We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bank - CLOSED

The Bank
121 W Front Street, Wheaton, IL 60187
630 665-2265
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hale St.
Transit: Chicago Northwestern Metra
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Food here was never great, although I have not sampled the new chef's offerings and I hear he is very good. My problem is we have always had snippy bad service. Witnessed bartender sampling a drink before setting it on servers tray (ick) atmosphere is great in bar and in summer, the outside. Back dining room just OK.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Near by bucolic, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit pricey, beautiful restaurant, good staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I wanted to check out the "Bank" for some time, but, just never got around to it until the Groupon.
It's a beautiful setting, the chef stresses the use of local farmed food & game (although there weren't many game options available --bison was it, no venison, quail, rabbit, pheasant, & etc.). My husband had a steak salad ($16) --good but lacked the menu advertised bleu cheese. I had the cheese plate appetizer--3 small morsels of bleu cheese, cheddar, and another good tasting unknown smooth cheese; 8 tiny bits of salami; 3 skinny/holey pieces of french bread toasted, dry, and chewy (really you couldn't provide more fresh bread at this price?!); & a spoonful of lingonberry preserves....all for $12.
Wine list okay.
Brian was our wait staffer & it looked like he was holding down the bar and about six+ tables of guests--thin service but, it he did quite well.
Food taste and quality--good, pricey for what it is.
Service--good.
Ambiance--great.

Over all experience: we were not "wowed".

Would I go back?
Maybe we would give it a try on another night or season (we went during the week after St. Valentine's day).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take It To The Bank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband & I had a delicious & delightful dinner at The Bank in Wheaton. The restaurant is located in a beautifully restored century old bank building. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the location & the professional yet unintimidating service from the very congenial staff. The chef even came out of the kitchen to talk with us. Best of all, our meals were delicious, filled with fresh, local ingredients. In addition, we felt both food & beverages were very fairly priced.
Don't hesitate to take it to The Bank!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed in the Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I had lunch today and were a bit disappointed. I ordered the special sandwich for the day which was grilled salmon sandwich. My husband had the bison burger. I took one bite and found the salmon to be very dry with a heavy fish taste and smell. We notified the waiter and he graciously apologized and asked if I would like it replaced. My reorder was the steak salad which took sometime to be delivered. I was told by the waiter the chef tasted the salmon and agreed with my evaluation, They also stopped serving it during the lunch service. If I hadn't brought this to their attention perhaps someone would have gotten very sick as there must have been something wrong with this fish as they immediately removed it from the luncheon offering. I would have thought have they would have tried to retify my situation with some type of consideration. As we used a Group On toward our purchase, maybe that was a financial issue for them. Nevetheless they deducted the salmon and charged us accordingly for the bison burger, steak salad and two ice teas; with the group on ($7 for $15 dollars of food) and we still had a bill of $18 plus a $6 dollar tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We enjoyed excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful setting in an old bank building. We enjoyed a lamb special and I particularly liked the vegetarian entree of quinoa and kale ... amazing melange of other vegetables and great flavor. Most of their food is locally sourced. We appreciate that. Carrot cake for dessert was more European style, not as gooey rich as some American versions. While some might think it a bit drier, it's just the way I like it. Superb service. We will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.