extremely let down as I had high expectations. The crust was boring and flaking off,no flavor. The sauce which is really the key ingredient to a good pizza was the worst I have ever tasted! The sauce actually had a sweet taste & no Italian seasoning. I could of dumped a bottle of oregano on it but it was not accessible-instead I shook tons of dried peppers & parmesian cheese on my slices to attempt to give some taste. It did not work and therefore qualifies for the [--] list of pizza's not making the cut.

In a town known for great pizza, why would this chain attempt to provide the public with pizza not worthy of it's name?? Sorry- do not waste your money here! drive West 10 minutes to Malnati's for thin or their famous deep-dish!

Oh- the service was bad as well- waited 10 minutes for a beer and 5-minutes for extra dressing for my salad. I even felt guilty leaving 15% when I am used to 20-25%. The prices were also expensive as well putting more gas to the fire.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst pizza!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The crust was absolutely tasteless and burnt. I've had better store bought pizza sauce, it was awful... no herbs or seasoning. The pizza was expensive, and no flavor. Horrible! We got the cheese deep dish stuffed crust. Never again. There was also no cheese on the entire thing but in the bottom layer of crust. Some "stuffed" crust. Was like a brick in my tummy... got sick! How is this place even in business, I don't know. We won't be back to try anything else.The only good thing is that the guy that answered the phone was professional, polite and very helpful. HE gets 5 stars!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'agostinos also viewed

 

Been to D'agostinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'agostinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.