We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Division Museum at Cantigny

First Division Museum at Cantigny
1 S 151 Winfield Road, Wheaton, IL 60187-6097
630-668-5185
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Wheaton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum with interactive exhibits on the trenches of WWI, the beaches of WWII and the rice paddies of Vietnam.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I first visited Cantigny as a child. Over 50 years later and I still look forward to my next visit. One special and wonderful place.

If you are an ordinary visitor they treat you great. If you are active duty, retired, or a veteran they treat to free admission if you join their Honor Club on line. Scouts in uniform also get free admission.

Exhibits and special events change all the time so there is always something new and different to see or do.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The museum here is so close to home and we forget about it sometimes. They do many interesting lectures besides the museum for touring. Well maintained and knowledgeable docents

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A first class museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The walkway leading up to the museum is lined with American Battle Tanks. The museum itself walks you through every war that the First Division fought in. The displays recreate what it felt like to be in a trench in World War I or in a Higgins boat in World War II. The weapons used in each war were displayed. It is a excellent place to take the kids for a history lesson.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reenactments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are both Civil War and Revolutionary War reenactments that are excellent. Check their calendar. The museum itself is also excellent. Well worth the effort.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to this museum on a family trip and both of my brothers love history, me less so. That said this Museum was really done well. Excellent interactive exhibits for kids and really shows how our infranty fought several wars. The tanks out side were very accessable and the kids could climb all over them. the kids really liked it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Division Museum at Cantigny also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Lisle, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to First Division Museum at Cantigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Division Museum at Cantigny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.