We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bricks Wood Fired Pizza and Cafe

Bricks Wood Fired Pizza and Cafe
103 E Front Street, Wheaton, IL
630-784-4620
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 124 Restaurants in Wheaton
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Lisle, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“What a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This place could have been much better. They have a beautiful wood fired oven turning out average quality pizza. I was hoping to find an authentic wood fired neopolitan pizza but you won't find it here. If you like the free bread sticks from Olive Garden order the breadsticks at Bricks they are of the same poor quality. Kick up your ingredient quality and this place could be great, but until then go somewhere else. To be fair the staff and restaurant was very good just low quality food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average Pizza...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First visit to this establishment was in their original Lombard location. We were impressed with their foord and overall operation. Evidently, this formula did not transfer to Wheaton.
Pizza was mediocre, service left room for improvement, but he remodeled interior was very nice. Space is cramped and seemed to be disorganized.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chi Town
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“2.5 stars, really”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was ok...service is nice and friendly (for a fast-food type of place), sandwiches were pretty good, salad was decent...the pizza was ok. That being said this is a 'pizza' place so I was expecting more from the pizza. Have had lots of wood-fired pizza before so I'm not comparing it to Chicago-style or anything like that, just not what you would get say in Brooklyn.
The atmosphere is nice for an open-air sit with the kids type of place, probably more of a lunch spot. For dinner it's very casual, which is fine with me just mentioning in case you are looking for a nicer restaurant type place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Such a nice addition to downtown Wheaton. Relaxed atmosphere, good prices, love the brick oven! I am gluten free, so I eat the Arugula Salad when I go- very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Love the brick oven pizza, crispy crust, unique toppings. Salads are huge and can easily be shared by 2 people. We often get one salad and one pizza for the two of us and it is more than plenty. The carrot cake is delicious!! And the spinach artichoke dip is some of the best around. You definitely should give this new place a try! Oh and when it's warm, the whole front windows open up so that it is al fresco dining. Very cool feature.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricks Wood Fired Pizza and Cafe also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Bricks Wood Fired Pizza and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bricks Wood Fired Pizza and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.